Sorry For The Comment Delay

I had made the mistake of approving a comment from my iPhone for my Message In A Fold blog.  I got spammed big time with all kinds of messages being approved in my “About Me” section.  I had to go in and delete a whole slew of them.  It was nice to have my friend’s comments approved right away but a major PITB (pain in the butt) for the spam stuff.  I’m not sure if I have the spam filter fixed just right and I’m a bit uneasy about doing that all over again.  Plus, I didn’t know when there was a new comment posted because of everything being approved immediately.  Some comments from you guys went unanswered for a long time.

Bear with me now that I’m out on the road and don’t have quick access to my computer to approve the comments in a more timely manner.

This was just plain fun, and hilarious to boot.  Your stories had me laughing at your antics.  Tracy, poor girl, my heart went out to you having to go out on your dirt bike to get away from the home troubles.  I’m so glad that you have a much improved life now and you don’t have to seek solace all by yourself any longer.

Thank you all for making this fun.  I so appreciate all of you girls and I cherish each of you as my friends.  I’m a totally lucky girl, I am to have friends like you.

It sure does put a bright spot in an otherwise aggravating day.  Joe and I got six trucks moved today instead of the nine we were hoping to move.  Someone, and their thievery, has put a monkey wrench in the whole works and jamming Joe and I right smack dab in the middle of a fairly sticky situation.  I hate it when that happens.  Through no fault of our own, we get painted with the same brush as those nefarious ones cause.

The crux of the matter is that our dispatcher told Joe and I that we had to document the amount of fuel in the trucks at Wal-Mart when we pick them up and make sure there is at a minimum 1/4 tank of fuel when we deliver them.  Most of the trucks had 1/2 or over in their tanks, a couple were totally full, while several of them only had 1/8 and others were close to empty.

Wal-Mart has taken these trucks out of their inventory and are not obligated to do any further work on them, including put fuel in them.  The trucks with dead batteries they do have to come out and jump start them but that is all they have to do.  So we were caught in not being able to move the trucks with less than 1/4 tank of fuel.  The delivery site said they would take them with 6 inches in each tank, our dispatcher said no that won’t happen, Wal-Mart said they weren’t going to put any fuel in them and Joe and I were left swinging in the breeze.

Joe was on the phone trying to get approval to move the trucks as they are from 8:30 this morning until noon.  Finally, things began to happen and Wal-Mart sent out a mechanic to pump fuel from the fuller tanks into the emptier tanks to even them all out, plus jump start all the dead trucks.

All of this happened, now it is Joe and my opinion, because of other drivers that carry humongous spare fuel tanks on their vehicles and pump the fuel out of the trucks before they deliver them.  These drivers leave the tanks empty which cause a major headache for the delivery site with lots of dead trucks because they have run out of fuel.

My mild mannered bear has had me run for cover more than once when he confronted another driver with one of the huge fuel tanks in their chase vehicle.  Joe flat tells them they are thieves and launches into them about the trouble they cause for the rest of us.  He’s had more than one driver ready to pop him in the nose.  Strangely I think Joe would have relished the opportunity to get in a brawl.  That is just not like the Joe I love and am enamoured with.  I guess everyone has their pet peeves and Joe’s is fuel thieves.

Today, he was not a happy person.  Tomorrow is another day.  The good thing is that the trucks are now ready for us to go and get tomorrow and move six more tomorrow.  That will leave only three on Thursday.

Be looking for the next Blog Candy Give Away.  I’ll give you details on what you will have to do.  Once we get finished here with this mess we are getting four trucks out of Dallas, Texas going to Charlotte, North Carolina.  Joe is planning on us being in Charlotte on Saturday.  We won’t be able to deliver until Monday.  I can’t believe it, but my Joe has asked if I want to go hunt up scrapbook shops in Charlotte.  Are you kidding me?  Of course I do.

What will it be?  Paper, Spellbinders, Flower-Soft?  I have to keep it under one pound in weight for those of you in the far flung reaches of this small world.

Time for a shower, a bit of time to relax, then go to bed.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

2 responses to “Sorry For The Comment Delay

  • gardenpinks

    Awww Leslie I am so sorry that those fuel thief sh*ts have caused such grief for you and Joe. I can understand Joe getting angry especially as you both then get blamed. Shame on them. I very much hope this is not how it is going to be for you this summer. Wal Mart are pathetic taking the stance they did when they then ended up looking complete fools because they had to do a u-turn anyway. Fingers crossed the rest of the deliveries go as planned.
    Aren’t spammers the pits? The amount of spam I got on my old blog with Blogger has driven me crazy. Hope you don’t get any more of that rubbish either. More by luck than judgement my spam filter with WordPress seems to be working and it tells me how much spam has been stopped – well I hope it is all spam!!

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      I checked my spam filter and hopefully I’ve got it set right this time. With the Wi-Fi being down in the hotel I’m thankful for my phone.

      The crazy stuff that gies on around here in this job…makes a body cranky at times. But my Joe loves to rattle cages and make things happen even if it means getting others to “play well together” 🙂

      I’m still smiling about your special anniversary get away. A Princess in her Fairy Castle 🙂
      Love you my friend – Leslie

Leave a Reply

