A really, really long commute to work

We had left home on Friday, July 1st, on a deadhead to Red Bluff, California.

The first leg of our journey was to the Denver area in Colorado. Nearly 700 miles.

20110704-103026.jpg

I haven’t seen our Colorado kids since Thanksgiving of 2009 so I was thrilled to be seeing them all for a couple days.

This morning we left the Denver area early, just after sunrise. We have to pound the miles over the next couple days in order to get to Red Bluff no later than July 7th.

Today’s leg of the trip is from the Denver area to the Utah/Nevada border in West Wendover.

20110704-103715.jpg

Miles driven today is 665. We will have a shorter day tomorrow with a stop for the night in Reno, Nevada.

20110704-103852.jpg

We gained an hour when we reached Colorado. Tomorrow we will gain another hour by the time we get to Reno. The time changes can be killer sometimes.

My daughter had wanted me to watch “The Rite” starring Anthony Hopkins with her. We tried Friday night but didn’t succeed. We both fell asleep shortly after the movie began. Last night we did watch it all the way through. By my time I went to bed at 2:15 a.m. while it was 1:15 a.m. at Tiffany’s.

Right now, at the hotel in Wendover, Utah, it is 10:43 p.m. my time but 9:43 p.m. local time. It is time to wind down from the road. Joe and I traded driving about every 200 miles so we each could snag a nap.

I have to keep a watchful eye on my Joe. I swear, he is working overtime in testing my unqualified medical knowledge – which is very limited.

At Tiffany’s house yesterday morning he slipped in her bathtub while taking a shower. He lost his footing on the slick tub floor, grabbed the shower head for balance until it came off in his hand. The side of the tub caught him behind his knees and threw him backwards and out onto the floor. Cracking his head against the corner of a wall

20110704-105548.jpg

He didn’t lose consciousness but gave himself one hell of a crank job forcing his head and shoulders into his chest. Poor Clark, Tiffany’s husband, heard the fall while I didn’t since I was in another part of the house getting Joe clean clothes. Clark tried to help but thought I ought to know. He hot footed to where I was shouting “Joe’s fallen, he fell in the shower, Joe needs you”. Poor guy, he is such a thoughtful and caring person and is also like Joe when it comes to problem solving – pure gold.

Joe got really tired of me asking for his pen light so I could check his pupils then pepper him with “Are you nauseous? Do you have a headache? Do you see flashing lights in your eyes when I’m not trying to blind you with the light?”. I forgot to ask him how many fingers I was holding up.

Today his sternum is sore, as are his shoulder blades. The swelling of his goose egg has gone down and he seems to be doing well.

Our Trauma/ICU nurse daughter looked at him yesterday afternoon, about 2 hours after his fall, and asked her questions which put off calling an ambulance but would be done at a moments notice if needed yesterday.

I’m beginning to wonder if he is acting out because he feels neglected and abandoned by my blogging. Or maybe it is because I include him in my blogging and he is just not coming straight out to tell me to leave him out of it.

Time to shower and go to bed. Hope you all living in the US enjoyed the 4th of July festivities. Those that don’t celebrate I hope you have had a wonderful weekend.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

2 responses to “A really, really long commute to work

  • Lynn Claridge

    Heck Joe you really will have to take more water with it 🙂 Next time you stop at Tiffany’s and take a shower make sure you go armed with a rubber mat to put in the bottom of the bath tub. We have to do that here otherwise we end up skating around the bath and going A over T (ass over t*t 🙂

    That is some driving you are clocking up, are you trying to beat some record? On the plus side though you must have seen some sights besides endless miles of tarmacadam (blacktop). After all that mileage my bum would be extremely numb 🙂

    Sleep well my friends
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      You make me laugh out loud at some of your colloquialisms. Very descriptive and quite apt they are.

      The ribbons of highway that crisscross the US make it easier to get from one place to another. All the roads traveled cause a phenomenon known as TB or WTB, which are Tired Butt or Widening Tired Butt. The better part of all of this is having the chance to see what is outside our backyard and meet new people.

      One day we will travel near Shelly and meet her. Joe has a dream percolating in his brain to get us on a cargo ship headed for England. Don’t if or when that would happen but he is fomenting a plan :-). I may get the chance to actually stroll your gardens in real life. One can only hope anyway 🙂

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

