Whole Lotta Scrap is making cards

Okay, you are going to truly know I have been inhaling way too much diesel exhaust but I have finally understood the whole military greeting card thing.

I’ve seen many pleas for card makers to make a batch or a few and send them to various places. I thought they were “Thank You” cards to be sent off to our men and women in the military for the job they have volunteered to do.

A right worthy cause in my estimation. In our travels I keep a batch of Thank You cards to hand out to the people in uniform we come across frequently to let them know we appreciate their efforts.

Today it occurred to me my thinking has been all wrong :-(.

Someone stationed on the other side of the world has a spouse at home. Communication is done on base at a designated time and place for family to have video conference calls. A chance to see their lived one’s face and hear their voice. Maybe a hastily written letter to reassure each is alright.

What if the spouse at home, upon opening the mail, found a very special card. An anniversary card, for example, with their loved one’s writing inside extolling undying love and gratitude for choosing to be their mate.

How about a Mother going to the mailbox and finds a birthday card from her child. A son or daughter she prays over each night for safekeeping. To hold in her hands birthday wishes from far, far away.

Maybe a child of a military person has broken an arm or a leg in the most thrilling game of soccer (football) or softball their team has ever played. Waiting at home is a card from the child’s father or mother stationed abroad with Get Well wishes and some consoling words about the injury along with praise for playing such a fine game.

These scenarios wove their tales through my brain while driving the highways today. Made me wish I were home right now in my craft room surrounded by paper and rubber stamps. Then I chastised myself for missing the obvious in these campaigns of card making for our troops.

This coming Saturday, July 16th, from 10a.m. to 2 p.m. Whole Lotta Scrap in Norman, Oklahoma is having an open call for anyone that wants to stop in and make cards for the troops.

If you have thought about getting into card making and don’t know where or how to start head on over to Whole Lotta Scrap – 526 West Main Street in Norman, Oklahoma. You will have a fantastic time there and I know they would welcome you there.

Already a card maker and have thought about donating some of your cards to the military personnel? Your cards will be appreciated as will you be.

Sure do wish I were home right now. Since I have finally figured it out you can be assured I will be there at the first event when I’m home this fall.

Everyone have a restful evening.
Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

4 responses to “Whole Lotta Scrap is making cards

  • gardenpinks

    So you had a lightbulb moment Leslie!?
    I had realised what it was all about as I go onto Splitcoaststampers forum and they are always talking about it. There are many people who send boxes and boxes of cards to the US service personnel out in Afghanistan. There are two ‘rules’ – one is no glitter and can’t remember what is the other is! I’m no use am I?

    It seems I ought to join twitter to follow what you and the others are saying as I seem to be all alone here on your blog most times 😦

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Yes, I did indeed have a lightbulb moment. Just when I thought I had some sense in my head and a few smarts I go and show off how much I don’t have in the space between my ears 🙂 Guess better late than never in this respect.

      I didn’t know card makers in the UK make cards for the US service people!! That is totally awesome.

      Girlfriend, you make me laugh so hard. Yes, you are extremely useful at ALL TIMES!! The glitter thing, I would not have thought anything about that until you said. Guess it would not be such a good thing for someone near the firing line to light up his presence with blinking spots of bright light from the reflective glitter. That makes sense.

      You are the highlight of my days. Thank you for being so steadfast and always cheering me up with your comments. I feel like such a lousy friend because I can’t seem to find the time to have a look at all of the blogs and comment on the wonderful things being created. This job starts so early in the morning and it is nearly midnight each night before we finally get to bed. I’m tired and so is Joe. I will be so glad when this round of Wal-Mart trucks are finished so I can take the time to immerse myself in all of the blogs.

      Thank you Sweet Friend for hanging in there with me.
      Love you – Leslie

  • Maureen Mathis

    I’m grateful for the troops and all, but my FAVORITE PART of this post is when you mention COMING HOME IN THE FALL! Yippee! Not much longer now!

    • Message In A Fold

      Girlfriend, you and me both will be glad when the fall comes and I get home. I can go to Whole Lotta Scrap and make some cards for the military like the rest of the REAL people do 🙂 as well as get back to crafting. Around 105 days to do, but who is counting :-o.
      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

