We have a refrigerator

20111019-064121.jpg

Woo Hoo!!  No more tossing out frozen heads of lettuce from the lower section and tossing out curdled milk from the upper section.  No more messing with a fan to circulate the air and try to keep food stuffs good for a small amount of time.

20111019-064141.jpg

We had a GE Side by Side when we moved in.  The water and ice in the door thing went first.  After that it seemed the refrigerator slowly died on us.  This one is a Whirlpool French Door style.  Aren’t we getting fancy 🙂

20111019-064206.jpg

There are more drawers in this refrigerator than in our old one.

20111019-064222.jpg

The delivery guys had to bring it in in pieces to install it.  This appliance didn’t fit through the front door all in one and had to be partially disassembled outside first.

20111019-064302.jpg

The freezer section is on the bottom.  A pull out big drawer for that portion.  In our “one butt” kitchen this will be interesting 🙂

20111019-064324.jpg

One of the doors was set against a chair to await being installed.

20111019-064342.jpg

The freezer door was propped against another chair.

20111019-064402.jpg

The other door was laid on the living room floor.

20111019-064658.jpg

Once it was all put together, Joe and I stood in front of it with the door open just looking inside the thing.  Look, in our house…..it doesn’t take much to entertain an idiot 🙂

20111019-064721.jpg

More bins, flaps, and shelves on one door.

20111019-064737.jpg

And large bins to hold gallon containers and other items in the other door.

20111019-064802.jpg

There is an ice maker in the freezer section.  It has been so long since I have heard ice being made the sound gave me a start.  First the water came on and I feared there would be a flood in the corner, but it shut off and I calmed down.  The clunk of the ice falling into the plastic bucket was another noise that had me jumping.

On our way home Sunday we talked about where to go for the appliance.  Joe had been assigned the task of finding us a replacement.  He is so fed up with GE and their service policies he was emphatic about this one NOT being a GE.  Since about June he had been doing some serious research into this matter and had decided on the French Door style with the freezer in the bottom.  Next was to find some place that we felt we could trust.

Monday we went to Anthony’s TV & Appliance in Midwest City, Oklahoma.  We bought a washing machine in 2002 and a clothes dryer in 2004 from them and have had no complaints about the appliances or the service provided.  So they got our business for the refrigerator as well.

Monday was errand day.  A visit with our attorney and accountant, then purchase the refrigerator.  We had to make a stop by our mechanic – G&S Automotive in Norman to have him give a thorough check on our ancient – 1986 Ford – pickup.  One of our daughters is in desperate need of a vehicle in Denver and we want to make sure it is safe for her and our grandson.  Gracie looks a bit rough around the edges but she is what got us where we are today.  Shame to let such a stout hearted girl just sit idle for years and years.  She needs to get back out and live once again 🙂

We made a couple stops at a book store to get reading material for Joe and I had to stop at Michaels to get a few things for my upcoming hiatus from the Drive-Away business.  I had placed an order for Graphic 45 papers from Blue Moon Scrapbooking last week and it will be delivered this week.

I’m having a terrible time finding Distress Stains in town and have had to go to Hobby Lobby to get a few.  Michaels had the Tim Holtz stamp sets I was looking for so I did get them.

Yesterday I spent the day doing my paperwork and putting a big dent in it.  Today I will get as much done as I can with the documents I have.  I’ll have to call our dispatch offices and have them fax over the missing Settlement Sheets.  I don’t know if I’ve shared this before.  We have a new postal guy, a young man who follows the rules.  Our postal lady is fantastic and puts our mail in a larger box for us to get when we get home.  The guy, I think, sends the bundles of mail back when we don’t get it picked up right away.  So that is why I’m missing some things from the mail.  Grrrr  Oh well, just a slight bump in the road.

Having had the refrigerator delivered and installed last night we will be going out today to do some grocery shopping.  After I do a bit more paperwork and get it out of the way.  Another couple weeks of being on the road before I’m home for the winter.  Thank you Maureen for your very insightful idea to do it when I can instead of all at one time.  Now I will have more time to play around in my craft room this winter 🙂

Okay, time to get back at the paperwork and see how far I can get today with it.  Everyone have a great day.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

8 responses to “We have a refrigerator

  • Maureen Mathis

    i’m so excited for you two about the refrigerator! I guess that’s your Christmas present to each other, and what a great one! Isn’t it embarrassing how exciting it is? I would stare at it, too. Poor Hugh, he’ll probably starve now! You’ll have to feed him for a while, so you can wean him off of your food. When you leave the next time, you’ll have to make him something special and feed him because you WANT to, not because you HAVE to! doing cartwheels here for you!

    And you’re so good about doing paperwork, too! You will have such a huge weight lifted off your shoulders, and won’t have any “punishing yourself with the paperwork” to do when you begin your hiatus – just a few months of paperwork, I guess – what EVER will you do with yourself?!!!

    Love you! i’m off ot help with hearing screenings at a local junior high today and tomorrow. I got the certification to do vision and hearing screenings earlier this year, and the junior high nurse was really surprised that I was willing to help her, even though I don’t have a student in that school anymore. Why are people so surprised when others want to help?! It really is kind of sad, I guess. Oh well. Have a wonderful rest of the week!

    Since you like playing with distress inks, you should take the Tags of Christmas Past class at Michaels. You’ll do several tags a la Tim Holtz style! I hope someone signs up for mine, but i’m still working on getting my samples finished!

