Did You Say We Were Ready?

Just to catch up on the past days events.

Thursday we were told the trucks were ready. They were not so we went to a Comfort Inn for the night.

Yesterday Joe called and was told three of our four trucks would be ready at 3 pm.

We waited another hour to get the go ahead to start hooking up. While we waited I thought you might like to see a Yard Dog.

20110507-092443.jpg

This is a Yard Dog. In all large companies that have trailers to move around these little trucks do that. They are not meant to be on the roads and highways. Although the man that had Joe’s first trailer did have to drive one and tow one for 1,000 miles. Roughest ride he ever had.

We finally managed to get hooked up by 6 pm last night. We went back to the Comfort Inn with my truck.

20110507-093047.jpg

Here’s Joe leaving this morning and I’m following behind him. We got about 10 miles out then had to turn around and go back to Steven’s Transport. The splitter for the high range on Joe’s gear shift is hissing air and it is causing him to lose air pressure.

Who knows when we will actually get on the road to Charlotte.

If you haven’t done it, go to the Blog Candy Give-Away #2 and leave your funny story about the woman that raised you. Mom, grandmother, aunt, sister.

You can follow me on Twitter at messageinafold to know what all Foolishness and Mayhem is going on throughout my day.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

5 responses to “Did You Say We Were Ready?

  • Shelly

    Soooo the summer adventures of Joe and Leslie Begin…..I am not on twitter but if you update there I’ll have to sign up to keep up with you 🙂 In all honesty I really did like the truckers magazine article sat down and read the whole thing and shared with Brian also. Very interesting perspective on what really happens when you do the kind of job you both do. I have all 5 kiddos today til @ 5 and then plan to try and work on my Moms Mothers Day card… I seem to have lost my MOJO!!!! We will have an easier week since Sierra will be going to visit her othre Grandparents for a few days and we will just have Levi 🙂 Although he is like several kids in one lol a very busy boy he is :0 enjoyed getting the text from you too I always forget about using that on my phone .

    Love and hugs,
    Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      Your mojo will come back and your Mom will love her card. Sounds like you will get a chance to breathe this coming week 🙂

      Ya, different day different truck. I thought you might like to see our 15 minutes of fame :-).

      Has Brian been back to the doctor? Any news on his throat?

      I’ll have to text you a bit more frequently. I forgot I had your phone number.

      Happy Mother’s Day. I hope you get to find some peace and quiet in your mornings so you will have creative inspiration surges :-). That would be fun.
      Love you – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    I will have to give some thought to the Blog Candy giveaway one Leslie. We have already celebrated Mother’s Day here in the UK.
    I was so delighted to get the mail today and as soon as I saw that cute envelope I just knew it had to be from you 🙂 Thank you so much for my stamp set and blender pen, just love the stamps although I haven’t yet tried them out and thank you too for the beautiful card. It is a lovely elegant card put together with style and panache; I’m very envious of your handwriting too 🙂

    Just thinking as I read your blog entry ‘Oh yes they are on their way at last’ and then the cruncher came – you had to turn back. What a bummer that is. Someone at the dealership didn’t do a good job there did they? Hope that isn’t going to take too long to fix and that you can soon be on your way. How bloody frustrating!

    Love and big hugs to you both
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Happy belated Mother’s Day my friend 🙂

      I’m glad your package arrived. My last couple days at home I scrambled around gathering things that should have been mailed long ago :-(. At least you got the stamp set I had offered way back in January.

      Thank you for your sweet comment on the card I made and my hand writing.

      This crazy job. Grrrrr. This stuff is normal and par for the course. Right hand doesn’t know what the left hand is doing. All of this turmoil could have been avoided if two people (not Joe and I) had listened to Steven’s Transport instructions at the very beginning.

      Since this mess went even further down the toilet the mechanics didn’t have the full time to inspect and evaluate the trucks. The air leak would have been found and fixed right off had they been able to do their jobs.

      There will be more opportunities for mayhem. Our life is just SNAFU. Situation Normal, All Fouled Up. And on really bad days that F becomes the F Bomb, know what I mean, Jelly Bean? 🙂

      As far as your Mom goes, I understand. If some other mother figure type person you think of fondly pops to mind then go ahead and tell us. I had to rack my brain for something and that was all I had to give. So I do understand.

      Love you – Leslie

  • Maureen Mathis

    Guess I missed that post – I’m trying to get caught up. We spent the weekend in Houston with Mom at a family party, and she’s kind of been a handful lately. Just got back from the doctor’s office, so I hope to be on top of things within a day or so. Good luck with the rest of your trip!

Leave a Reply

