Bingo with my kids Mother

Yes, I am and have been friends for many years with the children of Joe and his former wife.

She was part of his life for 10 years and she is the Mother of my awesome Colorado kids.

We had a night of Bingo. The most frustrating game that has ever been invented.

20110702-020213.jpg

Frankie had requested that I not take a picture of her so you get her hands.

Bingo. A game that tantalizes you with the chance to win large sums of money. Tonight the pots were mostly $100. The much anticipated “Progressive Blackout” game had a prize of $5,400. Chatter around the room by players was full of excited utterances about this large prize. Hopes were high as each game played was nearer and nearer the Progressive game.

Why do I go far from home with $20 to purchase packs of Bingo cards (thin paper pieces really) only to be mocked by the vagaries of the numbered balls? I know, from past experience, winning any of the games is a possibility.

20110702-021215.jpg

I have just as much of a chance of winning as anyone else has. Those blasted numbered balls taunt me with each successive one placed under the camera lens for all to see. Marking the appropriate number with a colored ink dauber to indicate a number out of play is half the fun. Hoping and praying for one special number to be called so I could be the first to call out loudly and excitedly “Bingo!” is another part of the fun.

20110702-021744.jpg

As you can see the numbers were not in my favor :-(. How can I be upset over not winning any money at Bingo when I have a friend to laugh with and support each other in finding numbers to splat with bright colors.

Catching up on details of her life since I last saw her. Hearing all the adorable stories of the child we are proud to be Grandma’s of our little Simon.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “Bingo with my kids Mother

  • Lynn Claridge

    Boohoo 😦 So sorry your time spent with Frankie wasn’t ended on a winning note! On the brighter side you had fun, great relaxation and caught up on all the gossip.
    This is something else I haven’t tried. Have yet to buy a lottery ticket either. Do occasionally buy scratch cards and occasionally win some money but I shall never be rich on my winnings 🙂 Still the anticipation is fun.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      To be a good Bingo player you have to be someone that doesn’t get all bent out of shape when it comes to continuously losing. I’m not that kind of person.

      I did have fun being with Frankie. I haven’t spent time with her since 2007 at Thanksgiving.

      Joe calls the lottery “Voluntary Taxation”. He’s so funny and I tease him that he’d better start buying lottery tickets each time he gets an idea to do something that will need tons of money to do what he would like to do.

      Do you have Bingo in the UK?

      Love you – Leslie

      • Lynn Claridge

        Oh yes we have bingo over here and it has been big for many, many years. You can even play bingo online now 🙂 I have never been to a bingo hall though nor played it seriously, I have only ever played it at home for pennies 🙂

        What does the lottery company do with the money it earns selling lottery tickets or is it run through the government?
        Over here the lottery tickets are sold everywhere by a company that has to bid for the privilege of selling lottery tickets – think the winning company get to sell for about 10 years. Some of the money the company gets to keep, some goes to the government and some to grants. Charities and groups can apply for lottery grants. Our village hall was modernised and extended using a grant from the lottery fund I think the village hall association go a grant of £200,000 and had to raise money from other places too – absolute waste of time and money 🙂

        Love and hugs
        Lynn xx

      • Message In A Fold

        The lottery. Tickets can be bought at grocery stores, gas convenience stores, and truck stops.

        They advertise the money going to schools and colleges. Some probably does. The bulk seems to go into parks and recreational areas.

        Truth be known, we have no idea where the money goes. All I can tell you is lottery winners here in the US find long lost relatives and make new friends as soon as it is broadcast on national television of the winners.

        There is a television program, documentary style, named “Curse of the Lottery”. People that have had very little money before in their lives become multi millionaires over night and begin a stupid buying spree. By the time the money is gone they literally have nothing left. Family abandons them and some even file bankruptcy.

        You know that old saying “A fool and his money are soon parted”? Just as Joe says time and again. Anything is worth what you pay for it. Spend $5 and win millions. Easy money is not always good.

        Both of us talk about what we would do with the money were we to win the jackpot. In order to win you have to buy a ticket first and that is not on our list of priorities, just yet 🙂

        Hope you and Rod had a great weekend.
        Love you – Leslie

  • Maureen Mathis

    Bingo is actually really making a comeback, I hear. There’s even a place in Austin that somehow pulls in college kids. I think THAT one may be BYOB! It was featured in the Austin paper a few years ago. It looked like a great place for people of all ages to go and just have a good time. I’m glad you got some down time, but I couldn’t help looking at your “marks” and thinking “she could be putting that stuff on a TAG!” Have a great weekend!

    • Message In A Fold

      The thought did occur to me. Keep the used Bingo cards to use on a tag when I got back home.

      That was until Frankie got so excited at having a winning ticket with the next ball then someone called it on the current ball which caused Frankie to dump over her drink cup. That was a riot. Watching her reaction to the near win and the flood of ice and soda spread across our sheets.

      I got your daughter’s email telling of the experience she is having on her Mission trip. She is in my thoughts and prayers.

Leave a Reply

