Monkey See, Monkey Do

20110619-075030.jpg
I guess Joe felt left out. Nothing exciting happening around him ;-). As if being with me isn’t enough drama.

Just to the right of where Joe is standing, inside and under the trailer….

20110619-075434.jpg
The main support beam is cracked. This time only on the left side. Four years ago both sides cracked in this same area and we were done until he got it fixed.

20110619-075736.jpg
We do a walk around twice a day on our equipment to check on it all. The crack was not in evidence when we loaded in Ottawa, Kansas at the Walmart Distribution Center.

Last night when we parked at the hotel in Cameron, Missouri we both were tired, hot, sweaty, grimy, and focused on getting to our room to clean up and cool off or we would have caught it last night.

The outcome would have been the same had we found the crack last night. We had to get Joe unloaded right there and then this morning. His two trucks were left at the hotel while we left to deliver my two trucks to Illinois. Joe followed in the pickup all 387 miles. My trucks, complete with my boom, have been left at the delivery location. Now we are heading back, in the pickup, to Cameron, Missouri and the hotel for another night.

Tomorrow we will get Joe loaded with a single and I will drive his back truck to the delivery point. There we will unhook my trucks and get the boom off.

Right now, had this problem not occurred, we would be on our way to Chicago, Illinois for JB Hunt trucks going to O’Fallon, Missouri then heading for home. That has been changed only by a delayed timeframe. Chicago trucks will be Tuesday instead. We will hook up my boom to two trucks and leave them there while we get two of the four delivered to O’Fallon. Drive back to Chicago for my boomed set and deliver them on Thursday or Friday then we can head for home.

There is a pad if 12″ x 12″ Graphic 45 Magic of Oz paper waiting for me at Whole Lotta Scrap. I got a call yesterday letting me know it is in. They are holding it for me until I can get back home.

I haven’t had ANY time to catch up on all my friend’s blogs nor see the delights that have been created 😦

I NEED A FIX!!!! A crafting fix that is. Paper, glue, ink, rubber stamps, glitter……..

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

3 responses to “Monkey See, Monkey Do

  • gardenpinks

    Oh no another poblem, definitely fatigue setting in for both humans and metal 🙂
    How quickly can this be fixed? Meanwhile it takes you so much longer to get your crafty fix. Don’t think I’ve seen the new paper you mentioned but if it is like any of the others it will be beautiful.
    Take care and travel safely my friends

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Joe has a welder friend that can fix the trailer in a couple days when we get home.

      Fatigue is right. I’m about ready to fall down. We got a late start today fooling around with Joe’s trucks to get them ready to deliver. About 40 miles from where we started two tires came off Joe’s truck. One went to the left, down the median across the highway in front of an oncoming tanker truck then down into a ditch in thick brush. The other tire stayed on our side of the road, hopped a fence and came to rest on a stack of pipe.

      This is just getting to be too much excitement even for this self professed Drama Queen :-). I wanna go home!!
      Love you – Leslie

  • Kimberly

    i’d love to share this posting with the readers on my site. thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

