There is only one drive able truck left

These poor FedEx trucks. 😦 They have been rode hard and put away wet. These poor trucks are falling apart on us daily. Maybe they just don’t want to go to Texas.

Three of the four are now undriveable. Joe’s truck (a Volvo) he drove made it from Poway, California to the Port of Entry in Yuma, Arizona where it quit. He limped it three miles to the hotel where we switched out his back truck (a Kenworth) for his front truck.

Leaving the hotel, yesterday morning, we got another three miles to a Lives Travel Center where we had to switch trucks again. The Kenworth transmission is in such bad shape it continuously popped out of gear on him.

At the Loves we moved my back truck (an International) over in place of the Kenworth. I am now towing the Kenworth.

Once on the highway we thought the troubles were behind us and we would make our delivery on Monday as planned. That ended quickly.

Stopping at the Loves in Gila Bend, Arizona for more water to replenish our bodies from the two bouts of switching trucks and sweating up a storm a truck driver came in to tell Joe he was leaking antifreeze. Not just leaking but puking it out on the ground.

Joe got a hose at the Loves to add water and we limped a mile and a half to the hotel in Gila Bend where we will remain until who knows when.

There is either a cooling hose way up high on the engine that has burst or the water pump has failed. Now the International is down for the count. Along with the Volvo and Kenworth. Right now the Volvo I’m driving is the only one still working. Fingers crossed anyway.

We are staying at the Space Port Lodge in Gila Bend. Quite an interesting hotel here. The original owner was a space aficionado having his hotel look like a space ship ready for take off. After his death the new owners changed the facade just a bit while retaining the space travel theme.

Murals are painted throughout the hotel lobby and restaurant depicting our astronauts in space. The muralist, we were told, lives in Tucson now but had a long career in the movie industry painting the backgrounds and scenery.

Here is some of his work.

20110918-101309.jpg

20110918-101402.jpg

20110918-101441.jpg

The hotel is unique in many ways. If you will be traveling this part of Arizona stop in the restaurant attached to the hotel if you won’t be staying over night.

20110918-102038.jpg

20110918-102119.jpg

Today I am going to be reading Tony Robbins “Awaken the Giant Within” while I’ve got some down time. Self improvement, for me, is always good. As I relax and relieve the past few days stress on this wonderful Sunday I pass on wishes to you all for a glorious day where you live.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “There is only one drive able truck left

  • aspot2stamp

    Very cool hotel my kids would love it 🙂 Still feeling quite yucky. Brian took all thekids and went to church andI’m home with peace and quiet in bed. Sorry to hear about all your craziness lately. I’ve posted on several of your posts to get an error saying I couldnt finish. I wonder if it has to do with the 20+ updates we’ve had lately well Brian and I anyway. lastnight my laptop locked up trying to update. Who knows?? I did get a new battery ordered for this thing and it was covered with out extended geek squad warranty. Woo Hoo.
    Love you Girlfriend,
    Hugs,
    sShelly

    • Message In A Fold

      Woo Hoo on the few hours of peace and quiet. Something you totally deserve to have. I hope you get to feeling better quickly. Nothing as bad as a headache that won’t go away. Wait, I take that back….a nagging tooth ache is just as bad as a major headache. Enjoy your quiet time and I hope your headache vanishes.

      I have no idea what is going on with my blog program. I was beginning to think I’ve finally whined you all to death 🙂 about my job. You are right, this is a really cool hotel. There is a swimming pool your kids would love to play around in and a hot tub for you and Brian to soak away any aches and pains 🙂

      Poor Levi with his infected bug bite. You must be beside yourself with all this MRSA stuff that has infiltrated your home 😦 No wonder you have a headache my poor friend. All the worry over your little ones and working overtime to keep them safe and healthy.

      I watched the video you mentioned in your most recent blog post. Great information on heart attacks in women and what the symptoms are. I would have never known these were the symptoms. Good job passing that information along to us.

      Get well my friend.
      Love you – Leslie

  • Pati Mishler

    Very cool pics sis, am enjoying following all the places you go and things you do, stay safe.

  • Lynn Claridge

    I was keeping my fingers crossed that you and Joe would be trouble free as far as the trucks went but seems that is too much to hope for. Hope you don’t have too much more stress and you can soon get rid of these trucks.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

Leave a Reply

