A whole lot of banging going on!

Do you remember my post way, way back in June?  About our home that had been riddled with holes from a hail storm in May?

Hail damage

Hail damage

We….wait, I don’t have a frog in my pocket…JOE has been dealing with the insurance company since June 23rd when we got home to see this mess.

Finally, work was begun on December 28th to get the damage fixed.

Starting the repairs

Starting the repairs

The roof is being repaired on one side.  The guys were up there scraping, pounding, walking, hefting heavy packs of shingles up there, and just being busy little beavers.

Repairing the roof

Repairing the roof

There were a couple places on the back of our home that had some holes.  While the guys were working back there with their pounding and banging there was some jingling and crashing going on inside.  That back wall is where the  master bathroom is.

Rear wall

Rear wall

The roof is finished on the one side with new shingles.  That is one of the sore points with Joe.  All the homes in this housing area have had their entire roofs replaced.  The insurance company has only given way to having one side repaired on our home.  Joe is fit to be tied.  At least it is finished.

Roof repaired

Roof repaired

The siding on the front of our house has been replaced, finally.  I didn’t get photos of that and need to remedy it.

Front of house repaired

Front of house repaired

The last thing for the workers to do is to replace the skirting around our home and this work will be finished.  Joe has asked that we get rain gutters installed.  The contractor is looking into what he can do for us.  That will be done later, in February.  The most important part is getting all those holes taken care of before we get another storm and have damage inside.

I’m very thankful we live where there has not been a lot of moisture from rain or snow.  And now when I come home I don’t have to look at my home and think it has been used as military strafing practice 😀

There is always some kind of foolishness and mayhem going on around me 😀  Otherwise known as “Blog Fodder” 😀

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

10 responses to “A whole lot of banging going on!

  • Indira

    Hi, Leslie, thanks God it`s shinny and the worker can do it faster.

  • Pati Mishler

    OMGOSH SIS!!! What a disaster!! WHAT THE HECK!! So glad it is all done now and now your house can finally be nice to see again, that cotton pickin hail can do SOOOO much damage, it just isnt right, Thank God its fixed again, lookin good now.

    • Message In A Fold

      Sorry for the delay. I don’t know if I’m coming or going! You and me are both glad this poor house has been fixed. What an eyesore. The people that have done the work are really great. Not so much the insurance people 😦 I’m so glad this problem is now behind us and there are no longer holes everywhere 😀

      Love you Sis

  • gardenpinks

    Woohoo at last now your home looks pristine again 🙂 Do you have to paint those shingles often? It has certainly taken those insurance bods long enough – they annoy me no end. So quick to take your money but drag their feet like crazy when it comes for them to pay out.
    I know when a lot of houses were flooded in this county and another three counties some people were waiting months and months before the insurance companies gave the go ahead for work to commence and many people were living in caravans on their drives for up to 18 months.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Sorry for the delay, Lynn. What day is it? Good grief I’m totally lost.

      The shingles don’t get painted. Which are you referring to? The roof shingles or the siding on the house? Either way, we don’t have to paint any of it. The asphalt shingles are ripped up and replaced about every seven years so it was time for them to be renewed. The little bits of stuff that color them white (or gray) work loose after a while from the winds and rain. The worst is when the shingles get lifted by the wind and allow water to get under them. That happens sometimes.

      The siding is vinyl and the same color all the way through. No painting just a good power washing from time to time. We will be having some people come out to do that. Wash the entire outside down to get the built up mold and dirt removed. That is my style of living…wash and wear 😀

      Yikes…having to live in a caravan while waiting for the repairs to be made on the homes. I tell you, insurance companies are the absolute worst. They want their money and will bother the fool out of you to purchase more insurance. A body could be “insurance poor” with all they have to offer. You are their “Good Buddy” and most favorite person in the world. File a claim and you are the filth beneath their feet 😦

      I liken them to the Protection Rackets. For a price they will protect you but if you get out of line and expect something out of them they make me feel like they would relish sending the goons to come break our knee caps.

      At least the work is done and I can come home and no longer see the machine gun holes 😀

      Love you my Friend
      Leslie

  • Maureen Mathis

    So for once the Foolishness and Mayhem is coming from someone BESIDES yourself?!!!

    • Message In A Fold

      Sorry for the delay Maureen 😦 Yes, in fact there is someone else contributing to the Foolishness and Mayhem besides me 😀

      How are you doing my Friend? I have to go check the YouTube videos to see if you have uploaded a new video. I don’t want to miss it when it happens. I’m really looking forward to seeing what you have to show us.

      Love you my Friend
      Leslie

      • Maureen Mathis

        Yes, there will be a video in the next week! I got a new camera and a tripod that sits a little higher that I can attach a monopod to in order to try to film overhead like the Pros and I’m anxious to try it out! I was wondering if you could give me a quick tutorial on i Movie because I want to learn it, and it would be easier to learn from a Pro. Are you interested? What would be a good time for us to have a lesson? What would be a good time for me to call you?

      • Message In A Fold

        I’ve made a 2 part video on how to use the iMovie. This is just the basics and nothing really fancy. There are things I’ve left out but I can add a video, or two, later if I need to. I sure do hope this helps you to get your AWESOME tutorial uploaded 😀

Leave a Reply

