Christmas will be celebrated at our house this year.

No “Bah, humbug” this year.

All the foolishness and mayhem of yesterday with the cleaning that went wonky has paid off.

The tree is up

The tree is up

Around early November of 2005 Joe and I were still on the road and would be until the snows came hard and I chickened out. During the bad weather I rode with him and did not drive.  With us being on the road for the holidays and no children at home, celebrating Christmas was not a priority.  Besides I was still the Grinch.

We made a stop at one of our favorite places in Lebanon, Missouri. Shepherd Hills Factory Outlet. Inside the store were artificial trees that had lights strung on them already. First time I had ever seen such a tree. It would not be until the following year that I would finally give in and have a tree in our home.

Lowe’s had a clearance sale on their stock of PRE-lighted artificial trees and we got this $150 tree for $49 the Christmas of 2006. We bought the storage bag separately and I’m very glad we did. The box the tree came in barely held together on the trip to the register let alone home and through our door.

Artifical tree storage bag

Artificial tree storage bag

The entire tree fits in the bag. Stand and all. There is a set of three rollers on the bottom of the bag for easy moving. The zipper that runs the full length, from top to bottom, on the bag seals it pretty tight. If you would have to store this outside in a garage or storage shed you are not supposed to have to worry about spiders or other little insects getting inside. The bag is supposed to be waterproof also. I don’t know the manufacturer of the bag, there is no longer any information on it, sorry.

Tree bag

Tree bag

There are four sections to our tree. In order to get this massive thing into the bag Joe tied the sections really well with a heavy jute twine.

Tied up sections

Tied up sections

Three of the four sections have a lettered tag that helps with the placement of the right piece in the stand.

Tagged and lettered sections of the tree

Tagged and lettered sections of the tree

I was able to get the binding off the first section by myself. Plugging the cord into the wall outlet to make sure all the lights worked on the first section after I got it installed in the stand.

I forgot just how huge this tree is 🙂

Installation begins and a light check

Installation begins and a light check

Joe had to come out and help me with the next sections. His binding job was so good I found I could not manage the piece by myself. Besides, what fun would it be to put the tree up and leave him out of the fun 🙂

I needed help

I needed help

There will not be a tree topper, nor has there been one. This tree is so tall that it is pressed up against the ceiling. The lights are cool, they do not get hot to the touch so I am not afraid of having a fire start in the ceiling. But to be safe I will only leave it on for a few hours a day…then again maybe all day long would be good too.

20111126-121333.jpg

Do you have a real tree for Christmas or do you have an artificial tree?

Is there a tradition at your house for when the tree goes up and who decorates it?  Does your whole family get in on putting up the tree?

I do miss the days when our children were home and listening to their memories of the ornaments and what they meant to our kids.  Their laughter and joking around is a muted memory now.  I hope each of them are making their own traditions 🙂

I’d love to hear about your Christmas traditions.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

4 responses to “Christmas will be celebrated at our house this year.

  • Pati Mishler

    I am BIG on christmas, it is my FAVORITE time of year, i DONT like the crazy of it all, so i buy my gifts a little at a time here and there. We have not put up the tree yet, but it will be soon, les and i love the tree up.

    Les is the one to put the tree up, and then, since the kids are grown, i get to put all the decorations on the tree, really always have, the boys never got into putting the decorations on the tree, that was MOM’s thing, always my thing, only thing i wished i had done years ago, i wish i had put names on EVERYTHING the boys did, and the dates that they did it, DARN!!! Now i dont know who made what or when.

    The boys dont get into christmas as much as i do, thats ok, everybody has their special thing, and christmas is mine.

    Les and i like to buy a new ornament each year after christmas is over, and ususally has the year on it, well thats my comment, now its someone elses turn.

    • Message In A Fold

      Sis, you make me laugh out loud. “DARN!!! Now i dont know who made what or when”.

      Do you guys have a real tree or do you have an artificial one? I love, love, love the smell of a real tree but I hate, hate, hate the dropped needles that always jab themselves into my toes.

      Are you going to send me a picture of your Christmas tree when it is up and decorated? Please, pretty please…with a cherry on top? 🙂

      I know you like to buy things throughout the year. That is such a smart idea. It is a time and sanity saver. Now that your boys are grown and off in the big world you don’t have to find a hiding place from prying eyes 🙂 I’m looking forward to hearing about your way to celebrate Christmas 🙂

      Love you Sister of mine 🙂

  • gardenpinks

    Wow what a huge tree and doesn’t it look pretty with the lights on.
    Last year, for the first time, we bought an artificial tree the reasons being that as we have no transport it was becoming more and more difficult to get out and buy one –everyone is busy and the prices of fresh trees has rocketed so we bought an artificial one and once it is decorated who notices!
    Our tree usually goes up on the afternoon of Christmas Eve and it was always the job of the children to decorate it now it is my job, I love putting the tree up and then putting all the presents underneath. I remember the children dputting the presents under the tree and having sneaky prods and shakes 🙂 I used to handmake all the crackers but finding a source for the snaps, hats, jokes is almost mpossible now. I used to make boxes and boxes of crackers to sell in the village shop..now that was a mess everywhere!!
    We also used to buy indoor fireworks..poor cousins to the outdoor fireworks but the children loved them and it ended Christmas Day nicely with no tears. A present was always kept back until supper time for them, then into their pjs, fireworks and bed 🙂

    I do love Christmas:) Wasn’t such a joyful affair when I was a child so we worked hard to make it very special for our children, now they all have started their own traditions with their own children 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you for sharing your Christmas stories with me 🙂 I’ve seen the crackers on television. All the confetti and stuff that explodes out of them when the ends are pulled. Seeing that I can well imagine the mess you had in your home while creating the crackers. I think you enjoyed making them, for the most part. Probably quite time consuming.

      I’ve never heard of “indoor fireworks” before. How fun it must have been in your house with the popping noise, smoke, and sparkling bright lights. I can hear your girls glee and almost see them jumping up and down and clapping. How much time did it take those excited little ladies to settle down and go to sleep after all that excitement? How fun.

      I’m glad you had the desire to create a better Christmas than what you had. Your girls are able to make their own traditions because of what you did. AWESOME! 🙂

      Your comment was fun to read, thank you.

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

