Huge blessings in small packages

Travelling as much as we do gets monotonous.  Mile after mile runs from one highway interstate to another.  Crossing state lines and time zones as we go.  Smooth highways that sing with each passing mile.  Rough highways with potholes or bad patch jobs create a banging and clanging music with our trailer bouncing along behind jangling her chains.

When you spend as many hours in a vehicle each day like we do a body has to work just a bit harder to find something to be grateful for.  It is so easy to get focused on the white dotted lines of the road and the highway interchanges we miss things that cause our spirits to soar, even for only an instant.

In Colorado on US 287 heading north toward Wyoming, a road we know so very well and don’t have to think about where each turn is, I saw this bird and her nest.  Joe pulled off the road and backed up on the shoulder so I could get a good shot of her.  Let me tell you, she was not very happy with us.

Bird and her nest

Bird and her nest

At first, I thought it was a bald eagle because of the white head.  The tuft of feathers at the back of her head made me think it was some other kind of bird.  I don’t know what she is.  Orange plastic rope used to tie hay bales together have a new life in her nest.  Soon after taking this shot she flew off and circled over our heads for a bit.  Making sure we would not be foolish enough to go mess with what she is protecting way up high on that old light post.

This was last Monday, July 4th.  I can still see her perched atop that post.  The sound of her flapping wings as she flew off and soared over my head calling down to me in a screech.  Watching her fly in ever widening and higher circles above us with a constant view of her nest just in case we meant trouble for her.  The ease in which she flew is etched in my brain.  A cool and clear morning, the sun making its way upward, a soft breeze wafting around my face bringing with it the scents of pine and cottonwood trees far off in the distance.  One moment in time forever stored in this photo.

Wednesday, July 6th, found us on California Highway 36 up in the mountains heading for Red Bluff and the Wal-Mart Distribution Center.

We’ve travelled through many forests in our years on the road.  The Appalachian Mountains of the Carolinas and Virginias are beautiful.  Some days they seem to be from a different place with the wisps of fog rising through the trees to the heavens.  The Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania and New York are dense with trees.  Steep ravines and canyon walls are covered in deep green trees.  Seeing them make me imagine myself to be an ant crawling atop the bedspread of an unmade bed.

These towering trees had me swivelling my head around and around trying to find the best shot with no windshield glare to interfere with the breath taking beauty laid out before me.

CA 36 in the mountains

CA 36 in the mountains

The road we are on seems to stretch on forever and leading to the snow capped mountain far in the distance.  This was one of those instances when a visual image sparks a thought or idea bringing with it instant clarity.  My brain said “Focus on the goal and not the surrounding distractions.”

In truth we will not be anywhere near that snow capped mountain when we get to Red Bluff.  I think that is Mount Shasta far to the north and more nearer Oregon than where we will be.  Then too, it just might be the visual image and my mind jolting me because I’ve been listening to Anthony Robbins on my iPhone’s iPod thing.

I’ve been taking video of our trip so far through Wyoming, Utah, Nevada, and California.  Only a very few still shots have been taken.  When I get home and have the time I will get the video put together and let you see what I see.  Until then, I hope you enjoy these two snapshots.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

2 responses to “Huge blessings in small packages

  • gardenpinks

    Such beautiful scenery and the narrative is superb Leslie 🙂 I looked up your bird on National Geographic and it seems you are right in assuming it to be a Bald Eagle. That must have been a sight to behold as it wheeled majestically through the air keeping an eye on its nest. according to the information Bald Eagles only lay 2 eggs.

    The forest photograph is brilliant; now if I had been a passenger with you I would have insisted on stopping to have a walk in that forest. I love forests and woods, so much wildlife lives in them and we need to keep all the trees.

    Thank you so much for bringing us your beautiful distractions.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Watching birds in flight makes me wish I could join them. But if I did I couldn’t have the craft stash to look forward to. Oh well. Trade offs. This bird was really something to see. So graceful.

      I love the smell of pine trees. Such a clean smell. Yes, were you along the two of us would have trudged through the forest and had a great time poking around in all the growth. Our guys would have to come along and be toters of pine cones and other treasures. 🙂

      I grouse a lot about this job and all the traveling we do. Seriously, the highlights of these travels make up for the spreading behind 🙂

      Love you Girlfriend – Leslie

Leave a Reply

