Strange music coming from my engine compartment

This morning Joe woke up feeling great and ready to go. A little over 200 miles to deliver and this trip will be finished.

We stopped at the Love’s Travel Center in Mt. Vernon, Texas to check fuel levels – add a few gallons if necessary to continue on.

Shortly after leaving Mt. Vernon my truck started making a popping noise. No engine warning lights came on to shut the truck down. Nothing that would cause me to totally freak out.

I called Joe to alert him to the noise. We pulled off the road to a shoulder so Joe could hear and diagnose my problem.

The engine sounded as if someone was practicing the snare drums. A rhythmic beat of four sounds then a faster messy bunch and back to the rhythm.

Okay, I admit I had visions of something going bang followed by a huge explosion which would cause me to jump and swerve into the ditch. I couldn’t stand the suspense any longer. I had to consult the Man with ALL the Answers – otherwise known as Joe.

According to Joe there will NOT be an explosion. My air could leak down then lock up my brakes on the highway. Which is worse?!

I did make it to the TA Truck Stop after worrying for 60 miles. At the traffic light at the bottom of the exit my low air warning started screaming at me and – of course – locked my brakes so I could back up all traffic exiting the interstate.

A very long minute and a half to build enough air to move I made it through the lights and right up to the shop door at the TA. Now we wait until a repair can be made to get back on the road.

This is good air pressure which I like to see.

20120418-133506.jpg

This is “Time to Spaz Out” air pressure.

20120418-133642.jpg

The service guy is making things happen and doing his magic.

20120418-133814.jpg

After all that work and rolling around on the ground there is still popping and banging. Coming from the other side now.

20120418-134055.jpg

Once this repair is made there is no time to waste in getting back on the road.

I’m still shaking from all the excitement.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

10 responses to “Strange music coming from my engine compartment

Leave a Reply

