Glycemic Index Diet

I have checked several websites and have taken information from all of them.  Maybe my own worst nightmare, but something is going on.

First I went to WebMD and had a look at what they had to say about the Glycemic Index diets.  You can check out their site here – WebMD Glycemic Index Information.

The next place I went to was The South Beach Diet website since it was recommended by our family doctor several years back.  This is basically the Atkins diet but a little less restrictive.  Meaning you eat more than just protein foods.

Then I remembered the television commercials for Nutri-System and Jenny Craig.  They all tout a breakfast, morning snack, lunch, mid afternoon snack, dinner, and a little something just before bed.

I went in search of finding recipes for this new way of eating and any other guidance I could disseminate (totally take out of context) and use it as my own.

I went in search of recipes.  My mind was made up already that the foods would be rice (which I abhor), fish (yuck and double yuck), and tons and tons of chicken (gag me with a spoon).

I first found the Prevention Magazine website for Glycemic Index recipes.  There were recipes for more than just chicken here.  I lingered and read through several of the recipes.  Most of the ingredients I already  had at hand and thought I’d give it a try.

There is also another site for recipes.  Glycemic Gourmet is the website I found.  The first recipe I chose to make was for Pork Tenderloin and Veggies.  This actually is good.  I used Fingerling potatoes in place of the small new potatoes.

Next meal I tried Prevention Magazines Chicken, Sweet Potato, and Apple Skillet.  This one I didn’t have brussel sprouts so I used broccoli instead.  The thyme and cinnamon combination didn’t work for either Joe or myself.  If I do this recipe again I will leave out the thyme.

Next I clicked on the “Nutrition” link at Prevention Magazine to see what they had to say.  I got lost in the videos they have and totally forgot why I had gone to this site.  They do have some good ideas for snacks during the day.

Okay, now here is how I have taken all this good information and created my own mish mash.

Breakfast:

One cup (8 oz) of a Bran or Bran Cluster cold cereal.  Something that is not dry and tasteless, is crunchy and the word BRAN has to be in super large letters on the cereal box.  This is only MY screwed up way of doing things.  Not scientific or anything.  I’m still rebellious here and if this thing is going to work it will work in spite of my nonsense.

One banana, or two good sized strawberries sliced atop the cereal, or 1/4 cup of blueberries, or 1/4 cup of raspberries.  Whatever your berry favorite is.

Milk….for me only enough to make the cereal begin to float.  Joe likes his cereal swimming in milk.  I am not a milk fan.  Don’t care for the cotton mouth, back of the throat mucus strings that happen.  I avoid milk.

One piece of Orowheat Health Nut bread, toasted then approximately one tablespoon of Nutella spread on the bread.  Any kind of whole wheat bread will work.  By the way, Joe has put the kybosh on his toast having Nutella on it.  He sticks with plain old butter.

Mid Morning Snack:

I’ve got heartburn from the bran cereal by now and am not the least bit hungry.  On with it though.  So the snack I prepare for Joe and myself – oh by the way….Joe said “I have to eat again?” when I brought him this snack.  Can you believe it?!  He, the man who is hungry all the time asked “I have to eat again?”

1/2 of a big bunch of grapes.  Joe got the other 1/2.  Each of us had one Mini Baby Bell Lite wheel of cheese to eat with the grapes.  These settled the heartburn I was having from the bran cereal.

Lunch:

Honey cured ham slices (hey, the nutrition places say “Deli Meat” and we got it from the deli of our grocery store) quantity of three thin slices, a big leaf of iceberg lettuce, two thick slices of tomato, and two slices of dark pumpernickel bread with a schmear of mayonnaise on each  slice.

We did purchase multi grain chips.  The recommended amount was 11 chips and I stuck with the recommendation.  They don’t taste bad, a bit dry.  Good crunch to them and no salty taste.

Mid Afternoon Snack:

10 cherries and 10 Dry Roasted Almonds.  Again, I got from the man who is always hungry “Again?  Seriously?!”

Dinner:

The first night was the Pork Tenderloin and Veggies.  The recipe is for 4 people.  I cut it in half for the two of us.  Normally, I would make the full recipe and save the left overs but our cranky refrigerator is untrustworthy.

