A past Obsession

Christmas of 1990 was when my “Obsessive” fault showed itself.

Joe and I had been married in August of that year and I was normal….until after Halloween.  I found a plaster gazebo and a box of plaster people playing in the snow.  Then came the houses.

Plaster house

Plaster house

I spent hours and hours painting.  No food got cooked, no laundry was washed, the house went uncleaned.  I was totally and irretrievably lost in acrylic paints and plaster images.  By the time Christmas came around I had a big scene of a neighborhood of plaster homes peopled by plaster winter characters.

Sadly, all are gone now.  A storage shed we rented upon moving to Oklahoma was cleaned out and everything sold off when we got behind in the storage rent.  Everything was gone.  All of our children’s school photos and the things they made with their little hands.  The storage shed owners would not give us the name of the person that took (bought) our stuff so we could get those treasures back.

In 1998, while I had nothing to do I picked up a couple plaster houses, restocked my supply of acrylic paint and got back to painting once more.  Joe was traveling all over the US doing the Drive-Away while I stayed at home.  The kids were all grown and gone.  There was just me to entertain and I could spend all the time I wanted doing this project.

Plaster gas station and garage

Plaster gas station and garage

Plaster police station and lawyers office

Plaster police station and lawyers office

Today I only have the three but I do have fond memories of making that entire village long ago.  When I think of all the time involved in making these I wonder if I had totally lost my mind during that time (I think my family wondered at my sanity also).

They now reside beneath the Christmas tree and bring a smile to my face when I see them.

Plaster house grouping

Plaster house grouping

1998 I decided to share my skills with family and friends.  I found these adorable plaster ornaments and spent that winter painting the lot of them and mailing them out.  I saved some for myself and I enjoy these little bits of Christmas.

Crate of toys

Crate of toys

Santa's face

Santa’s face

Bird Santa

Bird Santa

Santa's list

Santa’s list

Chimney Santa

Chimney Santa

Snowman

Snowman

Sledding snowmen

Sledding snowmen

I did make sure to leave myself a note on the bottom of each ornament when I made these.  My memory sometimes is pretty bad.  Most things happened more than 5 minutes ago and that is too long for me to remember 🙂

Signed and dated

Signed and dated

These plaster items used to be sold at Michaels.  I don’t know if they are still even made.  If you do find some and want to make them yourself, I have to tell you they are ADDICTING!!

If you are a perfectionist, addictive personality (like me) you may have some grumbling going on in your home.  If you and your family survive this obsession they will all have smiles on their faces when you display your beautiful hand work.

Our Christmas tree

Our Christmas tree

Do you have items you make, or you have made, for your Christmas decorations?  What is your favorite Christmas ornament or display?  I’d love to know.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

8 responses to “A past Obsession

  • jann

    Oh…I love these! I know there are hundreds of hours represented here! You painted such charactervinyo each of them…and they are treasures! I think the one called “santa’s list” looks like you used Joe as a model…peering down over his “readers” – both are precious! Love seeing your work! Love you more!

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you Jann 🙂 I’m a bit partial to the startled look on the face of Santa in the chimney 🙂 Yes, indeed, Joe was the one I thought of while painting the one with Santa making his list. Good model he was, too 🙂

      Once again, thank you Jann.

      Love you my Friend – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    Oh those are wonderful 🙂 Your tree looks beautiful all dressed up too!
    We have some ornaments that are very old, they were from Rod’s mother years before I came on the scene. I have a lot of handmade ornaments…must photograph these when I haul them out to show you… that a lady (who was very arty) made down in the village. She would make various items to hang on the tree at the village shop she owned and anyone could buy them, the money went to a charity.
    There are ornaments the girls have made and some I have made.

    At the moment I am suffering as I have broken a rib!! Did it sometime during the small hours of Saturday morning and can only think it happened whilst turning over in bed..agony especially if I cough or sneeze!
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Oh, COOL. I’d love to see your ornaments. Looking forward to seeing one or two of Rod’s Mother’s ornaments. Just to see how different they are from today’s variety. Probably better than anything on the shelves today 🙂

      Handmade ornaments, now you are tempting and teasing me with having to wait several weeks now 🙂

      Lynn, I’m so sorry to hear you have broken a rib! 😦 Egad, those are so painful. How would you have hurt yourself getting out of bed I wonder. Do you have wooden sides to your bed? My friend 😦 how terrible for you. Tell Rod you are in dire need of a “Hot Toddy” 🙂 If you don’t know what that is, I’ll tell you. Less than a jigger (ounce) of whiskey in a coffee mug, a teaspoon of honey, then boiling water poured to fill the cup. By the time you drink half of the mug you won’t be feeling any pain 🙂

      Love you my Friend – Leslie

      • gardenpinks

        No wooden sides to the bed – all I can think is that I twisted somehow in bed…the pain certainly woke me up I can tell you. Never cough or sneeze with a broken rib!!
        No hot toddys thanks..the only time whisky is good is when it is put into a Christmas cake 🙂 At cake making time Rod threatens to mark the level on the bottle LOL
        I’ll leave Rod the whisky and honey! At the moment it is lots of ibuprofen and paracetemol! Think Im buying shares in the products.

        Love and gentle hugs
        Lynn xx

      • Message In A Fold

        Does it only hurt real bad when you cough or sneeze? Not when breathing? If only during coughing or sneezing…because both Joe and I do this frequently in our Day Job…your Floating Rib has pinched a nerve. Hurts like all “get out” and you are in misery for about a week.

        I have a bottle of Bailey’s Irish Creame that is almost 8 years old and more than half full. About twice a winter, every three or four years, I will pour a good ounce into a coffee mug and fill the mug with coffee or hot chocolate. That is the extent of my alcohol consumption. I’ve heard of Rum Balls before. Those are some stout little balls of inebriation for me. A Christmas Cake is something I’ve not heard of before. I had to laugh at your remark about Rod threatening to mark the level of the bottle 🙂

        Get better my friend. I’m sending vibes for a speedy recovery 🙂

        Love you – Leslie

  • sharlene peretini

    Wow that village would have been awesome!!!! seeing the pieces you have left are beautiful!!!!
    Thanks for sharing your story
    hugs to ya

Leave a Reply

