Chili in the making

20111020-104505.jpg

While I sit at my work table and tap away at the keys doing my paperwork dinner is being made.  I had to giggle at the pot lids, where they were put out of the way.  The lid for the huge soup pot is resting atop a can of pineapple I keep forgetting to put in the pantry.  The lid to the skillet Joe is working so diligently in is atop the soup pot.

20111020-104532.jpg

In our “one butt” kitchen a masterpiece of chili is being created.  Joe has used extra lean ground beef for his creation today.  Watching over it to make sure it doesn’t burn or stick while all of his, not so secret, ingredients are blending and melding into a delightful aroma.

The squares in the pattern on the floor are 12 x 12.  As you can see there is about 20 inches between his back side and our new refrigerator.  I can pass through, should I need to, but opening a door would only delay Joe’s masterpiece.

20111020-174857.jpg

From my childhood and school lunches, we were given chili and cinnamon rolls once a year in the winter months.  Maybe it was a Colorado thing in the early 1960’s.  I don’t know if anyone else was presented a sweet, gooey, cinnamon roll with a hot bowl of chili on a cold winter day in other parts of the country or world.

Joe used to add a lot of brown sugar and chili powder to his chili to make it not only  heat hot, but spicy hot as well, with an over riding sweetness that was difficult for me to like in our first years together.  He has worked his treasured recipe over through the years and we have reached a compromise.  He adds a heaping tablespoon of unsweetened baking chocolate powder (his idea), a little bit of brown sugar, an unknown amount of Black Strap Molasses, and his shaking of the Chili Powder container over the meat as it is cooking and then another good shaking over the soup pot after it has been filled with beans – from several cans.  I supply the cinnamon rolls to adjust the sweetness factor should he want to have the taste of his original recipe.  Six hours this divine mixture will simmer away before it is truly ready to be tasted and enjoyed.

I just like the cinnamon roll with the chili.  No crackers, no shredded cheese, no raw onions.  Just the chili and the roll are all I need to thoroughly enjoy Joe’s Chili.  And an added bonus……he is doing the cooking 🙂

Can you believe it?  The weekend is knocking at our door.  Soon we will be out the door again to far flung places for another couple weeks at the least.  The items I ordered from Blue Moon Scrapbooking arrived today.  I went through the boxes, not remembering all that I had ordered.  This was almost like Christmas.  Opening to find surprise items hidden within 🙂  Yes, I’ve done gone and lost my marbles 🙂

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “Chili in the making

  • Pati Mishler

    Mmmmmm, chili slowly cooking, cinnamon rolls, cold day, what more could you ask? Oh yes, and order for sis, a scrapbooking order, NO sis, you have not lost your marbles, enjoy. And also, be careful when you go out again. Oh, before i forget, congrats on your new refrigerator, tell Joe we said hi.

    • Message In A Fold

      It is good to be reassured I have not lost my marbles 🙂 Thank you Sis.

      Thanks, we are liking the new refrigerator. Haven’t quite figured out the best way to arrange the condiments and vegetables yet but we are working on it 🙂

      Joe says “Hi, Sis and Bro” 🙂 We will be careful when we leave, thanks for your concern.

      Love you Sis

  • Pati Mishler

    I can just imagine that if you are like me, you will put your stuff in one place in the fridge, then the next time, you may possibly put them in another place. Till you find, just the right spot. Take care, and God bless.

    • Message In A Fold

      Yes, Sis….I seem to be just like you 🙂 Trying to find the right spot to put things that are easy to reach. Seems most stuff goes to the way back and is hidden by items that really should be way back instead 🙂 We’ll get it figured out.

  • gardenpinks

    Still having fun playing with your new acquisition I see 🙂 Have to say that cinnamon rolls and chili is a new one on me, we tend to serve chili with either rice or jacket potatoes but then I only like chili if it is mildly spicy hot and doesn’t have a bean in it LOL Takes too long to pick all the beans out!
    Oh I love getting parcels even if I do know what is inside, it is still a pleasure. That is quite an order you have of those post-it note holders but you will soon whip them out. Just use the conveyor belt method for the base parts …cut all the bases at the same time, all the papers too. Saves so much time than working on one at a time.

    You make me laugh with your ‘cold’ temperatures at 60 or 70F, wish it was that here. Although the sun has been shining today and it was warm in the sun – around 55F – but the wind was very chilly at times. See temperatures are all relative! It has been dropping down to around 2C at night and that is,roughly,35F.

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend and safe journeys when you go off again

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      How funny, your cold and my cold 🙂 And it hasn’t EVEN got “cold” yet for either of us. For me, cold is gauged by my nose. If it is cold enough to make my nose run and give me the sniffles then it is cold 🙂 Yowzers, already dropping to near freezing at night where you live, it won’t be long before winter will truly be here. Brrrr, brrrr, brrrr, brrr 🙂

      Good grief, it doesn’t take much to entertain Joe and I. Being able to have a glass of cold juice is a novelty here. It has been so long since we have been able to have a cold glass of milk (for Joe) or a glass of juice for myself, we both were saying how we missed that little bit of life 🙂

      I see your Son-In-Law will be home from Dubai today 🙂 There is going to be much celebrating and excitement, a few tears of joy, and lots of hugs and kisses. You will be able to go back home with a lighter heart knowing your family is back together safely once again 🙂

      You are correct in your assessment of an assembly line style to get those note holders created. My guillotine trimmer is going to be getting a workout slicing through heavy cardboard to get the process started. I have cleared a space atop my freezer to be the “press” after I get the cardboard pieces covered then stashed under an old glass trivet like thing and topped off with my cast iron dutch oven.

      You made me laugh at your dislike of chili beans 🙂 You beans….me rice 🙂 Do you get “Fritos” where you live? Fritos are made from ground corn – like cornmeal – then shaped into 1/2 inch by 1-1/2 inch skinny ribbons and then fried like potato chips (crisps). I love a good bowl of “Chili Fritos”. Put a handful of the Fritos in the bottom of a bowl, ladle on some chili of your choice, sprinkle a bit of grated cheese on top and stir the mess around really good. The first few bites the Fritos are crunchy then they get a little soggy as they absorb the liquid from the chili. Still one of my favorite ways to enjoy chili. Better than crackers crunched up in the bowl of chili.

      I’m excited for you having your Son-In-Law come home today 🙂 I don’t even know them but I’m excited for you 🙂

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