Bedtime Snack:

Yes, I included a bedtime snack.  For Joe – 2 small scoops of Fat Free Vanilla Ice Cream and for me two small scoops of Rainbow Sherbet.  The scoops are about the size of golf balls.

End of the first day.  I was pleased, except for the heart burn with the bran, and I was not over hungry by afternoon so I did not have to eat everything that was not nailed down.

The next day.

Breakfast:

8 oz of Cherrios.  I know these won’t give me heartburn.  Joe had Shredded Wheat Mini Bites.  1/4 cup of blueberries in each of the cereal bowls along with the individual amounts of milk, a piece of Health Nut bread toasted with Nutella spread – Joe had butter.

Mid Morning Snack:

A strawberry flavored Dannon yogurt for each of us.  Joe’s turned up nose at the yogurt I proffered three “Fit For Life” brand wafer cookies (miniature Pop Tarts) to help him choke down the yogurt.

Lunch:

Another deli sandwich with lettuce and tomato.  Along with the customary 11 chips.

Mid Afternoon Snack:

9 Club Crackers.  Three slices each (being the same size as the Club Cracker – approximately 1″ wide and 2-1/2″ inches long) of Cheddar, Swiss, and PepperJack cheese sliced less than 1/4″ thick.  “I can have these?!  Really, I can have these?” was Joe’s gleefull astonished response to the snack.  “Yes, and no more than what you have on this plate”.  I laid the law down!

Dinner:

The Chicken, Sweet Potato, and Apple Skillet.  I’ve already told you that this was not something high on the “I would make this again” list.  We did manage to eat it.  Even with the recipe cut down to 2 portions it was a lot of food.  Frankly, we didn’t eat it all.  We both were too stuffed to eat it all and the rest went in the trash.  Not good enough to save for later (my opinion only – don’t take my word for it).

Bedtime Snack:

Once again the golf ball sized ice cream.

The next days have been much the same.  Breakfast has been old fashioned oat meal (two servings per the package directions to prepare) 1/4 cut of dried blueberries in the boiling water before the oats are added.  This morning it was dried cranberries.  A tablespoon of real butter (the milk went over in the fridge) the next lower shelf is considerably cooler but the milk jug won’t fit there.  Joe put Splenda Brown Sugar on his oatmeal and I put one teaspoon of regular sugar on mine.  We each had a piece of toast.

The Mid Morning Snacks have alternated between the cherries and almonds and the grapes and Baby Bell cheese.

Lunch has been more of the deli sandwiches and 11 chips.

Dinner….okay.  I had two small sirloin steaks that I coated with fresh ground pepper, a bit of Kosher Salt (not supposed to have salt but….) and a tablespoon of worchestershire sauce.  Put the salted and peppered meat in a gallon size baggie, add the worchestershire sauce.  Rub it all around for a bit and put it in the refrigerator for about an  hour.  Grill the steaks on a George Forman Grill, nuke a fresh sweet potato in the microwave for 5 minutes (of course poke it with a fork before you turn the microwave on) and some “Brocco-Beans” which is a combination of frozen broccoli and green beans.  Didn’t have enough of either one to make a full serving so I combined them.

Then the before bed snack.

I made tacos last night.  97% lean ground beef.  To it I chopped up one medium sized onion, two cloves of garlic, julianne sliced 1/2 of one carrot, chopped one stalk of celery, diced up 1/2 of a green pepper.  When all of this was cooked done I took half of the mixture and put it in a container to later go in the freezer for another meal.  To the pan I added one teaspoon of taco seasoning.  Chopped up some lettuce, diced 1/2 a tomato, grated a bit of cheddar and pepperjack cheese, and used Multi Grain tortillas to make the tacos.  Pretty good if I do say so myself.

Another thing I did was one Johnsonville HOT and one SWEET Italian Sausage.  Removed the casing, chopped into 1 inch slices and cooked thoroughly.  To that I added 1/2 of a chopped green pepper, yellow and zuchinni squash (1/2 of each) julianne sliced, one medium onion chopped, two cloves of garlic smashed and chopped then one can of Italian Stewed Tomatoes.  Put this all in the skillet with the sausage and let simmer until the vegetables were done.  This would be scooped over whole grain fettuccine noodles and a salad on the side.

