Where is my can opener?

This coming week the next house cleaning Zone is the Kitchen.  I am ambivalent about this one.  This room suffers the most, other than the Living Room, for the “Dump and Run” that we do during the year when both Joe and I are out traveling the highways.

Mail piles up in our mail box, then gets piled on the counter tops until I can get at it.  It wouldn’t be so bad if it were just the mail.  Being home sporadically I create more work for myself when my winter Hiatus comes.

This time I have made the decision to do all that I need to do in small increments of time.  It does get done and I am really happy with the results.  The parts of my house that are CLEAN are staying clean and vacuumed.  It is getting so much easier for me to LIKE the home I have since I have chosen to be kind to myself.

So…are you ready for the show?

Can you find the can opener in this photo?  This is the first kitchen counter at the dividing wall between the Living Room and the Kitchen.  Right next to the stove.

Where's the can opener?

Where’s the can opener?

I have another counter that is in the Dining Room area and it needs a bit of work also.  Can you find the missing cork hot pot holder?  There is a stack of them at the far left, under the brown bowl  The missing one is there and has not gone missing, it is just out of place.

Where is the missing cork mat?

Where is the missing cork mat?

Our little Kitchen/Dining Room is chock full of big furniture that all have flat surfaces.  Joe and I are really bad about cluttering up the flat surfaces because we can’t seem to put things back where we got them from.

This flat surface is a buffet we purchased about 8 years ago after we first moved in.  There are decorative bottles of beans and rice to make this room look…almost….like a Food Network kitchen.  Except the Food Network kitchens are more appealing to the eye than my kitchen is.

The buffet

The buffet

Yep, here are the glass containers with the beans and rice.  Along with a coating of dust.

Glass jars of beans and rice

Glass jars of beans and rice

Yikes!!  I have my work cut out for me beginning tomorrow.  Small increments of time will get this room in order and it will look like a Food Network set by the end of the week 😀

Before Flylady (are you sick of it yet?) I would crash and burn doing the house cleaning in a day or two.  Within minutes I’d be in High Dudgeon with a potty mouth and a mean mouth when Joe would spill something and not clean up after himself or when he would not put something back when he was finished.  My “Martyr” attitude was of no good to either of us and I’d soon say “To Heck” with the whole house cleaning business.  If you can’t beat em’, join em’ is how the rest of the time home would play out.

The pressure I would put upon myself to clean the house and get the book work done was immense.  Frankly, I’m surprised Joe has continued to be by my side 😦

Oh, don’t let Joe know that I have seen him making a great effort to put his tools back after using them and not leaving them for long on the Dining Room table.  Also, don’t tell him that I have noticed he takes the trash out more often.  And don’t make a big fuss to him about what a wonderful thing it is that he empties the dishwasher.  I have even been told that it is HIS job to do it and I’m to leave him alone 😀  And, don’t let him know that I have watched him take his books and magazines from the tables beside his recliner and put them away or in the trash (magazines) after he has finished reading them.

Joe has fixed the pantry door that sticks and can be hard to open.  He’s replaced the Master Bathroom faucet knobs because one got stripped out and spun on the thing.  I now have running water once again in there 😀  I didn’t even have to ask him to do these things, he is taking an active role in helping around the house 😀  Funny thing is…when I’ve commented on these things he is doing he tells me “Well, I live here too”.

The “Martyr” is out the door and she is not allowed back in 😀

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

2 responses to “Where is my can opener?

  • gardenpinks

    Well Joe is right Leslie, he does live in the same house and he does make some of the mess so he should help clean up where possible and fix things if he can. Only fair when you think about it, you both work and so when you are both home you should both do what is necessary. If Joe was out working all day and you were at home all day then Joe couldn’t reasonably be asked or expected to chip in on the housework front except to clear away what is manifestly his. Share and share alike my friend 🙂 Rod and I had this system; when he worked for a company and I was a stay at home mum then I did the cleaning, cookng, washing, etc but when we set up in business together then we worked in the house together too. Now though he does the majority of the cooking and I do whatever else and neither of us feels hard done by.

    Like you and Joe we are as bad…a flat surface then we’ll cover it with junk 🙂 I used to have decorative jars and things on the work surfaces but I finally realised they add to the clutter and they were allocated a space in a cupboard. Of course we do have items on the work surfaces such as bread bin, biscuit barrel, tea and sugar containers and a teapot! Everything else is put away so that the work surface is for when we need to work on it…preparing food…and can all easily be washed down and cleaned away. That way the kitchen looks more spacious too 🙂
    Hope you find the can opener soon 😀

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      I grew up in foster families that DICTATED the roles of men and women. Housework is only for women 😦 Some ingrained crap from my youth still hangs in my head. Joe stepping in to run the vacuum sweeper or empty the dishwasher still leaves me “gob smacked” 😀 So I do appreciate it when he jumps in and helps from time to time.

      I think if I had a huge house with a kitchen the size of Wales I’d still have the counters covered with appliances and crap. As it is, my small kitchen has very little in the way of storage. My “Mission” is to figure out how to better utilize the storage I do have 😀 I wonder if there is a website dedicated to kitchen organization? I bet if I Googled it I’d find a ton of them.

      Can’t you just see the mess I’d have then?! All my cupboards empty and the contents stacked from floor to flat surfaces!! Maybe I’ll do that later in the winter after I’ve gotten the kitchen cleaned of all the clutter and crap 😀

      Love you my Friend – Leslie

Leave a Reply

