The role of a Grandparent

We are not quite advanced in years that we “relive” our childhoods. We get back in touch with the joys our children brought to us when they were 3 years old.

SNACK ALERT πŸ™‚ for my friend Nancy.

Poppa Joe is making whipped cream for a dish he and his girls, Tiffany and Loreli, like.

Mom, Tiffany, was having concerns of the after effects of a sugar buzz her little Simon would experience but Poppa Joe won the skirmish.

20111122-105949.jpg

Poppa Joe told Simon he would have to remain in the chair next to him in order to get this treat.

The licking began πŸ™‚

20111122-110335.jpg

Simon sat in the chair without any fuss. His concentration on the task at hand was total. No wriggling. No talking. No flailing the beater about in the air.

The lip smacking commenced along with little joyous utterances of yum πŸ™‚

20111122-111808.jpg

I’m here to tell you there was some serious action going on πŸ™‚

20111122-111947.jpg

Now, can you possibly imagine anything better than this?

Joe had me giggling with a story he told from his childhood. It was his job to lick the beaters when he was Simon’s age and until he was nearly 10.

His Great Uncles Jack and Chuck teased him every year that they were going to get the beaters this time. They teased poor Joe so much that he felt really bad they were not able to enjoy this treat along with him. Joe went to his grandmother to ask for an extra one so they wouldn’t be left out. Grandma’s response was to go to the Uncles and firmly say “You stop teasing the boy!”.

Do you have a fond memory of a grandparent you would like to share? Are you a grandparent and have a story of your own you would like to share?

I’m really loving this grandparent thing πŸ™‚

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

12 responses to “The role of a Grandparent

  • Pati Mishler

    We are no grandparents yet, but, i have to tell you, that little Simon is ADORABLE, simply adorable. so ( cute ) licking that beater. With 3 guys in our house down through the years, two sons and one bigger kid, DAD, there wasnt enough beaters to go around. So they decided to spit it all up and SOMEONE got to lick the bowl. That fixed it, still that way to this day with our croud, and they are ALL of them grown up, well! might still have one kid, ( DAD ) around. lol

    • Message In A Fold

      Sis, you had me giggling πŸ™‚ How fun to have your boys, all of them, to do the clean up.

      Sis, thank you for sharing this sweet memory with me…and everyone else πŸ™‚ In my opinion, there is no better picture of family love than beater and bowl licking πŸ™‚ along with the teasing and occasional “YUM” declarations πŸ™‚

      Consider yourself in “training” to be a grandma πŸ™‚

      Love you Sis

  • gardenpinks

    What dish is being created? Simon certainly looked as though he was enoying himself there πŸ™‚
    Our girls loved licking out the bowl after a cake making session – yuk! They would have a spoon each trying to get every last bit of cake mixture and whilst I was spooning the mixture into tins they would be pleading with me to leave them plenty in the bowl πŸ™‚ Kim loves doing exactly the same thing too!

    Love and hugs
    Lynn x

    • Message In A Fold

      The dish. It is a cole slaw that is totally ruined, in my opinion. I love cole slaw, and especially the creamy type with just a bit of acid from vinegar. But what Joe makes is totally hideous. I think he is still experimenting with this recipe and maybe he will get it tamed down this year.

      Joe’s recipe: 1/2 a head of cabbage sliced thinly into strips then chopped into bite size pieces; 1 cup of Whipping Cream, 3/4 cup of sugar, 1/4 cup of vinegar. He beats the Whipping Cream until it has soft peaks then adds the sugar until it shows hard peaks; about 1 teaspoon of Vanilla Extract is added and beaten in; last to be added is the 1/4 cup of vinegar. The whipped cream is grainy from the sugar and is way too sweet, when he adds the vinegar he, in my opinion, totally ruins the whipped cream. This mixture gets folded into the cabbage slaw. Within moments the vinegar begins to separate from the cream and pool in the bottom of the bowl. The whipping cream curdles just a bit and leaves a fatty scum on the roof of my mouth.

      You want to talk about sweet and sour? This dish has it in spades.

      Loreli and Tiffany grew up with their Dad’s creation and it is a favorite treat and a Thanksgiving staple when we are together as a family. I pass on the dish.

      Awww, thank you Lynn for sharing your special memory with me…and everyone else. I can see your girls scootched up right next to you during cake making time. No room for your elbows to work. Your girls hopping up and down and wriggling. Reminding you to make sure they don’t miss out on the treat at hand. I love it!!!

