A “berry” different post

Look at these honkin’ big blackberries! They are Navajo Blackberries.

20110719-052942.jpg

They are bigger than my index finger!!

20110719-053058.jpg

We stopped at Murray Family Farms in Bakersfield this morning. Along with the giant berries there is a display of tomatoes. Not just any tomatoes either!

20110719-053602.jpg

I’ve seen the orange colored tomatoes before, and the green ones, of course the standard red tomatoes.

This variety I’ve not seen before.

20110719-053840.jpg

I just HAVE to tell you a funny story about Joe. Seriously, I can’t keep from telling it any longer.

One of the main reasons we stop at Murray Family Farms is for the fresh picked cherries. Joe absolutely loves them. The season ends for the San Juaquin Valley in June we found out last week. Joe was bummed. However they do have cherries from Washington state in their store.

Last Saturday on our way down to Fontana we stopped to see what was available. Joe bought two bags of cherries, peaches and apricots as well, then continued our journey to deliver the trucks.

About an hour later Joe hails me on the two way radio and asks “What will happen to me? I’ve swallowed a cherry pit!!” The concern in his voice was real. My reaction was to immediately start hee hawing like a donkey. Once I got control of my laughter and could talk without him knowing I had been braying I told him he would be fine. The pit would pass through with no problems.

He is well and fine. No lasting ill effects from the swallowed pit. Me on the other hand…I still snicker and snort when I think about it ๐Ÿ™‚

I am getting anxious to be home and back to my paper and punches. Until that day arrives and I can once again experiment I am building a “library” of sorts for flowers. My plan is to jump in and get on with it instead of wishing I was not so scared of them.

Hope you enjoy these bright and colorful faces.

20110719-061158.jpg

20110719-061315.jpg

20110719-061346.jpg

20110719-061419.jpg

20110719-061510.jpg

20110719-061549.jpg

Until later my friends….keep a smile on your face.

20110719-061806.jpg

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

10 responses to “A “berry” different post

  • Nancy

    Wouldn’t you know there’d be food! I’m back to trying to read your post on a more regular basis and there’s FOOD!! lol I had forgotten to come prepared!! Love all the fruit…and love the story about Joe! Reminds me of a story from my childhood. When we, as children swallowed cherry pits my Mom simply told us a cherry tree would grow in our tummies! Well, that just thrilled us no end! My younger brother did have a few concerns about the idea but we just pointed out all the benefits of an endless supply of cherries! haha
    Beautiful flower pictures too! Our sunflowers aren’t blooming yet, so I appreciate seeing these! Thank you!
    Thanks for your sweet comments on my blog. I’m glad you enjoyed my “rebellious” streak! lol I hope you know that you are required to take a blog award or three, and do whatever you want as far as the rules go!
    Love & Prayers,
    Nancy ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Message In A Fold

      Goodness sakes alive, I forgot I needed to warn you in advance with a FOOD notice ๐Ÿ˜ฎ lol Sorry my friend ๐Ÿ˜‰ I couldn’t get over the size of the blackberries.

      What a fun story you have shared about your youth and cherry pits. Thank you for that ๐Ÿ™‚ When I saw the sunflowers I thought of you. They come in small, medium, large, and extra large at Murray Family Farms. The small ones looked a bit bedraggled, like they needed water. The extra large size had some strange stuff going on in the center part – probably where the sunflower seeds grow (I don’t know), but they looked pretty sad.

      I’m hoping to get to the rest of your blog tonight before we go to bed. If not tonight it will be in the next few days. I am so thrilled with the amount of people that leave comments for you. You are touching hearts with your blog and that is awesome. You are also giving people ideas to create their own magic and that is awesome also. I’m so glad you found me, my friend.
      Love to your and your family, prayers and blessings upon your home.
      Leslie

  • Maureen Mathis

    Tell Joe he’s luckier than Kevin’s friend. He got his wisdom teeth removed, so Shannon and I made the cutest cake for him. It’s a teeny tiny 3 layer cake; all 3 layers are different widths, so it looks like a mini wedding style cake. The top layer is just a bit bigger than a cupcake.

    Hindsight is 20/20, I’ve come to learn. I’ve learned that I should have told him that those cute teeth decorations that I put around the top layer of the cake were ACTUALLY METAL SCRAPBOOKING BRADS! The white tooth brads looked SO CUTE against the chocolate icing! I had 4 around the sides of that top layer. I was riding high on pride that first day, thinking I was such a genius to add that touch to his cake that we presented to him at a restaurant when he joined us for dinner a few days after the surgery. Kevin went home with him AND the cake to spend the night.

