Home for a few days for Joe to recover from trying to cripple himself

Well, he did it again.  This time I think he decided to leave his head and toes alone and just concentrate on his knee.  Left knee to be exact.

Two weeks ago Joe was climbing in a truck via the step assembly.  He was on the top step with one final step in the cab before seating himself.  For some reason he turned  his body to the right leaving his left knee planted straight.  He heard a pop and felt instant searing pain shoot up his leg.

Since then we have managed to muddle along with him limping and wincing.  Sleeping at night has been a real bust for him.  He can’t find a good position to put his knee to stop the throbbing.  Just as the pain finally subsides and he falls asleep it is time to get up and start another day.

The knee hasn’t swollen, nor has it turned black and blue.  We iced it at the hotel that night then applied a…..wait for it…..HEAT WRAP.  Yes indeed, I did subject that man to my evil ministrations with a Therma-Care Heat Wrap for the knee.

Over the next week we alternated the heat and cold in the hotel room at night with moderate results.  He’s been in quite a lot of pain and medicating with his prescription of Tramadol for his arthritis – which has been of some help.

In Meridian, Mississippi we stopped at a Wal-Mart to get his prescription filled for the Tramadol.  I did not know this was a controlled substance.  The Wal-Mart pharmacist would not fill this prescription for us since it originated in Oklahoma.  That was when I found it to be a “controlled substance”.  Go figure.  We may have to have this prescription submitted to Walgreens for our future travels.

While in the Wal-Mart in Meridian I scoured the shelves for knee braces and more heat wraps.  I left the store with a knee brace with velcro closures which he has had enough success with – at least in walking and standing for long periods of time.  I found an elastic knee brace and he swore it was too small to even try it on to see if it would fit.  Another item I found was promoted for runners and joggers.  A velcro band that goes around the base of the knee to support the knee cap.  Joe liked this one….for about an hour.  After which he complained that it was cutting off the circulation to his leg.

Now we are home, he has a comfy recliner to raise and rest his leg.  Take the strain off the joint.  Does he want to go see a doctor and have it poked, prodded, x-rayed, scanned, and other forms of spindling and mutilation?

No!  He’s just fine thank you very much!

Yikes!  Leave the man alone.

He’s back in his room playing solitaire on his computer.  Sitting in a, once very comfortable, padded office chair.  I can hear him wincing and yelping all the way in the living room.

He has his prescription filled and has taken some of the meds.  I’ll just wait until I hear my name called to come help him in one fashion or another.  Hard headed German.

I went to the mail box this afternoon to pick up our ginormous stack of mail.  While sorting through I had a start.  A letter from the Arkansas State Police.  Addressed to ME!  What had I done?  Guilty conscience I guess.

What I found inside the envelope brought a smile to my face.  Remember when Joe was taken to the hospital in Arkadelphia, Arkansas by ambulance?  I found some Thank You cards on the way to Wilmer, Texas and mailed one to each of the officers that helped us out, their supervisors at the police departments, and I also sent cards to the ambulance drivers.

Here is what I received from the Arkansas State Police.

Letter from the Arkansas State Police

Letter from the Arkansas State Police

Frankly, I forgot about the entire incident.  So much other stuff has happened between that time and this that I had put it out of my mind.  It was nice to know the cards were received by the recipients and I hope that they feel appreciated.  I certainly appreciated the help they gave us on that frightening day.

I will get some time to play in my craft room over the next couple days.  I’m going to concentrate on making “Thank You” cards to keep a batch of them with me.  One never knows when they will be needed.

Have a great evening everyone.  I think I need a nap now.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

4 responses to “Home for a few days for Joe to recover from trying to cripple himself

  • gardenpinks

    Hope Joe’s knee sorts itself out now that he can rest it, sounds as though he pulled a muscle and it needs some R&R (Rest and Recuperation). I’m surprised he allowed you anywhere near him with a heat wrap 🙂
    What a lovely letter to receive Leslie, I bet they don’t get many thank you cards so that must have been a red letter day for them too. Kind deeds need to be rewarded and that Trooper certainly went above and beyond the call of duty in your hour of need.

    Enjoy your crafting time but don’t trash the house so you get all wound up in the autumn about cleaning it all 😀

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you Lynn. Joe’s knee seems to be doing better today. The limping and favoring of his left knee has just about gone away. Trying to keep him down in his recliner is a major task all by itself.

