Oil field in Lost Hills, California

Joe and I took a road we had not travelled before on the trip to deliver his trucks to Greenfield, California last Monday.

California 46 at Lost Hills goes west to California 101 which leads to the vast farm lands of my post on Tuesday.

I was not aware of oil wells in California. Mostly because much of the rabid environmental activism springs from California and moves eastward.

So you may imagine my surprise at seeing oil well pumping machinery on one stretch of California 46 in Lost Hills that runs past the horizon on both sides of the highway. Ginormous is not an accurate word for this oil field.

20120601-085336.jpg

The diagonal gray area shown in the map above is all oil rigs.

20120601-085442.jpg

These big machines make me think of mosquitoes. The sucker rod attached at the head and disappearing underground is like the stinger thing of mosquitoes.

Some of the wells are thousands of feet deep underground while others are closer.

According to Joe, (the stored knowledge in his bald and shaven pate is astounding), the sucker rod attached to the rigs head has a bucket at the end of it. As the head moves downward the bucket is lowered into the oil pool. As the head moves upward the bucket raises a column of oil that empties into pipes at a determined level which carries the crude to wherever it is going. A refinery further up the field.

Also, Joe has known a person that had an oil well. Each time the head came up the man earned $.22. In one hours time that $.22 will become $26.40 an hour. In one 24 hour period the man made over $600.

There are fields of oil pumps similar to this one throughout Texas.

Just thought you might like to know there is more to California than fruits, nuts, and vegetables.

Have a fantastic weekend everyone.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

9 responses to “Oil field in Lost Hills, California

  • Pati Mishler

    Well, thats kinda cool to know, glad someone else calls them mosquitos. All the while we have lived in SMALL towns and communities, we see lots of ( mosquitos around ) that is the term that our boy’s when they were wee one’s called them. The term describe’s them to a tee. I mentioned that to a kid on the bus i was driving a few year’s back, he had never heard them refered to as mosquitos before, but, thought it was the perfect name for them. So there are LOTS of mosquitos in California, wow, never knew HOW they worked, just knew they went up and down, figured like a mosquito, they bite, when they go down, and bring up blood, or in the case of the machine mosquito, oil, interesting, hmmm.

    Ok, what else is new and interesting to see and hear about?

    • Message In A Fold

      That made me laugh! Those oil well things have always reminded me of mosquitoes. Funny that you say it also 🙂

      Joe is my font of knowledge when it comes to mechanical things. He sure does know a lot of stuff 🙂

      I’ll keep trying to “learn you sumthin” as we travel around. 🙂

      Love you Sis

  • gardenpinks

    Well I wouldn’t mind earning $600 every 24 hours 🙂 Wonder what the companies are making though??? The other thing that crosses my mind is what will this area look like when all the oil is finally brought up and there is no more to bring up? After all there is a finite amount of oil. Will the soil be polluted? What will nature do to reclaim this ground? Where will America drill next to meet the high demand of oil? When will the world’s governments finally come to terms with the fact that we need to look at alternative fuel sources?? Too many questions and not enough answers 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      I don’t have any answers to your burning questions.

      Many companies are succeeding in the fight with big oil to use alternative fuel sources. The major problem now, and has been for years, is car manufacturers.

      General Motors was very instrumental in getting mass public transportation slashed in the 1940’s and early 1950″s. Electric rail lines are coming back into big cities.

      As long as the powers in automobile manufacturing continue to block progress we will always be dependent on oil.

      Thanks for you comment and your frustrated opinion.

      Love you – Leslie

  • Pati Mishler

    Ya, lots of question’s, not very many answer’s. We will never have lot’s of answers. But, sis, i sure am glad your going to ( learn me sumthin ) lol’ as you go along in your travel’s. That is if you’ve a mind to, and your not too awfully busy. Yes, folk’s, i get kidded alot about how i talk, it’s ok, it’s fun to hear other people say thing’s like i say it. A person would never know Leslie was my sister by the way i talk, lol. I am not hillbilly, but, my sis has spent all her life in the city, but me, i have spent most of my life in VERY small towns, with phrases like, it’s a stones throw away, or sounds like a long tailed cat in a room full of rockin chair’s, or, it just aint right, like a donkey in the Kentucky derby. Anywho sis, lets get on with this checkers game, show us some more pics and tell us whats goin on. Sorry, you were speakin my language, couldnt help it, lol. Love you sis.

    • Message In A Fold

      You crack me up! Donkey at the Kentucky Derby :-).

      You are full of funny phrases 😀

      Small town girl, big city girl. We all have things to offer in making our little part if the world better. Even those that talk funny 😉

      Love you – Sis

  • gardenpinks

    According to my family I talk funny too Patti 🙂 The city where I was born…Birmingham, UK! …..has a strong accent and they say words very oddly too. Bunfire instead of bonfire; gardin instead of garden, circtle instead of circle and so on. I lost my Birmingham accent within two years of being married and moving to the country, not conciously but it happened BUT I didn’t pick up the local country accent which here in Gloucestershire is a soft burr. I now talk ‘posh’ apparently which means accentless, almost BBC English and when my family take the mickey (make fun) of how I speak…because I also use ‘big’ words….I tell them I don’t have a monopoly on the English language. That confuses them completely 🙂 Quite amusing really!

    I think accents and dialects are good and it would be a shame if we all spoke the same way. We in the UK also say It’s only a stone’s throw away or It is within spitting distance!

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

Leave a Reply