      Love you – Leslie

      • gardenpinks

        Oh I wish I hadn’t asked Leslie 😦 LOL Sorry Joe but I couldn’t eat that! When we make coleslaw we finely slice up the white cabbage, add grated carrot and finely sliced onion to which is added some mayonnaise and that is it.

        Oh you are bang on target Leslie, that is exactly what the girls did – a chair and child on either side of me so I could hardly move! Any small cakes made were most unhygenic – after each spoonful dolloped into the cases they would lick fingers and spoons if they could get away with it πŸ™‚ The cleaning up afterwards was a nightmare, each child had cake mixture smeared across faces and up to their elbows πŸ™‚ Still it was fun!
        And when they were old enough to do the baking I stayed well away until after the kitchen had been straightened out again!
        Have fun tomorrow
        Love and hugs
        Lynn xx

      • Message In A Fold

        Yes, Joe’s cole slaw makes me feel the same way πŸ™‚ Your slaw sounds even more appealing πŸ™‚

        Your description of the girls and you making cakes is fun to read. Maybe a little unhygenic but nobody had ever tasted a cake so good in their life πŸ™‚ I’m still laughing, picturing your little girls faces smeared with cake batter, bangs standing straight up or off to an odd angle with dried cake batter πŸ™‚ What a riot πŸ™‚ Thank you for the giggle πŸ™‚

        Love you – Leslie

  • Nancy

    Good morning, Leslie! Thank you so much for the “snack alert”, I really appreciate it! Funny thing is that I read that far yesterday…ran to get my bowl of grapes…and forgot to come back! lol
    So today I ate my snack BEFORE I came to continue…and now I wish I wouldn’t have. After reading your description of Joe’s concoction I just may lose my snack…sorry Joe! haha That’s just not my kind of combination on a day like today…let’s go back to the turkey please! πŸ˜€
    Growing up I usually got both beaters to lick because my brothers were not involved in the baking fun. They would get them only if it was chocolate because I didn’t like the chocolate beaters. When my girls were little it was easy because there were two girls and two beaters.
    It’s funny how a memory will pop into your head. You asked about a grandparent memory. My Grandpa was a real character. I remember being at my grandparents for someone’s birthday and cake was being served. I said I would have “…just a little piece, please.” My grandpa asked, “Just a sliver?” I said, “Yes, please.” So he brought me my plate and on it was a toothpick with a dollop of whipped cream! That was my Grandpa! πŸ˜€

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you Nancy! I thought it was just me being picky about Joe’s cole slaw.

      Wowzers πŸ™‚ I got a 3-fer out of you πŸ™‚ and it was totally fun reading your comment. You can relate to little Simon licking the beaters πŸ™‚ and later watching and giggling with your girls as they enjoyed their treat πŸ™‚ Awww, what a great memory of your Grandpa πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing these fun and fond memories with me.

      Love you – Leslie

  • Heart Healthy Diet

    Hello! I realize this is kind of off-topic however I needed to ask. Does operating a well-established website like yours require a massive amount work? I am completely new to blogging but I do write in my diary every day. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or tips for new aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!
    Heart Healthy Recipes

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you for leaving a comment. I’ve looked at your Heart Healthy Diet blog and you have a great start there. If Blogspot allows you to add a page to your blog you can make that your daily diary of sorts. The things you do to keep healthy, how you feel on a particular day, a food you passed up but wish you had not, or a food you ate you wish you had not eaten. Personalize your blog. The things you write about there are others that can relate to what you are going through, or had been through. Just write.

      Again, thank you for leaving a comment on my blog.

      Leslie

  • Maureen Mathis

    I wasn’t blessed with doting grandparents, unfortunately. The most likely prospect died when I was a preschooler, and the closest ones were 3 hous away, and NOT the doting type AT ALL. So no good memories of them, but I do have a fondness for those big, steel swingsets, as we were forced outdoors most of the time to keep the house “quiet.” Those old swingsets are so large and tall that you could swing much higher and see WAY beyond the fence at the peak of your path. I LOVED swinging when we would visit, and still to this day, have to stop and sigh at those precious memories when I am lucky enough to spot an old steel swing set.

    • Message In A Fold

      Oh, Maureen. My heart goes out to the little girl of long ago pushed outside. I have a vague memory of a grandfather when I was 3. Only saw him one time.

      You know, when your children bless you with grandchildren you will make up for the loss you felt πŸ™‚ I know you will! And you will have fun being the grandparent you wished you had πŸ™‚

      I hope you tell me of hunting down the best steel swing set with grandchildren in tow so they can experience the freedom of flight as you once did πŸ™‚ That would be AWESOME πŸ™‚

      Love you my Friend

Leave a Reply

