Meeting Shelly in Danville, Illinois

Finally, the day has arrived that I meet Shelly in person.

20111104-214812.jpg

Shelly and her husband, Brian, met us across the street from our hotel at Bob’s Big Boy for dinner. We had a wonderful few hours of conversation and I think we stayed till closing 🙂

I have been truly blessed by my Internet friends. Jann Gray near Nashville, Tennessee; Maureen Mathis in San Marcos, Texas; and now Shelly in Danville, Illinois Getting to actually meet them in person is the best.

Shelly began watching and commenting on my early videos way, way back when I first started in 2006 or 2007. Our friendship has grown from being casual and centered on common interests to what it is today. Family oriented as if we have always known each other.

She is the cutest little thing with a tinkling laugh and good natured humor. This girl has a lot of grit which I admire her for and a core of steel wrapped in a cloak of love. She and Brian have strong values and loving hearts. Sitting with them at the table and watching them was a pleasure. Listening to their stories of their early life together was a real treat. They have been together for 30 years. Can you believe it? They are some awesome people.

Shelly and Brian have opened their hearts and their home to foster children through the years. They have two grown sons, I can’t believe Shelly is old enough to have sons that are 29 and 24.

Their younger children are heart chosen and adopted after starting their life in Shelly and Brian’s home as foster children. 14 year old Will, 11 year old Jasmine, and 10 year old Ariel. All tiny infants and toddlers when they arrived to steal Shelly and Brian’s hearts. They also help care for grandchildren Sierra aged four (?) and Levi aged 2 (?). I hope I have the ages right.

Thank you Shelly and Brian for a wonderful evening. Brian, I am sorry I didn’t get a photo of you. I will have to remedy that next time 🙂

Two more Internet friends to go. Lynn in the UK and Shar in New Zealand. I just wish the two of you were nearer an interstate instead of across deep water 🙂

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “Meeting Shelly in Danville, Illinois

  • Maureen Mathis

    She’s so cute! I’m glad you finally were able to meet up in person! And YOUR hair looks great! It’s so youthful! Can’t wait to see it myself – are we T-8 until your winter hibernation? Yay!

    • Message In A Fold

      Isn’t she so cute :-). Thank you, Maureen, for the compliment on my hair 🙂

      We hope to be home early next week. Monday or Tuesday. Traveling is not quite finished just yet. Once home we still have to go to Denver, Colorado to deliver our old pickup to our daughter then get finally home.

      I’m chafing at the bit and feeling a bit crunched 😦 by time and circumstances.

      Love you – Leslie

  • aspot2stamp

    Awww Leslie you are soooo sweet 🙂 I am so happy we got to meet up and got to spend some time together. It was great to meet Joe too. I was happy to see Brian and him chatting too. Your truck set up is just amazing. We were very impressed 🙂 I will continue to pray for safe travels and hope it goes by quickly. We worked on the switching of summer and winter clothes but didnt get much done on anything else. Then we took the kids out to hike a bit and back home so Brian can get some work done. I am still working on this laptop getting stuff backed up. I will sure miss this thing but I do want it to work right. . MY blog is acting wonky so I will lwr you go and get some rest. Taks care Love and Hugs, Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      Joe and I really enjoyed our time with you and Brian. You two look good together :-). Such a cute couple.

      It is so good to put a face to a voice or words in a blog. Makes it all real 🙂

      Thank you for your compliment on Joe’s trailer and my boom. I’m so proud of what Joe has created :-). It is impressive even still to me 🙂

      I’m glad to hear you are getting your computer backed up. It will be very sad when you take it in to be fixed and are not on your blog for a few weeks. I will be waiting for your return 😦

      Good time now to get the kids outdoors for the seasons last few hiking and exploring days before winter sets in and the snows keep you all house bound.

      We will have to keep in touch through texts and phone calls when you are computer-less. Send me pictures of the cards and things you create during the time your computer is in for repairs and I will post them on my blog for you. Cameras on phones are not the best for quality shots but we will all know you are still well and crafting 🙂

      Love you – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    I am soooo envious of you Leslie being able to meet up with Shelly and Brian and then you can meet up with Maureen too! Shelly looks adorable, would love to have seen a photo of Brian:)
    30 years together is marvellous these days; Rod and I have been married 38 years so Shelly and Brian are catching us up 🙂

    I wish we could be closer and have meet ups, I’d enjoy that very much, I bet we wouldn’t stop talking!

    So very happy that you had chance to meet up with Bian and Shelly, I thought with the truck problems you had that the meeting might have to be cancelled. Happy but still envious:)

    That is a shame that Shelly will be without her computer for a while. Hadn’t realised she had a problem with it.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      One day I will be knocking on your door. Probably a bit incoherent and rubbery from being dosed with Dramamine during the sea voyage.

      If you and I could have meet ups, Girlfriend, everyone would be rolling their eyes at us. Jabbering away and hauling out all your crafty stuff 🙂

      You know it would have to be 10 or more days at a time. Enough time for the Dramamine to wear off then the day before leaving to load up again with it for the return voyage.

      My head was plumb up where the sun doesn’t shine. I forgot totally about Brian :-(. So did Joe. I can blame him all for it, can’t I? 🙂

      Poor Shelly. Her computer doesn’t recognize her battery sometimes and doesn’t charge when plugged in. Of course they had to scare her and tell her it will take 8 weeks to fix it :-(. Boo, bad repair people. Joe had a similar problem and it took about a week.

      I still can’t believe Shelly and Brian have been together for 30 years. She looks to be only 30 herself 🙂 not well over 40.

      Someone really needs to get cracking on a teleportation device 🙂

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

