Technology is not all it is cracked up to be

The Feds are cracking down on truck drivers. We have to use hands free devices to make calls. No more dialing numbers.

I’m okay with this. Trying to keep one of these behemoths between the lines is hard enough to do. Toss in the distraction of holding the cell phone in one hand while steering with the other is not an easy feat. Not to mention looking down at the cell phone key pads to dial a number. Take your eyes off the road for that length of time is just asking for trouble.

Joe and I have iPhones and Blue Parrot headsets.

20120428-175646.jpg

When I need to make a call I press the large button on the headset once and my phone brings up a voice recognition thing that will dial the number of the person I want to talk to.

20120428-175859.jpg

This feature works great when I need to call our dispatch office or one of the many banks we use.

Not so much when I want to call Joe. He is listed in my contacts as “ICE Joe Bockenstette” – ICE is “In Case if Emergency.

Press the button on my headset and wait for the sine waves to to appear after the beep then speak the name – a lovely computerized female voice is heard in my ear saying “Calling …”. The dot dot dot is replaced with the name of the person I’m calling.

So to get Joe I have to speak the whole contact name. ICE Joe Bockenstette. If I just say “Ice Joe” the female voice says “Calling Heidi Jo” then I have to quickly cancel the whole thing by pressing the large button on my headset once again.

One truck I drove was quite noisy. Trying to get my dispatch office I heard “Calling Cliff Gibbs” on one attempt. The next attempt met with “Calling PDI”.

So much for being totally hands free 😦

Last Wednesday, while home, we went to a T-Mobile center to purchase a Mobile Hot Spot for protected Internet access while in hotels. So far the blasted thing only works in large metropolitan areas. The little Podunk towns we have stopped in on this last trip to Wilmer, Texas has proven to be too much for the little device.

Technology can be over rated at times.

Give me things that work well and I appreciate them. Like these daisies growing beside the road.

Dang! Pressed the wrong button.
Published this post before I was even ready.

20120428-181816.jpg

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “Technology is not all it is cracked up to be

  • Pati Mishler

    OH, OK, now sis, that is my ALLLLLLL time favorite flower, ” The Daisy” Course you knew that, lol, something about a daisy just melts me. lol,

  • Pati Mishler

    Technology, ya, sometimes it is good, sometimes not so good, but, we ALL gotta live with it, because this world is getting more and more tecky.

    • Message In A Fold

      Inching ever forward to Sci-Fi reality where the Jetson’s rein supreme 🙂

      Not quite there yet, but getting closer. Just think of the flower garden you will have in the future! Daisies everywhere 🙂

  • gardenpinks

    Technology can be a wonderful thing……when it works faultlessly 🙂 Ruth has a brilliant handsfree device built into her car, as soon as her mobile is in the car the bluetooth doodah pcks it up and then all controls are on the steering wheel for her to scroll through to the number she wants which is diplayed with name on the front of the radio/CD player and she presses another button to connect the call and another to disconnect. It can be a problem hearing what she is saying when both children are in the car trying to join in the conversation 🙂

    Mobile telephones are not allowed by law to be used in any vehicle by the driver unless they are totally hands free in this country however there are some folk that are saying that even handsfree devices ought to be banned because drivers cold be distacted by phone calls, well if that is the case then radios & CD players should be banned as drivers could be distracted by the music, news programmes or whatever is being played …some things can go too far 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      That sounds a cool and helpful bit of tech. Car speakers are not that great for this kind of application but is awesome to have that capability for safety.

      Can you just imagine the future upgrades? Hope they are not implants :-} scary as that prospect seems.

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

