I KNEW I had a spare pitcher

I have a full day today.  It began at 5:00 a.m. with my first cup of coffee then on to my emails and answering comments on my blogs.  The Flylady Zone this week is the Kitchen and boy do I have my work cut out for me 😦

I have errands to run….go to Michaels for more Glossy Accents to work on more of the big project I have going on at my OTHER BLOG – Message In A Fold.  Joe and I have some errands to run that are work related also.

FIRST I have to tackle that deplorable counter.  My 15 minutes today is dedicated to this nasty bit of business.

Kitchen counter

Kitchen counter

You probably remember this fright from a previous post I did in search of my can opener.

I got cracking on this mess and I did find homes for everything that didn’t need to be on this counter.  Some went in the trash, other items went in the pantry (that is another mess for another day), some went through the shredder, and other items were taken to my craft room where they belonged.

Clean counter :-)

Clean counter 🙂

I took a few extra minutes to give a good wipe to the upper and lower cabinets since I had the cleaning rag in my hand.

Now that the counter is clear of clutter, my next dilemma was leave the can opener on the counter or stash it away somewhere.  I had to ask this question of myself.  How often does it get used?  Answer.  Not very often.  I don’t cook much from a can so having the can opener on the counter is not necessary.  Next question.  Where do I put it.  Aha!

I’ll put it in the cupboards just above the stove.  My reasoning is that it will be close at hand when I do need it and I don’t use that cupboard space anyway because it is hard to reach stuff in their without a step stool.

A good place for the can opener

A good place for the can opener

Upon opening the doors…look what I found.  The spare pitcher I’ve been hunting for.  I knew I had bought one several years ago….or at least I thought I had bought one.

There is that pitcher

There is that pitcher

I am counting on you guys to jog my memory when I next ask the question “Where is my can opener?”

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “I KNEW I had a spare pitcher

  • Maureen Mathis

    Looks like you found some unused storage space in that cabinet! I know that I can clean stuff out of my cabinets over the fridge; found something for my next 15…..!

    Why do you have two phones in the same place?

    • Message In A Fold

      How did your closet purge go? Are you happy with that space now?

      You have such a beautiful home :-). You have your next task planned 🙂 good for you. At least that is what I assume you meant by “the next 15…” 🙂

      Our “house phone” is permanently connected to our fax machine. When I do my paperwork and need to call someone for information I use the old princess phone with miles of cord. Joe ties up my cell phone when he is out and I need that other phone sometimes 🙂

  • gardenpinks

    Spotlessly clean 😀 I was going to ask the same question as Maureen about the telephones and now we know!
    Did you get the errands done as well as the cleaning?
    We had great fun this evening, we went to see Liam in his school nativity play. He was an innkeeper and little brother Dylan said loudly there is Me…Dylan calls Liam Me…..and then Dylan asked why has Me got a towel on his head??
    The reason why he calls Liam Me: first Dylan called his brother Iam (Liam without the ‘L’) then when pointing to photographs Liam would name everyone and say “And there’s Me” hence Dylan referring to Liam as Me! It does get confusing at times when we wonder which ‘me’ he means 😀 Bless ’em.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Lynn, that is beyond a doubt the most cutest thing I think I’ve ever heard 😀 I’m sure the notice of his brother, and the excited recognition, was not whispered and for your ears only 😀 Thank you for sharing that precious bit with us, and the history behind “Me”. I love the way children’s minds work and their no fear of embarrassment.

      Also, I’m glad you shared this, mainly, because I’ve been reading your grandson’s name as “Lee-um”.

      My goodness it is busy in your neck of the woods 😀 Craft fairs, school plays, grandchildren romping about. Your Christmas preparations are in full swing and blessed with your family interruptions 😀 Wistfully, whining here 🙂 How I miss those days.

      Wow, the PC Police (Politically Correct) have been deterred by the water barrier between our countries. It has been, absolutely, ages since I’ve heard someone tell about a public school’s nativity play for the public. We don’t have them over here any longer in our public schools. Crapazoid, we even get called out sometimes for saying “Merry Christmas”. Seems the PC way is to say “Happy Holidays” or “Season’s Greetings”. I think the private church schools are the only ones that do a nativity play anymore, or it is put on by the various churches Sunday School children. Okay, I’ll quit before I take a step up on my soap box 🙂

      Love you – Leslie

      • gardenpinks

        You were quite correct with your way of pronouncing Liam – Lee-um. So to say it the way Dylan said it you just knock off the ‘L’ “ee-um” 🙂

        Well I’m very glad the PC Police haven’t called here! Most primary schools put on a version of the Nativity play and include children of all faiths in it and there have been no complaints that I am aware of. If parents of a particular faith don’t like the nativity play then either their children don’t go to that school but to a school of their own faith or a quiet word with the teacher and all is done. However many primary schools cover faiths other than Protestant (Church of England) especially inner city schools and you can quite often find Diwali (Indian festival) or other religious festivals being discussed and celebrated! And we will stay with Happy Christmas too.
        There is a saying.”When in Rome do as the Romans do” so as far as us Brits are concerned we don’t have a problem with what faith anyone wants to practise however in this country we expect people that come here to live to learn the language and obey our laws and, it is hoped, we can all tolerate each other’s differences.
        On the other hand though there are many Brits that go overseas to live and still expect everyone around them to speak English!!!!!!!!!!! Appalling state of affairs. We call these the ‘Little Englanders’, don’t want to live here but want to live in little “home from home” palisades.

        Stand up to the PC Police, if you have always said Happy Christmas then continue to do so. These PC Police will destroy cultures, traditions and try to turn us all in to clones 🙂

        Love and hugs
        Lynn xxx

      • Message In A Fold

        I think I’m going to talk to Joe about moving to England 🙂 This country used to be the way yours is. People came here and learned the English language and how to function in our society. Now we all have to fit in with those that come here. Makes me FURIOUS!!!

        I do tell everyone I see “Merry Christmas”. If they don’t like it that that is just their stuff and not mine 😀

        Your stories of your grandchildren are just precious 😀 Thank you for sharing your Nativity Story with me 😀

        Love you my Friend – Leslie

Leave a Reply

