Day 3 in the bathroom

Today is Friday!  I am a day behind 😦  I thought it was Thursday.  Oh well, I’m still alright.

The one thing about Flylady is this.  One of her mantras is “You are NOT behind.  Jump in where you are.”  If you miss a few days of doing the cleaning the world is not going to end.  If you don’t get a “Zone” finished during the week then don’t get excited about it.  Move on.  That room will come back around in a few weeks and you can get it done then.

The main idea behind Flylady is to get rid of the clutter, clean the room properly, then pick up after yourself and do maintenance cleaning during the week.  It may take several months to get your home “Clean” but the initial work is what sets the pace for your accomplishments.  The improvement is evident as time goes on.

So, if I totally follow Flylady’s rule then I won’t finish the bathroom tomorrow, Saturday.  I’ll set some time this afternoon to take an additional 15 minutes to finish the room.  It is my choice.

Flylady has 2 rules.  Friday night is “Date Night” with your spouse or significant other, and the weekends are “Family Time”.  Women, largely being the housekeeper, need to have time off for good behavior too.

Now I have a small tip on cleaning a shower stall.  Truth to tell, I hate this job most of all because I am on my hands and knees and I don’t like to be down there.  It takes so much energy to get this massive body back upright on my feet 🙂  Shampoo, conditioner, body washes, shave gels, bath soap all leave behind a residue on the floor of my shower stall.

Residue on shower stall floor

Residue on shower stall floor

We have hard water and it leaves a red tinge on the bottom ledge of the shower stall.  This can be unsightly after a while.

Hard water stain

Hard water stain

Soap scum and hard water leave a yucky residue in the door slides.

Yucky scum in door slides

Yucky scum in door slides

Dawn disposable dish washing scrubs are really good to use in the shower stall.  Personally, I don’t like the smell of Dawn so I don’t use it in the kitchen.  I try not to use a harsh chemical in this area because it is pretty much enclosed and being on my hands and knees I get a good dose of the smell from the harsher chemicals.  Plus the manufacturer of this particular shower stall says to use a mild soap when cleaning.

Dawn disposable dish washing cloths

Dawn disposable dish washing cloths

They have a “Scrubby” side that is not harmful on my shower stall.

Scrubby side

Scrubby side

Scrubbers

Scrubbers

First I wet down the entire shower stall area with the hand sprayer I have.  If you don’t have a hand sprayer you can fill a cup or small bucket with water then pour it down your stall walls.

Wet the walls down

Wet the walls down

Using the scrubby side of the Dawn thing I get to work scrubbing the entire shower from top to bottom.

Scrub the walls

Scrub the walls

Using the dish washing soap I don’t have to rinse immediately behind the washing as I have had to do with other scouring cleansers before it dries on and is harder to remove.  I can just leave the sudsy tracks and not worry about it.

The soap scum covered doors get a good scrubbing with this Dawn thing.  The scrubby part on the back does a great job in getting the scum off.  Plus, while it sets on the glass before rinsing more of the scum gets dissolved by the dish soap and hard water stains are removed pretty easily.

Soap scum doors

Soap scum doors

The floor is a different problem.  Built up residue of shampoo, conditioner, body wash, and shave gel leave a nasty dried on mess that needs to be treated with the “Big Guns”.

Shower floor

Shower floor

I have to use the Clorox Cling and a scrub brush to get in the pebbled surface of the floor.  The clorox smell gets pretty strong with only just a small amount on the floor but I need it to get at the grime.

Cleaning the shower floor

Cleaning the shower floor

The pebbled surface gets so gross.

Gross

Gross

The Clorox and the scrub brush soon take care of the pebbled surface.

Scrub brush and Clorox Cling

Scrub brush and Clorox Cling

When done with the cleaning then rinse the soap away with no fear of seeing the dried up dust residue from a cleanser with grit.  This Dawn thing works wonders in the shower stall.

Rinse

Rinse

Then stand back, heave a satisfied sigh, and place a huge smile on your face as you look at the clean shower floor 🙂

Clean shower floor

Clean shower floor

Wipe the outside doors down with a glass cleaner and call this job FINISHED!

Wash the glass doors

Wash the glass doors

This shower stall, alone, took a full 30 minutes to do.  Start to finish.  Were I doing this as I used to do then it would be on to the sink, the bathtub, the toilet, then the floor.  I would have spent over two hours in the bathroom on a Saturday morning.  I’d have sweat pouring off my face, my hair would be stuck to my head from all the sweating.  I’d be looking at the next room and dread having to continue working.

Am I finished in the bathroom?  No.  Am I happy with my progress?  Yes.  The light is much brighter in this room now that the dust is off the big surfaces and the mirrors.  The clutter is gone and I am thrilled with the progress I’ve made.

The floor still needs to be swept and scrubbed and the toilet is the last thing that needs to have a good cleaning.  I think I will break the rules and do that in the morning 🙂

Next week…..The Master Bedroom.  Groan.  I have a ginormous mess in there.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

3 responses to “Day 3 in the bathroom

  • Nancy

    WOOHOO for a job well done! Did you hear me cheering? Are you out on your date now? 😉
    I learned a few things here and I thank you! I did not know there was such a thing as the Dawn disposable dish washing cloth. I think that would do a great job on my soaker tub and tubsurround. We have soft water so we don’t have the deposit problem. I can’t use some smelly products but Dawn hasn’t been a problem for me.
    I certainly appreciate your previous response about “letting go of perfection and being happy with the little bits daily”. That’s the way I live my life…especially this past year while my migraines have ruled! Some days those “little bits” that are accomplished provide a great sense of accomplishment! 😀

  • gardenpinks

    Oh that hard water is awful isn’t it? I can empathise as we have hard water too and a scale soon builds up and vinegar is just brilliant for it. I fill a spray bottle with vinegar and spray around taps (faucets) wth pure vinegar as that is where the scale colects and just leave it to soak for a few minutes and it comes up sparkly and bright again. Our shower is over the bath and a build up of shampoo and shower gel does build up making it very slippery. The one thing od is not very good at doing is rinsing the handbasin after he shaves .. he uses shaving soap and hot water and this leaves a ring around the basin. Does infuriate me at times! Hey ho though we all have our bad habits 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    • Message In A Fold

      Hard water is the pits 😦 Vinegar is the best cleaning agent I’ve ever found and it has so many uses. It is good on soap scum too. Now that the shower is sparkly clean, I will keep it that way with a spray bottle of slightly diluted vinegar and spritz the walls and doors with it after I shower. No harsh chemical sprays from the grocery store. The manufacturers try to disguise the chemicals with floral scents. The chemicals win 😦

      Joe uses the old fashioned ring of soap in a bowl with a shaving brush when he shaves his head and face. I know what you are talking about with the ring of soap and grime left. Our men. But their good qualities far out weigh their bad 🙂

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

