My Hero does it again.

Okay. So we are not dead in the water. We are sort of crippled but not paralyzed. Our pickup engine has been running rough and displays a solid yellow icon for a while then goes out.

20120606-225019.jpg

Once the engine finishes hacking up a fur ball the light goes out and the engine runs like normal.

Not this morning. It was hacking, wheezing, and sputtering. Joe babied it for about 40 miles then called it quits and parked us at a Lowe’s Home Improvement Center.

Joe hired a taxi to take us to the nearest Avis Car Rental. The car took us the rest of the way to get one of Joe’s trucks then return to the Lowe’s to get the trailer.

I’ve wanted a real car for quite a while. Something to drive when we are home. Something that rides smoothly and I can slide in instead of climbing up and being bounced and jarred.

Renting a car is my idea of test driving. Getting the feel of the seats, knobs, buttons, and the pedals. Each time I swear I’m driving a skateboard.

20120606-231739.jpg

The rental car gets us the final 60 miles. Joe gets his truck and I follow him back to our pickup.

Now Joe has been running ideas past me on exactly HOW to get the job ahead accomplished.

The trailer has to be separated from the pickup. It also has to hold still and not roll away.

20120606-232811.jpg

Just exactly when am I going to learn that Joe can make anything happen?!

The plan is to use a tree to facilitate the release from the pickup and the joining of big truck to trailer. (Me? I wondered how a tree would be strong enough. Cops, SWAT, the National Guard, or some other branch of authority will show up after the tree is uprooted, trailer accelerating in speed as it heads unhindered into traffic or come to a crashing stop against the Lowe’s block wall. )

Oh me if little faith.

Joe backed the trailer up to the tree, got a chain out and wrapped it around said tree and commenced doing his magic.

20120606-234921.jpg

20120606-234949.jpg

20120606-235015.jpg

20120606-235043.jpg

Joe even took a bow after doing his trick.

20120606-235202.jpg

Just so you know. There were no trees harmed in this display of genius.

20120606-235332.jpg

Now it is time to return the rental car and get to work. We will come back for the pickup later as we head out for Colorado.

20120606-235532.jpg

20120606-235554.jpg

Tomorrow we will go back for our pickup and it will be taken to a Ford garage in Denver before we fully deliver there.

Have a goodnight and a great Thursday.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

4 responses to “My Hero does it again.

  • Pati Mishler

    Oh my goodness, poor Glady’s, poor you two. Yes!! Joe!! take another bow, you got through that one also, there is ALWAYS a way to do anything, yes, that does make sense. Driving a different vehicle, how does it feel? Do you like it? Ok! Now on with the show, lol, take care, be careful both of you, love you.

    • Message In A Fold

      I felt like my butt was going to be scraped off on the pavement. Being in a low car makes me feel like I’m sitting just off the ground 🙂

      Hope you and Les are well and staying cool.

      I’ll pass your comment on to Joe 🙂

      Love you Sis

  • gardenpinks

    Vehicles are like computers…..we take them for granted until something goes wrong and then we curse them 🙂 Hope Gladys can be sorted without hitting your wallet big time. Is she hankering after retirement?

    Am now on antibiotics to fight the tooth infection and the pain and swelling have abated quite considerably. A thoroughly miserable four days of pain and suffering!

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      I’m so sorry you have had four days of racking pain. But I’m glad it is abating now that you have antibiotics.

      When the pain finally subsides enough that you notice it is when the bed or couch (or divan, or settee – whatever you call it) calls your name loudly before your body throws you on the floor.

      I’m so glad you have finally found relief.

      Our Gladys has nearly 350,000 miles on her. We have taken extra pains to keep her in top running shape since we bought her new in 2002. Each oil change a sample is taken to a lab for metals testing. Knock wood there are minimum signs of wear.

      We have a mechanic that works on her at home, and has done so since the warranty ran out over seven years ago.

      I have to say that Joe is really good about making sure Gladys is in good running order. April, of this year, the fuel injectors began having problems and that work was done at a Ford dealership.

      I’ll just be glad to have her working again.

      Hope you get more visits from your eldest daughter and her children. I’m glad to hear she is back near home.

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