      I know…me and the heat wraps 😀

      Paperwork done for today and I’m going to play in my room for a few hours. What have you been up to in your crafting. I haven’t heard much of what you are doing with your newest forum. Love to see what you are creating.

      Love you – Leslie

  • Maureen Mathis

    OH NO! NOT THE HEAT WRAP!!! Run, Joe, no, LIMP as far away from her as possible when has one of those in her possession! YOU ARE NOT SAFE!!!!!

    Man, what a bummer. I wish Joe would go ahead and get the knee looked at to know what his diagnosis is, because then he will be better informed about his injury and told the quickest way to help his body heal. As long as you guys are stuck at home during your busy season, it would be a better use of your time than just sitting around. Knees are so important, and injuries involving “popping” sometimes need more than ice/heat/rest to heal completely and permanently. Plus, the meds he’s taking for the pain were not prescribed for that, and there may be a different one that would work better. But that’s just a doctor’s wife talking, and my medical diploma seems to have been lost in the mail.

    On the OTHER hand, Yay for you to getting back into the craft room. I myself have recently obtained one, but I think the correct term is Eminent Domain – isn’t that where entities see things they WANT and just TAKE THE DAMN THING?! We moved Kelley into her first apartment a few weeks ago,, so her queen bed was removed from the house, and that WAS serving as my craft table, because I put a folded up card table on top of it, and bought a bunch of Jet Max cubes to bring my crafty stuff into her room since she was away at college. WELL, with her room gutted out, Shannon, my youngest, talked about vacating her room on our side of the house and moving into Kelley’s room, which is right by the bathroom, and Kevin’s room. Kevin leaves for college in August, and she said that the “house would be more BALANCED” if there were a child on that side of the house. ANYWAY, we switched rooms. Kevin and Charlie thought it was dumb, and only helped when it was apparent that we couldn’t move the heavy walnut dresser safely down the hall. They were NOT happy. An armoire and large computer desk had to be taken apart to move, as they wouldn’t fit through the door, and I am proud to say that Shannon and I did it ourselves. ANYWAY, I now have a real live craft room, and I’ll post a video maybe next week.

    I have to finish up gathering pix for Kevin’s graduation slide show, prepare samples for the new classes starting in June at Michaels for the Open House this Saturday, attend Kevin’s honors ceremony and get Shannon to/from basketball practice tomorrow night, take her to another bball practice an hour away from here on Friday night, and off to a bball tournament an hour away for the weekend. Charlie and Kevin informed me last night that they are driving to Corpus Christi (3 hours away) Friday night to run in a cool team marathon that runs from the Beach to the Bay. It’s called the Beach to Bay Marathon – IMAGINE THAT! Oh, and it looks like Kevin is passing a kidney stone, as of tonight when Shannon and I were at our second class in the first Wilton Cake Decorating Course in Austin (45 min NORTH of here) with a friend of hers who we take home (30 min SOUTH of here) each week. This, my friends, is why Moms HATE the month of MAY!

    Much more to say about graduation, but that would be ANOTHER blog post! Oh, I’m not SUPPOSED to ramble on about my crazy life on this blog? I thought that’s what blogs are for…. Oh, I’m supposed to put this on my OWN blog?…….

    In the words of the famous Roseanne Rosanna Danna,

    NEVERMIND!

    • Message In A Fold

      Girlfriend! You have been one busy person. Sounds like you are meeting yourself around the corner with all the activity going on at your place.

      What fun! Creating your very own craft space! This is the absolute worst part about having children. They are such a vital part of your life for so many years. Constant attention and supervision on a daily basis for 18 or more years. Then one day they just – poof – disappear. Leaving a hole in your life and in your home 😦

      How much fun did you and Shannon have at the Wilton Cake Decorating class?! I’m sorry to hear of Kevin having kidney stones already in his young life. Brutal things they are. Poor guy. I hope he and his dad, Charlie, have an amazing day in Corpus Christi at the marathon. You guys are an awesome family.

      Here’s sending good vibes for Kelly and her basketball tournament. May her team win and Kelly incurs points only. No strains, sprains, or other ouchies.

      You are going to be super busy with all the graduation preparations, basketball tournaments, packing for the guys marathon, getting your Michael’s craft class samples prepared, and the Open House on Saturday. Girlfriend you are a whirl of activity. Hope you have fun with it all.

      I look forward to seeing photos of your craft space when you have it finished 😀

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

