Home, finally!

Concerning my last post…..it was totally all my fault.

You see, I had an update to my iPhone’s WordPress App.  The new update said we could now use HTML Tags to add “highlighted text” to the blog entry.  I have slept since I took my class in creating a website last winter and had forgotten how to create an HTML Tag.  I remembered HOW to create the tag but I forgot how to turn it OFF.  I went back in and deleted all of my faultily created tags and it should be back to normal and not causing you grief.

Nothing like being whined to and shouted at, ya think?!  Sorry about that.

First…..Nancy way up in Canada.  How the heck did you get to the Phoenix, Arizona area to stand on the street corner?!  You brought your husband with you, too 🙂

Sunflower woman

Sunflower woman

These plywood cutouts are beside a highway outside of Phoenix.  I saw this on our way from Phoenix to Las Vegas and thought of Nancy and her love of sunflowers 🙂

I knew the mailbox was going to be crammed full when we got home.  What I did not expect were a couple of packages for Joe stuffed in the box also.  How would you like to be greeted by this much junk when you checked your mailbox?

Collecting the mail.

Collecting the mail

Once in the house it all got sorted immediately.  Check one item off my to do list and now it is a “To Done” list 🙂

The shredder got a work out.  It smelled a little warm by the time I was finished but it held out to the very end and did a great job.

Junk mail shredded.

Junk mail shredded.

Weekly we get these local newspaper things that have a classified ad section along with discount offers for food and oil changes.  Sometimes there are coupons for grocery stores in them.  Always a flyer to advertise Wal-Mart or Target deals of the week.  These things are just a plain nuisance.

Local newspapers and sale flyers

Local newspapers and sale flyers

Next item on the agenda is to haul out all of the trip envelopes from the past month we have been away.  I’ve got mine ready to begin the paperwork process.  Joe needs to gather his together and give them to me.  This is a really bad photo but you will get the drift – out of focus and all.

Trip envelopes for July 2011

Trip envelopes for July 2011

My next task will be to create file folder labels for each of the envelopes.  May and June were done last we were  home.  That was all I could get done since Joe had me running around all over the place out in public with different shoes on because I was so scatterbrained.

Folder label

Folder label

The information for each file folder is on the front of the envelopes.

Trip envelope

Trip envelope

Inside each of the envelopes are our copies of the Inspection Sheet/Bill of Lading, Release documents from the facility we took the trucks from.  Receipts for food, fuel – both the pickup fuel for the deadheading and the truck fuel purchased for the trip, hotel, and permits or toll receipts if they are needed.

Contents of a trip envelope

Contents of a trip envelope

I have a box full of May and June yet to do.  That box will contain July and August in the next few days.  Settlement Sheets from the company will have a folder and I will reference the Settlement Sheet against our trip envelopes with all of the expenses and do data entry in QuickBooks.  I will then find out later if we did all that sweating and thousands of miles of deadheading for a profit or if we lost our butts on that mess.

May and June yet to do

May and June yet to do

Tomorrow is our 21st Anniversary.  Joe and I have no idea what we are going to do to celebrate this event.  21 years.  I can’t imagine my life without him.  Even when he drags my butt all across the nation so I can earn money to buy my toys 🙂

We are thinking about dinner and a movie.  Now to figure out what movie we want to go see.  Chick flick or a blood and guts Guy movie?

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

7 responses to “Home, finally!

  • Lynn Claridge

    Woohoo 21 years! Well done you two and I hope that whatever ou decide to do for your anniversary you both enjoy it.
    Have to say because it amuses me that another friend and her hubby both get along very well most of the time and the only time they have ‘words’ is on their wedding anniversary 🙂

    Go you for getting stuck in straight away and dealing with the junk mail, don’t whine and moan about it get on with it! You will have so much more crafting time then.

    Love you
    Lynn xx

  • shar

    HAAAPY ANNIVERSAAAAARYYYYYY!!!! and WELSCOME HOOOOOME!!!!

  • Shelly

    Wow I guess my suggestion of making up tags ahead of time couldn’t work, there is alot of information on each tab, Great start getting the junk mail all taken care of. I tend to do better when I hit things head on and not drag them out kinda easy to get into a groove and keep up the pace. Hope Joe and you have a great day 🙂 WE calebrate ours tomorrow too so yours is easy for me to remember as is your birthday since it’s the day before Brians. I thought your blog post was on purpose not that you were yelling I thought you were just venting 🙂 Take care I’m off to sort a few more drawers and label them then I will try to make a video to post on the blog.
    Take care Much love and hugs,
    Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      Shelly, I so appreciate your suggestions to make my paperwork life easier 🙂 You are right. Just get after it and don’t stop. Works for me as well.

      Wow, Happy Anniversary to you and Brian 🙂 Who knew?! And a belated Happy Birthday to Brian 🙂

      I’m so looking forward to seeing the results of all your hard work in your room. Well done Girlfriend! Well done!! Soon you will have your very own haven to run to when you need a bit of time for yourself. This has been a long time coming and it is nearly here. 🙂

      Love you – Leslie

  • Maureen Mathis

    I’m impressed. You’ve done through April and are now working on May! That’s going to make things so much easier at tax time if you can get a few months done every time you come home for a bit! So exactly HOW MUCH needs to get done before you can get crafty? One month or two?!!I hope you had a wonderful anniversay celebration – nice and quiet and more importantly AT HOME! YAY!

    • Message In A Fold

      Crafty? Hmmmmm, seems to be a little while yet…..I’ve got creative block right now and can’t seem to focus on much. Except the mess I left 😦 I need some inspiration to kick my creativity into gear. Usually I find something on YouTube and that isn’t doing it for me either waaaaa and boo hoo 😦

      At least the paperwork is coming along :-).

Leave a Reply

