Are you a cheater?

I confess. I am a cheater.

When I read a mystery or suspense novel, meet the main character and find I like the person in the book, then meet the nemesis and fear for the main character I have to cheat.

I can’t help myself. I go to the back of the book to see who is still alive at the end.

The thought of the author killing off the main character is not something I want to find as I go along to the end.

When Joe first saw me cheat he was taken aback. He flat told me I ruined the story by doing that. There have been a couple times Joe has admitted to me that he “almost” looked in the back of the book. He has such strong character and I am weak.

I have recently begun reading Kathy Reich’s “Death du Jour” and am not far in the book so I have no idea what is in store for Temperance Brennan, the lead character.

Audiobooks are helpful to pass the time while driving mile after mile. The major downside is it is not easy to cheat with an audiobook as it is an actual book.

I’ve been listening to unabridged Michael Connelly books featuring Harry Bosch. 13 hours of listening pleasure, or suspense torture as the case may be.

Mr. Connelly has a style of writing that is very close to the chest. He doesn’t dole out hints or tidbits along the way. His Harry Bosch is a Homicide Detective. You, I, get involved in Harry’s personal life and his crotchety personality as he is assigned to a homicide. Mr. Connelly takes you through the creation of a “Murder Book” without putting you to sleep with the form numbers and minutiae of the process.

As thoughts occur to Harry, which turn into clues, you get taken along in his investigation or interviews. You find out which clues or tidbits are dead ends and which lead to the next thing. Harry often finds himself in more trouble with his department heads than with the criminals.

Right now I am listening to “The Last Coyote”. Harry is investigating a 30 year old murder that has been unsolved. The murder of his mother when he was 11 years old. I am itching to get to the back to see if he does find out who killed his mother and what kind of mayhem that causes.

Guess I’m stuck with finding out as the story unfolds 😦

We are on our way to Opelousas for the last two Walmart trucks. Joe will be driving them. I will have nothing to do except take some photos and find out if Harry does solve this case.

Enjoy your Friday – Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

4 responses to “Are you a cheater?

  • gardenpinks

    Oh yes I have been known to cheat 🙂 If I’m worried about one of the characters I have a sneak peak or if the story is absolute cr*p I sample the middle and read the end and toss the book lol
    However I rarely cheat if the book is in the first person – nothing can badly wrong or who will finish the story??
    If there are a series of books with the same main character such as Tempe Brennan then you know she will get into scrapes but nothing serious otherwise she won’t be able to appear in the next book lol BUT with books like this I end up madly reading them, getting to the end and then wishing I’d taken more time reading them – can’t win!!

    So glad you are now on your last lap of these trucks. So when are you planning to stay at home for the winter? End of October???

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Gleefully showing your comment to Joe. I’m not the only one who takes a sneak peek 🙂

      I do like you do when I come upon a book that doesn’t hold my attention in the first 15 to 20 pages. Skip around to see if it gets more interesting then end up putting it in the box of books that goes to our public library.

      Sci-fi books, I’ve read a number of them, mostly fall in the above category. A lot of the stories are just way to weird for me. “Hitch Hikers Guide To The Galaxy” is one of them. That book has found a loving home with our daughter, Tiffany. The one with the crow and graveyard tattoo on her arm.

      Love you – Leslie

  • sharlene peretini

    I too am a cheater especially if the author is unknown to me or they style of writing is a little different from stories known from a particular author If i didnt cheat although i had a sneaky suspicion and it became founded im known to throw books across the room or out the door with comments and sniggers from my family lol then the person who recommended the book to me gets an earful lol
    when do we get to see another crafting creation?
    hugs
    shar

    • Message In A Fold

      How funny :-). Does your family give you a wide berth when they see you reading? Looking over their shoulder for a flying book? You made me howl with laughter 🙂

      I’m so glad to know that I am not the only one that has to look at the back of a book, or get frustrated at paying good money to read a highly recommended book to find it is not worth reading.

      Shar, I’m hoping to be home and crafting the first of November. The long awaited time is finally getting closer 🙂

      Love you my Friend – Leslie

Leave a Reply