    • Message In A Fold

      Well, well, well aren’t you getting involved in some fun stuff 🙂 Vision and hearing screenings. That sounds like it would be very interesting to be a part of. Where, in a high school, would the hearing screenings be done where it is quiet?

      The school nurse would probably be surprised if any parent showed up to help, kids in the school or not. The sad part about our society is that everyone is too busy to take the time to be at the kids schools. For even one hour to show support and let their child know they care about them. The strangest thing about being a parent and showing up at your kids school is the mixed messages you (I) get (got). Carissa was really happy to see me at her school when she was in grade school, as she went to middle school she was a bit embarrassed to see me but her friends thought it was cool and Carissa grudgingly went along with it.

      Joe said last night, as we snuggled into bed to get warm, “Merry Christmas” and I thought he’d already fallen asleep and was talking in his dreams. He told me the refrigerator was it for us and I feel like it is an excellent present 🙂 Thank you for being as thrilled as we are at having a new refrigerator 🙂

      I’ll have to check with the Michaels close to me. The Tags of Christmas Past sounds like an awesome class to take. I just hope they have it in November when I’m home and not in the next couple of weeks. Your people are probably just waiting to see that you have an upcoming class and will be lining the door waiting for it to begin 🙂

      Love you – Leslie

  • sharlene peretini

    yaaaaaay!!!! bring on the leftovers. bring on freezing meals for the week or month leaves more time for scrapping woohooo lol
    take care you guys

    • Message In A Fold

      Amen, Sister 🙂 Just got back from the grocery store and put everything up. Joe is going to be making his chili and stew, now that the chill winds are blowing here right now. I suppose next week the temps will be back up in the 80’s, so we’ll enjoy the high 60’s and low 70’s for now. The BONUS is that he is doing the cooking 🙂 I can finish my paperwork and play around for a day before I have to leave again 🙂

      Love you – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    Oh wonderful news on the refrigerator front – high fives 🙂 I’d be opening and closing those doors for ages and it wil be ages before you have everything placed exactly where you want. This excitement will pass LOL Poor Hugh won’t have be having bags and bags of food though now but neither will you be wasting money any more either. Well done on that score.

    Oh Leslie I am so proud of you getting on top of that paperwork…I bet you feel good about it too knowing you won’t have a mountain of paper to claw through when you finally settle back at home. Congrats all round 🙂

    Woohoo new craft goodies waiting for you to play with, sounds positively bloody marvellous! LOL

    I stayed with Jill for a couple of days – babysitting duties – and we went to an arty type shop, I had me a bargain or two with some nice sized canvasses going very cheaply. I very nearly dropped from exhaustion before we started shopping though….the town of Stratford-upon-Avon isn’t too far from where Jill and Darren live and it is far easier to walk there than drive and hunt for a parking space then pay for that parking space. However Jill doesn’t walk slowly she strides out on her long legs – Dylan was in the pushchair – and I was almost having to trot to keep up and at one point I did have to ask her to slow down. As she chats she speeds up and my little fat legs couldn’t cope! We did a 20 minute stroll in less than 10 minutes!!!!!
    When she says to Liam we’re going to the shops he asks “Are we driving or running?” LOL
    I was very glad when Dylan decided he wanted to get out of the pushchair on our homeward journey but then he did trot most of the way back and we had to hurry to keep up with him!! He did stop to jump in the puddles though 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxxx

    • Message In A Fold

      My, oh my, I’m laughing so hard right now. I’m truly sorry for laughing while you have to trot to keep up with your daughter but the way you’ve written it is so funny. And Liam asking “Are we driving or running?” That is just precious, truthful but still precious. I’m glad you found a bargain on some new canvas pieces to play with.

      Having you in Jill’s home probably makes the long lonely nights go a bit faster for her. You have her company as well. I hope the two of you are enjoying this time together. I’m jealous 😉

      Yes, the refrigerator doors are being opened and closed frequently. The ice bucket is being checked hourly. We were told by the delivery guys to wait 24 hours and dump out all the ice that had been made. We will have fresh ice then and the water filter to the refrigerator will have had time to get cleaned out of any gunk that had built up over the past year. I can’t believe we limped along for a little over a year with that fool thing. Oh well, no longer a problem.

      Rest now from your marathon 🙂 and enjoy your grand babies and daughter.

      Love you – Leslie

  • jann

    Love the configuration on the new frig! Let us know what you think about the freezer being on the bottom…mine is one repair away from death! Am excited to see you back in your craft room…and even more excited to see what you create with your new goodies! Love ya girl.

    • Message In A Fold

      Man, when a refrigerator starts to have problems it is not fun. Waiting for the repair person to come, emptying the contents for the repair, paying the bill (yikes!), then putting everything back. Joe and I got to figuring the amount of the repair bills, food spoilage, rising electric bills from the fool thing running constantly, then having to give about three grocery bags of food away each time we left….we had the amount of money spent to have paid for one of those top of the line “Sub Zero” units.

      The jury is still out on this new unit. Joe was excited about getting this particular model because gallon milk cartons will fit in the shelf on the door. It has to go somewhere because there is very little room on the top shelf of this unit where milk has always been placed. The vegetable drawers are not as deep as had been in the old GE. It will take me a while to get it organized and useable. For now it is holding a constant cool temperature throughout the top section and the freezer section is doing its job well 🙂

      I’m excited for today 🙂 My order from Blue Moon Scrapbooking will arrive. I have a consignment to make 40 Post-It-Note Holders to be given as Christmas gifts and the papers are for that project. Joe has me for another couple weeks and that is it for this season. I’m itching to get in my room and get started.

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

