Would you be a good crime scene witness?

Well…..I would not be a good witness nor would Joe.  Today is proof that we live in a different world as is evidenced by the following photo.

Wearing two different shoes

Wearing two different shoes

We got home really late Thursday night.  Yesterday (Friday) we were all over town nearly all day long running errands.  Today we had more to do and Joe’s doctor appointment more than ten miles from home.  I’m so sick of driving I could just commit my own sort of foolishness and mayhem.

After we got back from the hospital where Joe had some kind of radioactive die injected in his arm then had to lie upon a table with a special camera beneath to view his kidneys we came home – only after a couple more stops.  I took my shoes off and put them by the door.

I’ve needed to vacuum the house but had not found time recently to do it.  One more errand of going to the bank and then we are home for the evening.  While vacuuming I came to the shoes….

This looks weird, where are the other shoes?

This looks weird, where are the other shoes?

Seeing these shoes on the floor I thought they looked out of place….just plain weird.  That is until I looked down at my own feet!  I’m losing my mind I tell you.  Have I been wearing two pairs of shoes over the last couple days all the time?!

As I said, we got home Thursday night pretty late in the evening.  Just at dusk.  A hail storm had come through over a week ago while we were in Covington, Tennessee checking on the Mack trucks.  Our neighbor, Hugh, told us of the storm.  Flat straight line winds of 80 miles an hour with golf ball sized hail pelted our neighborhood for quite a while.  We were so far from home and there was nothing we could do except have Hugh take a walk around our home to make sure no windows were broken.

Seeing our home when we drove up…..I tell you this.  You’d think we lived on a military strafing field from the results of the hail storm.

Hail damage

Hail damage

As we drove through the neighborhood on our way home there was house after house with damage.  Some were only slightly damaged and others are riddled just like ours.

Three doors down

Three doors down

Not many windows were broken.  Thankfully none of ours were.  There is some damage to the outside vinyl parts of the windows but the glass itself is still intact.  I just can’t believe the randomness of it all.

Crazy, crazy, crazy stuff.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

4 responses to “Would you be a good crime scene witness?

  • Maureen Mathis

    I’m so glad your vehicles weren’t there – wait, you only take one on the road, right? Where’s the other one? Did it get any damage? I sure hope not!

    The shoe thing is hilarious, but the kids these days are wearing mismatched socks, so just tell folks you’re beta testing miss matched shoes! Check out this website: littlemissmatched.com. Cute stuff if you have any little girls to buy for!

    • Message In A Fold

      Oddly enough, our other vehicle wasn’t even touched. There may be only one dent and I don’t know if that was there when we bought it or not. See….not a good and reliable witness. I’m so wound up, I don’t know if I’m coming or going.

      What a really novel idea…mismatched socks. Someone FINALLY has beat the washer or the dryer at their own game of losing a sock!! And they are cute to boot 🙂

      How is Kevin doing now that he is home? Better yet…how are YOU doing now that he is home? Bet he got a few days of continuous hugs and touches just to reassure yourself he was safely home and thankful he was 🙂

  • Lynn Claridge

    OMG Leslie! I just showed Rod the photos of the damage and he said tell her not to send that over here 🙂 I am so glad your home wasn’t damaged.

    I just had to laugh about the shoes! Now I wonder how many people realised it was a mismatched pair or whether they thought it was deliberate? That is too funny 🙂

    Hope all goes well with Joe.

    Rod is outside in the dark glow worm hunting in his dressing gown!!!! No this isn’t an act of eccentricity, we have one of the very sites in the whole of the UK with glow worms, these little creatures emit a small green light to attract a mate. The males fly and look like regular beetles but the female is a little different. The larvae feed on small snails. Very interesting to see them. We usually find 10 plus adult females most years but have only seen one with her lights on this year.
    http://www.glowworms.org.uk/ to find out more!

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      The hail…..I won’t send any of that your way. We were really worried about what we would see when finally arriving home from the reports we got from Hugh. One of the things Hugh told us (reported to me by Joe) our roof had been damaged and some of it had come off. Thankfully, when we arrived home the roof was still intact maybe a couple shingles missing.

      The shoes…..If anyone did notice they kept their thoughts to themselves and made no comment to me. One thing I’ve learned in my 56 years is this. An unsolicited and possible hurtful comment made by a stranger carries no weight (or ought to carry no weight) on my – or your – psyche. As soon as the person turns their back and leaves your sight they will be thinking of something else totally and my shoes (or bad hair or not posh clothing) will be long forgotten in their memory after about ONE MINUTE. It stings right there and then but will only linger and fester if I give the comment weight. No one made a comment so I was totally clueless until my vacuum cleaner pointed the discrepancy out to me 🙂

      Rod hunting in the dark…..I had an old Dickens image in my head while reading about your Glow Worms. Rod with a night cap on, pointy end bouncing with his steps as he ran too and fro dressing gown open and flapping like a cape in the breeze, pajama bottoms plastered against his legs, and his house slippers slapping against the soles of his feet. My brain conjured up a not very stealthy Glow Worm hunter 🙂 Thanks for the link to the Glow Worms. I would think you had fairies in your garden with the twinkling lights flashing around in the bushes 🙂 Only one this year? Maybe more will come? Could only one Glow Worm presence mean a signal you will not be at your current location next year at this time and she’s come to bid you adieu and thank you for all the glorious flowers and plants? One can only hope anyway.
      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