    ……..

    When Kevin came home the next day, he said, “Mom, WHY didn’t YOU TELL HIM that those decorations were METAL?!!! We split that top layer in half so we could BOTH have some, and HE SWALLOWED them!!! I was able to spit it out, but HE SWALLOWED THE WHOLE THING!!! I can’t believe you did that!”

    I kept in touch with his friend daily for the next week or so, to make sure that it didn’t perforate his GI tract. Charlie thought it was about the dumbest thing I’ve ever done, and I think he’s right. I’m SO LUCKY that it hasn’t caused a problem – at least not yet anyway! All I had to do was mention is when we were at the restaurant, but I was too proud about it being so CUTE!

    Tell Joe to be counting his blessings that the cherry pits are round! And tell him to be careful the next time he eats at MY house!

    • Message In A Fold

      Oh, my poor sweet friend. You have been really beating yourself up. Then I go and make you live that all over again, I’m sorry for that.

      Your telling yourself Kevin’s friend will never trust you around food again and I bet Kevin’s friend is saying to himself that you won’t trust HIM around food again. Both of you are probably kicking yourselves pretty hard.

      I sincerely hope this incident will NOT put you off baking sweet treats when inspiration hits. Lesson learned all around. Full disclosure on food items and not food items, and not be in such a hurry to scarf something down – chew it a bit anyway.

      You are one totally awesome person. When I grow up, I want to be just like you my friend and Big Sis ๐Ÿ™‚ I love you.
      Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    How come I missed this one? Just love that cute truck ๐Ÿ™‚
    Those blackberries are huuuge! But I will pass on those, don’t like them and we have masses growing on the hill which the grandchildren, Rod, dog, foxes and horse all like. I will share those cherries though and I’ll remember to spit out the stones ๐Ÿ™‚ We were also told we’d end up with cherry trees growing in our tummies if we swallowed the stones! Apricots, peaches and nectarines – yummy.

    I have never seen those types of tomatoes in the flesh as it were but there are a couple of ‘heritage’ seed sellers that produce seed to grow all sorts of weird coloured tomatoes, the one variety I grow as I think it has a beautiful flavour is called Tigrella – it starts out green with darker green stripes and turns red as it ripens with the stripes being just a llitte darker red, best way of eating tomatoes is straight from the vine whilst still sun warmed and add a sprinkling of salt – delicious.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Do you carry a salt shaker in your pocket as you work the garden? Maybe just wait until you get the tomatoes indoors at the kitchen.

      The brambles you wrestled with in March or April, were they from blackberries? I don’t remember if you even said other than brambles.

      I bet you have a hearty table full of goodness this time of year. Now I suppose you are going to tell me you can your harvest too. I tried once, under supervision. There were popping noises but not associated with good seals. Lids blew off, glass jars cracked, and a powerful stink filled the air. No more canning for me ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      I’ll keep you as my friend and love you even though you are the Domestic Goddess I will never be ๐Ÿ™‚

      Love you – Leslie

      • gardenpinks

        No way am I a Domestic Goddess, housework and such brings me out in hives ๐Ÿ™‚
        I used to make jam, chutneys and pickles by the hundred weight and bottle fruit but not any more, I also used to make all the bread and bake cakes but rarely do now as I learnt my lesson well! Three times a week I made bread! Heck I don’t have enough time any more nor the inclination and not enough people to eat it anyway. I’d rather craft or be on the computer ๐Ÿ™‚
        Love and hugs
        Lynn xx

      • Message In A Fold

        Bread making, by hand, is quite a lengthy process. Our neighbor, Hugh, has a machine that does all the work for him. Dump in the ingredients and let the machine do all the mixing and kneading. I love the smell of fresh home made bread but it really is a lot of work. I wonder how long a list would be of things that we USED to do? In our youths we had all the pep and energy to do many things. I suppose it is because we felt the need to do things right to prove we were worthy of being women. Now we know we are worthy of being women just as we are. Besides grocery stores have all the items we spent hours slaving over ๐Ÿ™‚
        Love you – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    PS the two photos after the sunflowers are of cosmos which is growing in our garden now, self seeded from last year.

    Hugs
    Lynn xx

Leave a Reply

