Fall is definitely here

First, I have to exclaim the virtues of Camera +. It is an App for smart phones. I now use it exclusively for all the pictures I take with my iPhone. I no longer use the iPhone camera.

Today’s photo entries were taken on I-55 in Missouri and Arkansas yesterday. Some to the fields on my right and others across the highway into fields on my left.

Harvest is in full swing now and that tells me summer is over. I have a mixture of feelings about that. Trees going bare and looking like they are dead :-(, snows to come, bitter cold, and the furnace running non stop to heat our home on some days.

Fall also means my time on the road is short and I will be home crafting :-).

On I-55 going south out of Missouri and into Arkansas are fields of cotton, beans, and corn. All ready to harvest, or in the process, and some having been harvested.

Cotton fields have been defoliated. Some fields are waiting for the plant leaves to dry up and fall off.

20111003-075643.jpg

The leaves have fallen off this field exposing the pure white cotton waiting to be picked.

20111003-080337.jpg

Bales of cotton are waiting for transport to the cotton gin for processing. I’ve seen the “loaves” many times.

20111003-080842.jpg

I’ve seen round bales of cotton for the first time.

20111003-080945.jpg

Rice in Arkansas is being harvested.

20111003-081259.jpg

20111003-081319.jpg

For a Sunday, a day of rest, there was a whole lot of dust churning going on.

20111003-081909.jpg

20111003-081925.jpg

20111003-081944.jpg

For some farmers the season is just about over. They can’t breathe a big sigh of relief and hit the Lazy Boy just yet. The crops have to be delivered to granaries and gins, documented in weight, and quality, then take the check to the bank. Then the feet can go up for a little while until it is time to start over again with the over winter crops.

New week starting. New opportunities to be had. Have a great week.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “Fall is definitely here

  • gardenpinks

    Bet those farmers are working like beavers before the weather breaks and while the crops are at their peak. Our farmers had good dry weather for hay making, wheat and barley harvesting and straw baling in our area and now many are doing rain dances so they can sow seeds again for the over winter oil seed rape crops. Some fields have been ploughed but not many as it is so dry.
    I have never seen a cotton ‘loaf’ before 🙂 With the weather being so kind to the cotton farmers and the crops quite heavy I hope cotton producs come down in price…cotton clothing is quite pricey here.

    Think you and Jill have something in common at the moment..you are both crossing off dates on the calendar 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      We are in Louisiana this week and more cotton fields are being harvested. So I do hope the cotton prices go down.

      I’ve read that the prices for corn will be going up because of the most recent heat wave through our central US and the drought conditions we had experienced. Feast or famine, always like a wheel turning.

      Yes your Jill and I will be watching the calendar until the first of November. Give her my regards.

      Love you – Leslie

  • Pati Mishler

    I am enjoying reading and seeing where you both have been each day as i have time to check out your website. And you are right, winter is coming, the furnace will be going nonstop, and i am going to keep the coffee on, lol. Enjoy your travels, but be careful as you come and go sis and joe.

    • Message In A Fold

      Hello Sis :-). It is good to hear from you and know that you are well.

      Joe and I think of you and Les frequently. Most recently was at Lambert’s Cafe in Sikeston, Missouri a few days ago.

      Hope your winter is not as harsh as the summer was. That would be really bad. Intense and sustained cold would nit be fun 😦

      Take care of yourself and Les. I’m glad you keep up with my blog from time to time. We’ll get back to where we were, this time only better 🙂

      Love you Sister of mine 🙂

  • Pati Mishler

    Was looking forward to your reply, so glad to see it, summer was SOOOO hot, and hoping this coming winter wont be horribly bad. Yes, i look often to see where you are and what you are doing, mom and dad have moved to sterling ks to assisted living near cheryl, remember Les’s youngest sister we talked about? Take care, be careful on those roads, say hi to Joe for us, later gator.

    • Message In A Fold

      I hope your Mom and Dad are doing well in their new surroundings. I do remember you talking about Cheryl and we met her when we met you.

      Good to know you keep up with what is going on. Hopefully you remember going through some of these places :-). It is good to know that you and I are getting back on track 🙂

      Love you Sis 🙂

Leave a Reply

