Slug Bugs and Floods

This is for Shelly 🙂

20110511-091913.jpg

This is for Lynn 🙂

20110511-092006.jpg

I thought of each of you when I saw these Volkswagons on US 35 in south eastern Ohio.

In the rural areas of southern Ohio there is flooding.

20110511-092846.jpg

This one river, don’t know the name of it, was running fast and furious. The poor people that live in this area are going through heartbreak.

20110511-093059.jpg

So much flooding.

20110511-093216.jpg

We delivered in the early afternoon then had to find a copy center to get our paperwork photocopied. One place we went to all the copy machines were wrapped in plastic. We had to find an office supply store to get the copying done.

20110511-093455.jpg

We have to deadhead in our pickup 260 miles to Pennsylvania over the Ohio Turnpike. I took over driving to let Joe nap.

20110511-093716.jpg

He can sleep almost anywhere if he gets semi horizontal 🙂

A couple of singles drivers from a different drive-away company were on the Ohio Turnpike with us for a while.

20110511-093942.jpg

20110511-094016.jpg

They will get in the car at their delivery point and drive (deadhead) to their next job just like we do.

Hey, looky there. We were just there on Friday. Stevens Transport. Remember that foolishness with the not ready but ready trucks?

20110511-094347.jpg

Everyday is blog fodder day 🙂

Yippee skippy, I have finally figured out how to leave comments on my friend’s Blogspot blogs using my iPhone.

I got caught up on Nancy’s site The Nickel Nook she has a beautiful card from a challenge. Lynn has made an awesome wedding album for her daughter’s upcoming wedding Garden Pinks. Tracy has made some cards at Tracy’s Treasures. Shar has made some beautiful ribbon flowers at Crafting Passionz. I wanna go home. Waaaaaa!

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “Slug Bugs and Floods

  • shar

    Prayer to those affected by that flood . So many disasters going on in the world prayers to all that are in distress of some kind
    Leslie you are tooo sweet thanks for the shout out
    How long before you get to go home?
    Miss seeing your friendly face on youtube
    take care to both you and Joe
    hugs
    shar

    • Message In A Fold

      Your are too sweet. I’m sure we all appreciate you and your prayers. Lots of us have done so also.

      Just have to pass the loveliness along as I enjoy it all. As for when I’m next home – your guess is as good as mine. Definitely come Thanksgiving in November is when I will be pitching a stinking fit 🙂

  • gardenpinks

    Yay for the Love Bugs 🙂 Wonder if any of them were called Herby?
    Those poor people having to deal with the awful flood waters; this weather is being very contrary with drought in some places and too much rain in others. We have had some rain, enough to fill the water butts for watering the plants but not enough for the ground and the east side of the UK desperately need rain as they have been battling with heath and moor land fires as have Scotland and parts of Ireland. The east and south east side of the country is where the majority of the nation’s vegetables and fruit are grown.
    Many thanks for the shout out, I must go and check out Shar’s and Tracey’s blogs.

    I am just in the process of constructing the box for the album. Have made the bottom and lid -waiting for the glue to dry. Then need to think what I am going to use to embellish the lid! I need to get more organised and plan ahead instead of planning as I go along, mind if I plan as I go along it does give me a few surprises 🙂

    Joe seems to be like most of the men in this family – as soon as they stop work and get into a semi- horizontal position then they are zzzzzzing 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      When I was a teen and in a group with friend or my foster sisters…whoever spotted a Volkswagon bug first slugged someone in the arm and cried “Slug Bug”. I had a swollen upper arm and quite purple bruises until I got smart and looked at the traffic and ran out of the way of fists.

      You sound so excited, as you should, making your box for that awesome album. Hey, planning your crafting leaves out the “Serendipity” of flying by the seat of your pants which is my normal working mode.

      I’m looking forward to seeing your completed box.
      Love you – Leslie

      • gardenpinks

        I had my crafting assistant with me this evening helping to churn out the die cuts on the Big Shot and embossing the wooden letters for the box lid. Young Kimmy was well away with her tongue stuck out at the corner when there was more tricky things to be done 🙂 Then we had to make a card for mum using a die cut and adding some multicolour foils! I bet Ruth gets fed up with all these cards Kimmy ends up taking home:)

        Love and hugs
        Lynn xx

      • Message In A Fold

        Bless your hearts. Gramma and Kimmie having so much fun. I bet Ruth wouldn’t utter a word of reproach over the cards. She may shake her head and say something like “That Grandmother of yours”.

        I’m jealous. Totally jealous. Green and even purple with envy 🙂

        Love you my friend.

Leave a Reply

