Switching out trucks and moving the 5th wheel

I gripe. I complain. I moan. I groan. When it is all said and done this job, although frustrating at times, affords me to see the sights and wonders of these United States and allows me to take the winter months off. Also it supports my growing addiction to paper crafts and all forms of blogging and social networking.

I have to brag on my Joe. Way back in late 1999 and early 2000 as he was designing his trailer he thought of all kinds of contingencies. One of them being what to do when the truck he is driving shoots craps.

His design of the trailer bending in the middle is what allows him to change the trucks out anywhere there is stable ground. He has had to do this at the side of the highway a few times, on the shoulder.

20110917-115629.jpg

20110917-115658.jpg

20110917-115725.jpg

This morning we have had the hotel parking lot to work in. The Kenworth was towed yesterday while he drove the Volvo.

20110917-115919.jpg

We have switched the trucks around now. The Volvo will be towed and the Kenworth driven.

A road service business guy has been called to come move the 5th wheel of the Volvo forward. Most of the times we move trucks with an air slide for the 5th wheel but these are stationary and bolted on.

20110917-120315.jpg

20110917-120348.jpg

Class A Truck Service has been called out to the hotel to get this job done.

The 5th wheel has huge bolts on both sides to hold it in place. An air impact wrench is what is necessary to do this job and we don’t carry that with us.

This is the 5th wheel and the bolts to be removed.

20110917-120713.jpg

20110917-120759.jpg

Once all the bolts are removed it is just a matter of getting the 5th wheel slid forward to the proper position then have the bolts put back on and tightened up.

20110917-121024.jpg

20110917-121106.jpg

With that done Joe and I got his trucks hooked back up to the trailer and made ready for us to get back on the road. That is after a shower to wash the sweat, dirt, and grease off.

I am grateful for my job and the opportunities it affords me. Yes, you can hear my whining “I love my job, I love my job, I love my job”.

You guys enjoy your Saturday.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

3 responses to “Switching out trucks and moving the 5th wheel

  • Lynn Claridge

    No matter the job Leslie they all have their frustrating moments and pain in the butt times and we really don’t mind you ranting, raging, venting or just plain ole whining 🙂 With all that you and Joe have to contend with in all manner of weather conditions I reckon you are entitled to whine now and again. Trouble is unless you can win the lottery there is nothing to do but grit your teeth and get on with it 🙂

    I remember well a job I had for over a year that I hated..this was before we started our own business…to get to the job I had a 3 mile walk to look forward to, in all weather for five and a half days per week – 3 miles there and 3 miles back and the walk home in darkness during the winter. The worst time was during rain, not only did the rain soak me but so did some of those sh*t drivers who thought it was funny to drive through the puddles. I was so glad when I could hand in my notice on that one 🙂 Mind you if we don’t sell this house by next summer I shall be doing that same walk again to earn some extra money…money is so tight just now and no jobs in the locale and no public transport either! C’est la vie 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you for allowing me to whine.

      Wowzers! A 3 mile walk both ways for six total?!! I will get busy with my whoo doo and send vibes out around your way to get your house sold. Just to save you the walk :-).

      Smart a$$es that think it funny to drench a body in mud. I would lay down a $10 bill and say each one of them would have a swearing, stomping, and arm gesture frenzy were the shoe on the other foot.

      My poor friend, not a fun prospect to look forward to. A dreaded job plus the walk.

      Commencing the whoo doo now.

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

