Ending this week on a high note

These last three weeks I have been cleaning  my filthy house using the techniques of Flylady.  I am feeling so much better about the multitude of tasks I have to do while I’m home 🙂

I’ve been dreading these last two spaces in my Living Room.   My computer work station for my book work in the business…

Work station

Work station

It is really dusty 😦

Dusty equipment

Dusty equipment

The other space is my work table that holds all book work I am doing.  I have been giving these spaces “Stink Eye” for quite some time because of the accounting work I do and hate doing.  This year,  however, my load has been lightened by suggestions from my friends, Maureen and Lynn 😀

Work table

Work table

I bit the bullet and decided to get these two areas done today.  It took about an hour to do instead of the 15 minutes I have been following but I am so glad I took the time.  My Living Room is now FINISHED and can be marked off of the long list I have.

My work station is all clean.  Dust removed from all of the surfaces.  Desk pulled away from the wall and vacuumed beneath.  I have a big load off my shoulders 🙂

Clean work station

Clean work station

The small equipment pieces are also clean 😀

Clean equipment

Clean equipment

I finally  have room to walk through my Living Room and get to the Kitchen without knocking papers and boxes onto the floor 😀

Cleaned up work surface

Cleaned up work surface

I’ve even cleaned my Foyer this week and it looks so open and roomy 😀

Mostly clean Foyer

Mostly clean Foyer

Tomorrow, all I have left to do for this week’s Flylady Zones are the two spaces on either side of the Foyer counter, sweep and wash the floor,  and wash the front door.

Left side of the Foyer counter

Left side of the Foyer counter

Right side of Foyer counter

Right side of Foyer counter

Dirty door

Dirty door

These jobs will be done tomorrow.  Purging, sweeping, mopping, and washing won’t take very long.  About an hour and all my work will be done for this week.

One of the other areas for this week is the Dining Room Table.  Ya, right.  Good luck with THAT!

Dining Room table

Dining Room table

Joe has taken over the table and I don’t know when I will get it back.  I do have one little corner of the table to use as a press for the Post-It-Note Holders I am making.

My craft press

My craft press

The Dutch Oven is my “Craft Press”.  The rest of the stuff is all Joe’s.  He needs a “Man Cave” in the worst way….maybe I need him to have a “Man Cave” 😀

All of the dust and gross stuff that has been in the three rooms I’ve been working on these past weeks has mounted in my vacuum.  This looks terrible but do I feel better about having done all this work.  The air is beginning to smell better in my house. 😀

Dust and gunk gone from my home

Dust and gunk gone from my home

15 minutes at a time each day.  A couple days I’ve worked a bit longer than the 15 minutes.  Some spaces I’ve spent only an hour in.  Soon I will have cleaned my entire house and will be proud to have company 😀

Truly, this system works and makes housework less of a chore than it is when you try to kill yourself to get it all done at one time.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “Ending this week on a high note

  • Pati Mishler

    I am so happy that you are to a place in your cleaning that you are finally satisfied, and that you had the help of your friends with suggestions on how to do it better. In our house we are renting, i am still trying to get things in order, the hours i was working did not help the situation, now i am working in the same hospital but a different department, housekeeping, love it. I HATED the kitchen, but i am enjoying the housekeeping dept. I also have better hours, no nights and i only work one saturday a month. So i say all that to say, i am so excited to get our house back in order from when we moved in. If i can just keep things up, and each day just spend a few minutes to keep it up, all is well. So you go sis, and now you can just enjoy your clean house.

    • Message In A Fold

      Thanks Sis 🙂 My house is not clean yet, but it is getting there. Yikes!! Next week is the kitchen, I think, and boy does mine ever need it 😦 I am thoroughly enjoying the part that is clean 😀 It is so nice to go into rooms that are not covered in dust 😀 and the clutter is gone.

      I’m so glad to hear you have found a place to work that you LIKE 🙂 Makes the long hours go by faster 🙂 AWESOME, no nights anymore and only one Saturday a month is a bonus 🙂 Good for you, I’m really happy for you.

      You have been working so much and such odd hours. Just moved in and no time to get the house into the shape you want it to be is overwhelming on top of working all the time. You will get it to the point you want it. I know you will.

      So…when are you going to put your tree up? Is it your tradition to wait until closer to Christmas?

      Love you Sis 🙂

  • gardenpinks

    Give that lady a medal 🙂 You certainly deserve one Leslie and what a sense of achievement you must feel when you look at all you have done. What you have achieved is good time management instead of being overwhelmed by it all you have got stuck in and cleared that mess away. Girlfriend you are amazing 🙂

    One thing I have to say from the earlier posts that I kept meaning to say and forgot is…..I love that pail that was on the cunter in the enrty way. Lovely patterning on it! What have you done with/going to do with it??? It would look good in your craft room 🙂 Hanging up holding scissors/pens/ etc. Leastways that is what I would do 🙂 As a gardener I might use it to hold secateurs, string, pruning scissors and seed packets whilst I was working outside.

    Not that I can sit for longer periods I must crack on with my Christmas cards or else my American and Canadian friends will be having New Year cards instead of Christmas ones!! One year I will do these in advance 🙂 Ruth has been very busy with her craft business and I have been roped in to help at the various places where she has had stalls or else up my knees in grandchildren these lat few weeks 🙂 Still must get priorities right…time with our grandchildren is more important than playing with cardstock, after all the cardstock will still be there but the grandchildren grow up and that time can’t be brought back 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you Lynn, for your high praise 😀 I appreciate it. Yes, the benefits of this work is seeing flat surfaces that are NOT piled up high with crap and nagging me each time I pass them. Nor do they reach out and grab me any longer and fling themselves to the floor in their desperate attempt to get my attention 😀

      The pail….I purchased several of them from Target about three years back. My intention was to fill them with “We Have Moved” cards for those that purchased a new home. My lofty thought was to fill the pail, not only, with the cards notifying family and friends of their new address, but have a coupon to a hardware store to have a duplicate key made for free, hit up Starbucks for a coupon worth a free hot beverage with the purchase of another. You know that a hot cup of coffee or tea would be welcomed when you are surrounded by a mountain of boxes that need emptying. I was, also, going to hit up the local food delivery places for a special coupon for reduced prices on an order. One can always use sustenance when dealing with food and cooking tools still packed away. And several other places I was going to hit up for coupons….a hair salon or a pet salon to get the dog groomed. Then, maybe not so discretely, tucked in the box would be some propaganda about me being a Stampin’ Up! Demonstrator and would love to teach them how to make cards 😀

      With all the drama I had going on here and not making good decisions in my time management I left no time to pursue that idea. So now I have the pails stacked in a cupboard awaiting something else.

      Lynn, I sure do wish you lived closer to me because I’d give you one of the pails….or more 😀 if you needed a few.

      You are so far ahead of me on the Christmas card front. I haven’t sent out a Christmas card in years…if ever. Give your Ruth a High 5 from me on her craft business 😀 Awesome that she is able to sell the items she creates. Plus, you are at the heart of her business. After all, if she had not your example of craftily creating she would not be selling her wares and you would not have your precious grandchildren voices and running feet laying claim to your home 😀 Nor would you be able to spend the time with Ruth at the craft fairs and have the precious bonding time you do have.

      Now color me “Green with Envy” 😀

      Love you my Friend – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    Counter!!!!! Where I mentioned the pail on the counter. Missed the ‘o’ out and it looks rude 🙂 😀

    Hugs xxxx

Leave a Reply

