My kitchen is the “Man Cave”

Seriously, it has become Joe’s work area.

Joe's work space

Joe’s work space

Any flat and available surface that is easy for him to get to has been commandeered by Joe.

Hard at work

Hard at work

I’m not going to complain.  Especially since he fixed that Formica strip that has been driving me bonkers for about five years now.  I’ll just work around him.  If he gets wet and soapy…..well that is the hazards he will just have to deal with 😀

Today’s space is the cluttered mess of a counter area that has been long neglected.

Today's area to be cleaned

Today’s area to be cleaned

Clutter, clutter, and more clutter

Clutter, clutter, and more clutter

Our home does not have a “Medicine Cabinet”.  Well, that is not exactly true because we really do have.

One available spot

One available spot

This spot as well

This spot as well

Some in here

Some in here

More here

More here

Because I can be a “Slave Driver” too, I gave Joe the task of going through all of his prescriptions from 2007 and earlier and making the decision what gets tossed out and what gets kept.

A judicious purge

A judicious purge

During the purge and cleaning session I found the missing “Phantom Of The Opera” cd’s.  We can now enjoy the music during the cooking of Joe’s Christmas feast.  Our kids often make reference to hearing this music – LOUD – while Joe did his Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners 😀  That is one of the fond memories they have of growing up in our home during the holidays.

Man, does it ever feel good to get one nasty mess tackled and tamed 😀  Plus I have finally located all of my cork hot pot holders and they are all together in one space.  Under Joe’s water jug when we are on the road.

Task completed

Task completed

Tomorrow, and quite possibly the weekend, I will be making my way to the other corner of the Kitchen/Dining Room and getting that area cleaned up.

Tomorrow's work area

Tomorrow’s work area

All the cookbooks I had on the counter I cleaned today will be moved to the old microwave cart that is jammed in the corner.

Progress is being made on my home.  I have several rooms that are clean and clutter free.  It feels so good to walk through a room and not have to dodge stuff.  It is even better to look at surfaces that are not covered in a layer of dust.  Thank you Flylady 😀

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

4 responses to “My kitchen is the “Man Cave”

  • Maureen Mathis

    That countertop looks great! Are the other areas staying picked up, too? It’s easier to maintain the whole clutter-free thing once it gets cleaned up. You just have to put things away throughout the day, and I like to make sure that everything’s picked up and put away before heading to bed. Then it’s not wagging it’s tongue at me in the morning!

    • Message In A Fold

      You bet! I’ve been picking up after myself all the time. Go Me 😀 Plus, I have NOT had to pick up after Joe. He polices himself so it has been really great. I’ve also been vacuuming every day to help cut down on the dust. A run through with the Swiffer Duster tomorrow will take care of what has accumulated so far and that should be fast, fast, fast 😀

      Thank you, my Friend, for cheering me on 😀 Love you – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    And another area cleared, purged and looking shiny bright 🙂 Go you! Doesn’t it make a whole lot of difference to your mood when you can see achievement instead of clutter and more clutter?
    One of our SILs gets to have several weeks off over Christmas/New Year as he is on highway maintenance and work is slack until around mid February. While our daughter was at work he decided to do a major clean up of the kitchen including the cupboards. He is a manic purger anyway but he really went to town and the kitchen looked like an advert but the funniest part was when he decided to see what effect it had…he opened the cupboard doors and took himself off into the sitting room for half an hour and then walked into the kitchen to amaze himself. When our daughter told us we almost wet ourselves laughing 🙂 If you saw Neil – a very macho looking chap with his close cropped hair, bulging muscles and tattoos you could not imagine him doing any cleaning let alone then admiring it all LOL

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      That is a great story 😀 Well done Neil!! Your girls are very fortunate to have found such solid men 🙂 Totally awesome it is. Would you please ask Neil if he would give me some pointers. My cupboards don’t fling stuff out at me when I open the doors. I just seem to have stuff in the wrong location for. Then again, never mind. Some of the cupboards are deep enough for our plates and pots and pans, while others are not very deep. So I guess I’ll try to live with what how they are arranged now.

      I can’t stop chuckling 🙂 I had Joe read your comment and he chuckled also 🙂

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