Portion sizes are considerably smaller than what we would normally eat.  This time I’ve used the USDA recommendations of a piece of meat to be the size of the palm of one’s hand and the remainder of the plate to be filled with cooked and raw vegetables.  The Brocco-Beans and 1/2 a nuked sweet potato and a cold salad.

Okay.  Now you have it.  Please check these websites out for yourself and you make the determination of how you want to do this.  The USDA recommendations are 5 fruits and 5 vegetables a day, or is it just 5 fruits and vegetables a day.  I’m never sure.

Needless to say, the dishwasher goes twice a day  now instead of just the one time.  I’m becoming Mrs. Cleaver in the kitchen with the attitude of Rizzo from Grease.  I don’t like to cook anyway and now it is twice a day.  The food is good, besides I love fresh vegetables and fruits.  Joe is acclimating to this new way of eating and I’ve heard less and less “What’s for supper” or lunch, or breakfast, or anytime during the day.  That is a plus.

Oh, and you CAN pop off to Burger King, Arby’s, McDonalds, or any other fast food joint once in a while.  So this is how I’ve done this.  I don’t actually, physically, see the weight loss but the scale indicates it.  I do feel better, don’t have the headaches after eating and I’m no longer sleepy after eating a meal.  Plus I don’t crave a bag of potato chips, candy, cookies, a bowl of M&M’s, or anything like that any longer.

Please, make sure to do what is right for you and don’t follow what I’ve done as Gospel.  I can lead you down the wrong path.  Maybe not intentionally, but I do have a tendency to do that.

Have a great weekend – Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

8 responses to “Glycemic Index Diet

  • jann

    Great info…thanks for doing the research and pointing me in the right direction! Think this will be good for us! Hugs!

  • sharlene peretini

    ohhhhh Leslie I am so glad you are sharing this with us!!!! I am too excited you know I think I will join this and help my daughter on her healthy eating journey. Keep those menus coming my friend
    take care
    hugs
    shar

  • gardenpinks

    Thanks for the information Leslie. I’m like you and alter diets to suit, I do have the GI book which is helpful but I have so many hates in the food line 🙂 Milk is a no go except a dop on cereal and then suffer heartburn from the milk even when it is ‘skinned’; not a fan of vegetables so my 5-a-day would be mainly fruit but meat and fruit don’t always go together well 🙂
    Rod is not a lover of rice or pasta although he will eat one rice or pasta dish every ten days or so 🙂
    According to the experts the best healthy diet is a calorie controlled one but who wants to be weighing everything. Well so far I am doing a damn good job of talking myself out of this!!
    I will go perusing a UK website I found and see if I can combine several diets as you have done 🙂
    Keep up the good work 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

  • Shelly

    Hiya Leslie.
    I need to get back on track with my eating or lack of. i have major attacks of heartburn no matter what I eat anymore. I think I have tried everything known to man and have little success. I am a big veggie lover ,dont eat many fried foods or meat,dont care much for sweets but none the less I seem to have gained this summer. I think it may be from being so cooped up inside this summer like a couch potato. It is always a good thing to ;earn new ways to be healthy. I need to check out the sites you mentioned. I see my Doctor at the end of the month and will see what his suggestions are for me. I will be rooting you on and thanks for the recioes 🙂
    Hugs and love,
    Shelly

  • one tree hill season 8

    Hey very cool site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally?I’m glad to search out a lot of helpful information here in the put up, we need develop extra techniques in this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

  • Antoinette Sosnowski

    Hey! I just wanted to say you have a nice site :-). Me and my friends follow it for a while and we kinda like it. I don’t know if you’ve heard about us but I would like to invite you to http://www.digitalgangster.com/4um/forum.php We’re a webmaster community that love to bounce ideas, share our own sites and generally hang out and play various pranks from time to time haha. I think you would really like it. We also have helpful tools and experienced members. So if you don’t mind, why not take a little time just to drop by and introduce yourself! We’ll try not to give you a hard time ;-). I am pewep by the way. I specialize in SEO, link building, emailing, and offline work. If you need help feel free to message me. I’m usually on at night. Cheers!

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you for stopping by and reading my blog. I stopped by your page to see what you have to offer and I will be posting a link to your site. You guys have quite a lot of information to share and there are some more technically advanced than me and would like to know there is a place to go for answers.

      I appreciate you leaving a comment.

      Leslie

Leave a Reply

