Today has been brought to you by the letter “C”

Yes, folks….the letter “C” about sums up today’s post 😀

CRUD:

Nasty faucet fixtures

Nasty faucet fixtures

Yucky spill

Yucky spill

Dirty sink

Dirty sink

CRUMBS:

Inside toaster

Inside toaster

Bread crumbs on the counter

Bread crumbs on the counter

Cracked pepper crumbs

Cracked pepper crumbs

CRAP:

Stuff filling up my counter and sink

Stuff filling up my counter and sink

Lots of crap

Lots of crap

So, how do you like my “artistic” photos for the letter “C”?  Enough to make you “C”ringe, ya? 😀

This little bit of my kitchen took more than the 15 minutes….but not much more.  I think with all the purging and scrubbing it took me about 30 minutes to do this section.  Cabinets top and bottom as well with a good wipe down to remove dust and whatever else was hiding on the door tops.

After clearing the counter of everything, then giving the sink AND counter a good and thorough scrubbing with Clorox Soft Scrub…..

Cleaning the sink and counter

Cleaning the sink and counter

I spent another few minutes wiping up the cleaner and rinsing the sinks out.

CLEANSE:

Normally I would do the following step to BOTH sinks at the same time.  We are experiencing temperatures in the 19 to 24 degree (F) range and I have to worry about frozen pipes under our mobile home.  Which I’ve had to call for help to have them thawed out twice.  So now I don’t take any chances.  When the temperatures drop I leave the cold water tap run in a thin stream or a fast drip.

So this bit of cleansing will be done one sink at a time.  1/4 cup Bleach…

1/4 cup bleach

1/4 cup bleach

I am awaiting my Honey to do a “Honey Do” and affix the Formica strip back in place on our counter top.  Living in a mobile home, the manufacturers slap things together with little “dots” of adhesive.  Enough to hold the thing in place during delivery then who cares when it pops off.  Not their job man.  If Joe doesn’t get to this project soon…..I’ll do it myself and he’ll bawl about how I did it and that I did it wrong.  It is no excuse to leave this hanging as it is because we are hardly home much, but it flaps and frustrates me.  I’ve attached it in a couple places with some packing tape but it still yawns open.

Okay, enough of that….back on track.  Fill the sink with HOT water and add the bleach while the water is filling the sink.

Fill the sink with hot water after adding the bleach

Fill the sink with hot water after adding the bleach

And I DO mean FILL the sink.

Really fill the sink

Really fill the sink

Leave this sit until the water cools down to a warm temperature.  Warm enough that when you stick your hand in to take the stopper out it doesn’t hurt from a hot water burn.

If you are not paranoid about frozen water pipes then do this to both of your sinks at one time.  Goes faster that way.

The counter looks so much better.  Yes, the water is running quite a bit faster than a thin stream or a fast drip.  That is because I have really warm water running on a cloth so I can rinse off my cupboard doors and fronts to the stove and dishwasher.

Clean counter

Clean counter

Clutter free counter top.  This makes me SMILE 🙂

Clean counter

Clean counter

Don’t forget the dishwasher.  We have fairly hard water here and I need to get the sprayers cleared of calcium build up.

I will do this with vinegar.  1 cup of vinegar.

1 cup of vinegar

1 cup of vinegar

Start your EMPTY dishwasher on the first wash cycle setting.  When you hear it begin the swooshing sound of the washing, that is when you add the vinegar.

Add vinegar after the wash cycle begins

Add vinegar after the wash cycle begins

Now let your dishwasher completely go through the wash and rinse cycles.

Tomorrow’s 15 minutes will be spent on the buffet.

Tomorrow's task

Tomorrow’s task

I think, for the time being, I will forget about this mess and focus on THIS 😀

:D

😀

Okay, now off to my craft room to work on more of the Post-It-Note Holders and make an instructional video on making them.

Everyone have an awesome day 🙂

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

4 responses to “Today has been brought to you by the letter “C”

  • Maureen Mathis

    I have a thought…..use glue dots to attach FLOWERS to the “yawning” formica strip! If Joe says ONE WORD about it, just shrug your shoulders, and tell him that as long as the area was calling attention to itself, you thought that it should at least be PRETTY!

    The kitchen looks gorgeous. And I’m going to try that vinegar trick the next time I empty the dishwasher.

    • Message In A Fold

      You crack me up, Girlfriend 😀 Enhance the problem to make it more noticeable 🙂 I like the way you think!!

      Thank you for your sweet comment on my kitchen. It is coming along and I am feeling better about it. I have a plan, and a purpose 🙂 AND I have a clean and clear counter which is really exciting 🙂

      The vinegar in the dishwasher is a really excellent trick. It not only cleans out the sprayers but it also cleans up the inside of the whole unit. Makes it even smell good 🙂

  • gardenpinks

    Aaah isn’t that a sight to behold? Nice clean counters and sinks shiny bright. I am paranoid about our sink and around the taps (faucetts)…they are mixer taps similar to yours and I clean the sink, taps and cooker top after I have washed up after the evening meal. No dishwasher here, uses too much water and energy.
    We have hard water too so I keep vinegar in a spray bottle and regularly spray pure vinegar around the base of all the taps including the bathroom ones; leave to soak for 30 mins or so and it lifts the limescale away easily. The thing that stains my kitchen sink so much is tea! Emptying the teapot out without rinsing the sink and it soon turns brown 🙂 We drink a lot of tea!!!!!!!!!!!!! All the counters are wiped down with an antibacterial cleaner once the dishes have been dried and put away.

    I’ve just looked up at the small shelf above my desk and the desk lamp has highlighted a good coating of dust 🙂 I always forget that shelf!

    Love Maureen’s idea with the flowers 🙂 Now that is a good one!

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      I’m going to have to try your trick of spraying vinegar around the taps to keep that grungy area clean. Most especially the handle. I often wonder what kind of yuck is hiding on it each time I turn the water on 😦

      I drink a lot of coffee and my sink is stained brown from the coffee oils. The bleach water cleans that up, besides I can let it soak and make the excuse that the water is too hot for me to do anything just now 😀

      Thank you for the tip about the vinegar. I really appreciate that.

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

