The true riches in my life are family and friends

On this day of Thanksgiving, November 24, 2011, I have much to be thankful for.

Over the past three days I have been trying to compose this post without getting syrupy and maudlin about it.

James 1:17 ESV (Google search)

Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.

For a girl lost in the world of the Welfare System growing up in foster homes I have been blessed with many gifts that I cherish dearly today.  None of these gifts are material in nature.  The girl I once was longed for a family and friends.  I had a fierce desire for belonging and knowing safety and love.  Today, I am especially thankful for the abundance of riches I have.

My life can be likened to the rippling effect of a stone thrown in water.  The ever increasing circles radiate outward from the center.  Each ring is connected to the one before it and to the source of the initial impact.

I am totally surrounded by family and friends that bring me joy on a daily basis.  That little girl from long ago has finally realized her dream and I am thankful for each and every person that has made my dream and wish a reality.
My girls, Carissa and Heidi Jo, are happy and in good relationships.  These two girls amaze me each day as they become adult women with amazing hearts.  I am thankful they were given to me to watch them grow and be a part of their lives.  Carissa’s husband, Jaime, is such a good man with a huge heart.  His quiet and strong ethical character allow me to sit back knowing my daughter is in good hands.
My husband, Joe, is the love of my life and has been instrumental (along with Carissa) in teaching me what real love and family is all about.
My sister, Pati, and her husband, Les, have blessed my life by coming back into it after so many years of being lost to me.  I am thankful to have my sister and the struggles sisters go through in being family.
My kids, albeit they are Joe’s, imbue my life with richness in their way.  Tiffany has given me a grandson that I adore and a Son-In-Law that makes me laugh at his antics and acerbic wit.  Joseph melts my heart each time he calls and says “Hi Ma.  Whatcha doin’?”  Curtis and his wife, Brenda, make me happy with their quiet ways and the love they freely give.  Loreli makes me laugh with her renditions of self deprecating humor at her attempts to be cool under pressure and pulls it off 🙂  Loreli has Chad, who is a good foil to her confidence and strength, and he is a wonderful guy in his own right.  Aaron and his girlfriend, Krasi (Kressa), I don’t get to see very often but when I do they bring me a great deal of joy.
My Internet friends have expanded my life with their love and support.  Nancy from Canada and Shelly from Illinois are two that have been stolid supporters of me from my first forays into the world of YouTube and crafting.  Jann, from Tennessee, has embraced me with her friendship, talents, and guidance in being a better crafter.  Maureen, from Texas, has included me in her family life and made mine richer with her humor, wit, and cookies :-).  Lynn, from the United Kingdom, has become a kindred spirit in the parallel lives we have lead in our quest to live a good life, and it doesn’t hurt that she can make me laugh so hard that I choke myself.  Shar, from New Zealand, pops in from time to time with her brand of friendship that I cherish.  Indira, from the Dominican Republic, blesses my life with her friendship as well.
I am thankful for each and every person that is in my life.  Material riches are nothing compared to the abundance I have in my life through the people that are in it.  Truly, I have been “gifted” with the good and perfect gifts of life that mean more to me than any material possession could possibly fill.
Happy Thanksgiving to each and everyone of you.
About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

8 responses to “The true riches in my life are family and friends

  • gardenpinks

    Happy Thanksgiving to you Leslie and your family.
    I am so happy to be part of your ‘ripples’ bu you pay back in spades with your concern, generosity, love and friendship. I am so glad we ‘found’ each other.
    Love this post because it is so upbeat 🙂 Hope you all enjoyed that turkey and that is was defrosted okay LOL

    Love and heartfelt hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Joe did his usual fantastic job with the turkey and everything else he makes. We had our neighbors over to celebrate the day with us. As usual, I ate too much 🙂

      Lynn, I too am glad we “found” each other. Thank you for being my friend 🙂 I better stop now before I go down the slippery slope 🙂

      Love you – Leslie

  • Maureen Mathis

    Thanks for the sweet remarks; we are all more accepting of ourselves because you have opened up your life and your heart to us all. You have taught us so much about love, that our lives are richer for it. I know mine is.

    Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

    • Message In A Fold

      Okay, now you have me in tears. The good ones 🙂 I give back what I get, and from all of you girls I have been blessed with true friendship and love.

      Okay I better quit before I say something like Sally Field did long ago at the Oscars. “You like me, you really like me!!” However, I will say that my life is blessed more than I could have ever possibly imagined and I’m surrounded by love. And each of you teach me more in your own special ways 🙂

  • Nancy

    My dear Leslie…I am honored to be included among your list of friends! You are a treasure indeed, and I appreciate having you in my life!
    With love & squishy hugs,
    Nancy 🙂

    • Message In A Fold

      Nancy, you have enriched my life with laughter and encouragement from the beginning of my foray into YouTube. I so appreciate our friendship and am glad you are part of my life. 🙂

      My daughter, Carissa, and I had a long talk on the phone yesterday. I told her how my life is blessed and the pure joy she has brought into my life and being instrumental in teaching me what love truly is. I had to thank her personally for opening up a whole entire world for me. She made sure to let me know that it wasn’t her that did it, it was God acting in my life and unhardening my heart through her and then further through Joe.

      Your scripture pages touch my heart and my mind each page you create and the joyous way you deliver your message. The strong women He has surrounded me with all have open hearts and open minds. Each of you bring out the best in me and I am truly thankful for each and every one of you.

      Nancy, thank you for being the “Messenger” 🙂 I humbly thank you 🙂 And I’ll accept the “squishy hug” 🙂

      Love you – Leslie

      • Nancy

        That Carissa is one smart cookie!! I really like that girl! 😀
        You’ve got me blubbering like a baby now! lol I’m glad you understand that I’m just the “messenger” and the message is coming from Someone else!
        God is good, my friend, God is good! 😀

      • Message In A Fold

        “God is good, my friend, God is good! :D” Amen to that!! And I’m kind of partial to Carissa also 😀 She is a very smart girl 😀

Leave a Reply

