From lush green forests to treeless expanses

The Ohio River dividing Illinois and Kentucky was running full while we traveled the highways to Nashville, Tennessee.

Barges pushed by Pilot boats on the Ohio were quite the sight to see. As was the bridge over the Ohio River.

20120502-210155.jpg

20120502-210217.jpg

Lush green forests through Tennessee, Arkansas, and most of Oklahoma lined the highways we drove.

20120502-210431.jpg

Leaving home this morning we encountered southerly winds buffeting us on I-40 going west in Oklahoma. Gusts were very strong at times pushing the left side of my trucks hard enough that I fought to keep the truck in my lane and off the shoulder.

Speaking of shoulders, which I did, my shoulders ache in the sockets from all the struggling.

The abundance of trees petered out before we got out of Oklahoma entering Texas. Wide open expanses of pasture land seems to go on forever.

20120502-211521.jpg

20120502-211613.jpg

20120502-211650.jpg

Tucumcari, New Mexico is where we have stopped for the night. Winds will continue through tomorrow with forecasters saying it will ease up some. I’m not counting on that too much with the storms brewing along the west coast moving inland and eastward.

This trip from Catoosa, Oklahoma to Las Vegas, Nevada is 1,233 miles of which 528 are already behind us.

Plans are to deliver on Friday then head for Phoenix to spend a couple days with our girls there.

Truthfully, “Momma needs some new shoes”. These sandals of mine have held up for well over three years and they are beginning to get threadbare in spots.

20120502-212647.jpg

Plus a trip to Bazzil and their huge scrapbook store is called for as well.

Enjoy your evening. I’m going to soak my shoulders in a hot shower then take some aspirin before I go to bed. Get myself ready for the long road tomorrow.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “From lush green forests to treeless expanses

  • Pati Mishler

    Ouch, does sound like a rough day, hope the next days are better, say hi to the gals when you see them. And hope the rest of the trip is better. Love you sis. P

    • Message In A Fold

      This time of year is always worse than the rest heading west. Spring storms blow through with no trees or buildings to block it or slow it.

      Thanks Sis. Hope you and Les are doing well. He’s probably getting blown around from here to Tuesday being the City Works manager.

      You two take care. Love you Sis

  • gardenpinks

    Thank you for the bridge photo 🙂 Beautiful scenery shots through your splattered windscreen!! Now whilst you are in Tucumcari watch out for Lee Van Cleef, don’t get in his way whilst he is hunting his man 😀
    Hope your shoulders don’t get too much more buffeting and pulling while you battle against the winds, I can imagine the aches and pains.

    At least you have a shopping spree and visiting your daughters to look forward to 🙂
    Rod said in the 60s raing drivers would wear out a pair of canvas tennis shoes per race!!
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      I have to ask….the racing drivers of the 60’s. Did they stop the cars, or slow them with their feet? Brakes were only an option at that time? (Yes, I know. “Smart ass”)

      The bridge was for you :-). I have another one I have to find in my growing mass of photos.

      Shopping and being with our girls will help alleviate the shoulder strains and put me in a better frame of mind 😉

      I read your comment to Shelly’s blog. Seems you two have had a good bit of severe weather in your neck of the woods. Hope you don’t get any more windows sucked out – frame and all.

      Take care my Friend
      Love you – Leslie

  • Anita Royer

    Looking for Leslie and Joe B. From Anita in Grly…

    • Message In A Fold

      You found us 😀

      Joe and I think of you from time to time and send off grateful “Thank you” prayers each time your name comes to mind.

      Leslie

      With out your guidance we would not be together today. A BIG Thank You from me.

      Joe

Leave a Reply

