Good New or Bad News?

He//!  I’ll give  you the bad news first.  Get it out of the way.

Our scale

Our scale

Pretty object.  All clean lines and lovely glass.  It holds a dirty secret….and more than just my bad house keeping.

The four round disks on the underside of the scale are the “Pressure Plates”.  Standing on the glass with feet planted along the metal rods is how this thing works.  Move your feet anywhere along the rods gives a different reading each time we step on the scale.  We have found the “sweet” spot that gives a more accurate reading when we get in the same spot.  Sort of like taking the best two out of three to make our choice of the days weight.

Underside of the scale

Underside of the scale

These “Pressure Plates” are critical in the functioning of this scale.  Each plate has a rubber attached to keep it from scratching the floor surface.

Closer view of the pressure plate

Closer view of the pressure plate

You can see the rubber has slipped just a bit on this plate.  This is from sliding the scale away from the wall to use it.  In so doing we have dislodged the protective rubber.  The one that has caused all this befuddlement on our weight loss was on the bottom left pressure plate.

Pressure plate

Pressure plate

As you can see by the dirty glue spot, the rubber had been way off the Pressure Plate.  Thus all the errant weight loss amounts.  I knew it had to have been the scale that was malfunctioning.

The reason I knew that is after a weight loss of over 28 pounds for myself my clothes would be looser, which they are only a tiny bit.  Not as much as would be had the weight loss been true.

So back to reality.  This morning we weighed in.  Joe’s initial reading was 289 pounds and mine was 202 pounds.  We had a lot of errands to run yesterday and didn’t get home until nearly 6 p.m. and I left dinner decision to him.  We ordered out.

Medium pizza and salads

Medium pizza and salads

Normally we go for the large pizza with extra cheese, plus a side of cheesy breadsticks.  This time we ordered a medium pizza, no extra cheese, and salads.  Joe was worried this would cause the scale to go reeling back up several pounds.

I still had my doubts about the scale working correctly.  Joe picked it up and had a good look at it.  He found what was wrong.  Why it was giving the inaccurate readings it has been doing.  That one rubber foot worked off the pressure plate is the cause of it all.  Check your scales and make sure they are in good working order before you get yourself discouraged and abandon this Glycemic Index thing.

Before going on this way of eating I had measured my hips, a whopping 54 inches, and my waist, a huge 47 inches.  Today I wrapped the measuring tape around my hips and was delighted to see 52 inches.  Progress is indeed being made.  My waist was down to 44-1/2 inches.  A loss of 2 inches from my hips and 2-1/2 inches from my waist.  I just knew there was something wrong with the scale 😦  Boo hoo and crapazoid.

The Good News –

Our REAL weights today are still heartening.  Joe began this a little over a week ago at 336 pounds.  Today his REAL weight is 325.  He has lost only 11 pounds during this week and this is very, very good.  So much better than 38 pounds in one week.  My weight beginning this Glycemic Index was 236 pounds and today my REAL weight is 230.  Again a real loss of 6 pounds as opposed to 28 is so  much better for the both of us.

For me, a loss of 6 pounds and 2-1/2 inches of belly fat is something to be celebrated.  Not to mention the 2 inches from my hips.  These results are with NO EXERCISE at all.  None, nada, zip.  The only exercise I do is get up from my computer chair or living room chair to march to the bathroom then back.

Poor Joe is so disheartened to see  his weight back up in the 300 pound range BUT I’m able to wrap my arms around his belly and my fingers touch.  There used to be a gap of several inches when I would sneak up behind him and wrap my arms around him.  PLUS he is able to bend over from a standing position and not require a sturdy object to help get him back upright.  He can even bend far enough to touch the floor and stand back erect immediately unaided.

For me, these are the REAL results of this Glycemic Index thing.  These foods and the smaller portion sizes are tearing up the belly fat on the both of us.

If you are undertaking this way of eating and are not having the crazy weight loss results I’ve been posting daily I sincerely apologize to you.  Damn scale.  It bums me out too.

I’m totally at fault here and I own this.

Hanging my head – Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “Good New or Bad News?

