First Step In Boom Repair

When Joe told me how he was going to get my boom straight enough to mount back on the trailer I said “What?!!?”

I should not doubt the genius of my husband.

20110514-054408.jpg

The truck to the left is the one with my broken boom attached.

The center yellow piece is the front of Joe’s trailer raised high in the air. The white behind the trailer is the truck Joe is towing with his trailer.

The truck to the right is the one Joe will be driving when attached to his trailer front. At least after everything is out of the way.  The video below is quite noisy with the gray truck’s engine running during this process.  Then I’ll scare the fool out of you near the end with my hollering 😦  Sorry about that.  Turn your volume control down or mute the sound if you don’t want all the noise.

Here are two more videos of these glorious trucks going to Zimbabwe from the port of Baltimore.

Drawing is being held today, for the Blog Candy #2 Give-Away that was started last Sunday.  Joe is going to draw names out of his hat, which is in the wash right now, and I’ll let you know who the winner is 🙂

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “First Step In Boom Repair

  • shar

    Definitely a Genius!!!

  • Maureen Mathis

    I couldn’t follow what he was doing. Was it fixed during the video?

    • Message In A Fold

      He got my boom straight using his trailer and raising it all. Now he has to shove it all back into itself, if its not broken too badly.

      Noisy mess that was.

      If you saw the pictures I had showing my broken boom and how it was all bent up. The video is Joe using his trailer to straighten the kink out.

  • gardenpinks

    As my late father-in-law used to say your Joe has more in his head than lice 🙂 Clever man. Is your boom now useable? Has he saved you a great deal of money?
    That isn’t the lazy man’s way of figuring it out that is a clever man’s way of using a bit of lateral thinking 🙂
    Boy that truck is in a bad way, wonder what the Zimbabweans are going to make of it? Does Volvo know their trucks are being shipped abroad in such a crappy state? That isn’t going to do their reputation any good.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      The man who bought the trucks, it is said, flew here and was present during the bidding process. So he knows they are in sad shape. Who knows, certainly not me, what the buyer thinks is junk and what is pristine.

      I don’t think Volvo, or any other Class 8 truck manufacturer, care about such things. They seem to be more concerned with the larger market areas than the smaller markets. Big business, go figure. Then, too, what would Volvo do with these old sold trucks?

      As for my boom. Joe and all his Wiley ways can’t fix it. He’s hot and ready to chew the “expert” up and spit him out, that wanted to build Joe’s booms.

      My boom shows evidence of having a hole been drilled then later filled. It caused a fail point and that is what happened.

      Joe is hot because had this happened on the interstate someone could have been killed. As closely as the little cars follow behind there would have been an almost instant stop by me and no chance for the vehicle following.
      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