  • gardenpinks

    Actually Leslie I am relieved that your scales were wrong because I thought that weight loss was too sudden but hey you have both done extremely well and to have lost those inches too!! That is marvellous 🙂

    I am swearing at the moment – my scales aren’t showing much in the weight loss department BUT my trousers keep falling down and I keep standing on the hems so I know I must have lost some off my huge – no make that ginormous – backside 🙂 Idiot that I am I didn’t get the tape measure out so don’t know what inches I have lost. Our scales are very old so I don’t even know if they are any where near accurate but they give me some sort of indication. I can now get into a pair of trousers the next size down – a little tight still but I can get them done up! Many thanks Girlfriend for your inspiration 🙂

    Also many, many thanks for your lovely comments on our blog about the cottage. I have replied to your last comment and will over what Rod asked me to tell you – that it was/is love for each other that made it all possible 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Yippee Skippy for trousers falling down!!!!! 😮 That is just way cool. Who needs a scale when the clothes are falling off, hahahahaha. And in ONE WEEK to boot!!! Or maybe just a bit more but still – totally awesome news.

      Sounds like Jill has come up with something that both you and Rod can live and work with. I bet she is thrilled you guys are doing this. I’m going to put a link to your new blog in my post today. Reading about your house….the before and after of it all……is mind boggling when I think about all the work you guys have done to create such a beautiful home and grounds. Your house even looks happy and grateful of your care 🙂 No longer sad, forlorn, and lost. It is bursting with life inside and out. Yes, I know I’m barking mad.

      Have fun at Kimmy’s birthday bash 🙂 this weekend.

      Love you Girlfriend – Leslie

  • Shelly

    Don’t beat yourself up a slower weight loss is a more realistic if you lose slower it is more likely to stay off. The inches is the real tell-tale sign that things are indeed working. High Fives to both you and Joe 🙂 I am happy for the both of you. I have had the yo-yo weight loss since my hysterectomy 11 years ago. Last summer I lost 25 pounds and kept it off til this summer the high temperatures has kept us indoors in front of the t.v. most of the summer I need to get back to walking in the evenings, Not to mention that I think the meds for the headache prevenitive has had a hand in it. I need to see what the Doctor has to say about it next week. I think that we tend to measure our progress in pounds and we should really measure by how our clothes are fitting then we can really see our successes. I hope you are faring well with your paperwork and able to spend some time enjpying your crafting or just being with Joe at home. Take care,
    Hugs,
    Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      Shelly, I feel like such a fake and fraud. Posting my daily massive weight loss. Extolling the virtues of this way of eating, which is still very excellent. Being so happy the scale is well below 230 pounds which is quite frightening to think about. Only to find that I am still in the 230 pound range 😦 boo hoo.

      Joe got quite concerned with this unreasonably fast weight loss and it had him thinking he had cancer again somewhere else in his body. Myth or truth, we have heard that sudden massive weight loss is part of having cancer and he was just about on the edge of freaking out. So I’m glad the scales were wrong just for that!!

      This summer has been brutal!!! You living where you do the heat and humidity combined have made the 100 degree days seem like living on the surface of the sun – well almost anyway. Super super hot. Don’t even cool off when you sweat it is so hot and humid. I’m with you in that respect. Stay indoors with a/c.

      Let me know what your doctor thinks about this Glycemic Index thing. If it will help with your headaches or make them worse. Don’t want THAT to happen. I see your kiddos are all back in school except for the wee ones. Are you and Brian getting some “alone” time to get reacquainted? 🙂

      Long holiday weekend coming up next week, or is it this weekend? Enjoy it with your family.

      Love you – Leslie

  • sharlene peretini

    they are still fantastic results Leslie! this is a more healthier weight loss dont you think?
    keep it going

    • Message In A Fold

      Yes Shar, the REAL weight loss is better. Slower coming off the longer it will stay off. At least the thought of going back out on the road in a week or two is not quite as disheartening as it had been. I had visions of ballooning up to 400 pounds in a couple of months because we are so bad when out on the road. Not eating as we should and eating all the totally wrong stuff.

      Hope you and your family are fairing well. I’ve got to go find your videos on YouTube later today to see what you have been up to. I’m nearing the end of my paperwork and have a bit of extra time to mess about.

Leave a Reply

