The Divil Has A Holt Of Me

Discipline, determination, and work ethic have all fled from me.  They’ve just up and left.  In their place now resides the “Divil” and all of the temptations that are so alluring and delightful.  I’m doomed.  Doomed I tell you 😦

Very last of 2010 paperwork

Very last of 2010 paperwork

These file folders are all that remain of the 2010 paperwork.  Seven file folders, and six trip envelopes.  That is all that is left to complete 2010.

I’m so sick of this paperwork I could just scream.  Two months I’ve been diligently chipping away at this task and have made such progress.  Now, I’m finding it so intolerable to look at one more file folder.

The end is in sight, it is right within my grasp.  I have about 10 days left to reach my deadline of March 25th and these seven file folders are going to herald my doom.  Oh, woe is me.

My personal Siren Song

My personal Siren Song

To be able to spend day after day in this room.

Touch paper, squeeze out glue, smell the embossing powder as it heats up and becomes a shiny delight, hear the thump of rubber stamp pressed to paper, listen to the swish of scissors cutting, hold the grip of the paper trimmer in my hand and feel it shear through.

The Siren Song of my craft room.  Calling to me in dulcet tones to come and bathe in the beauty of color, feel the textures between my fingers, revel in the sparkle of jewels and glitter – yes I said glitter – scoop up handfuls of treasure and pour them like water over my head and let them pool at my feet.

As I look over my shoulder at those last seven file folders yet to do and feel the wrench in my gut to get them finished and be free of them at last, the lure of my craft room has a much stronger pull on me and I find myself stepping closer and closer to the abyss into a land of bright colors and shiny objects.

Oh my soul is tormented and the torture is immense.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “The Divil Has A Holt Of Me

  • Shelly

    Oh Leslie you have such a way with words 🙂 I can so relate to the hypnotizing sounds and sights of the Craft supplies softly beckoning to immerse ones self in pure crafty pleasure….. sounds really decadent don’t it?? I have a date with my crafty supplies set up for in the morning with Momma coming to take care of little ones so I can hide out behind a closed door. I will have to make a post of my time in hiding. Wish me lots of mojo in my creating frenzy I think I’ll need it. 🙂

    Hugs,
    Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      Goody Goody!! You are going to get in your own crafting time. Woo Hoo!!! I agree, you can totally relate to being beckoned by your crafting space.

      It sounds as though things are beginning to turn in your household to help ease some of your stress. I am so very glad to hear that. You need to have the decompression time. Plus you and your Mom together in the house will help in corralling all those young ones during Spring Break. Awesome news.

      Can’t wait for you to have a bit of time to upload photos of your creations for all of us to adore and exclaim over 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

  • Maureen Mathis

    Stamp and glitter those blasted file folders and trip envelopes until they’re SO PRETTY they make you smile and you HAVE to pick them up! You always make easy things SO HARD! The answer is OBVIOUS!

  • Lynn Claridge

    Oh brilliant idea Maureen 🙂 Then you will have no problem picking those folders up and dealing with them. Don’t let go now Leslie, you are almost there. I’ve been battling with those damn brambles for the last ten days and have been close to saying ‘sod it’ but have had some compliments about how different it all looks. Also there is Rod working away elsewhere that I would feel guilty about giving up. I also have a deadline because I have to stop cutting and burning very soon as the birds are getting ready to start nest building. Now if I can go out and do battle with those plants that bite back and end up covered in scratches, ripped gloves, thorns and hot ash singeing my hair then you can deal with those last 7 folders 🙂

    Love and big hugs
    Lynn 🙂

    • Message In A Fold

      Okay….*hanging head in shame*….you have scratches, abrasions, contusions, lacerations, epidermal bleeding, singed eyebrows, scorched patches of forehead hair, shortened eyelashes, and nasal hair has been obliterated. While I just have a bone jarring, chest rattling, neighbors threatening to call the cops base vibration with woofers and tweeters gyrating to the sounds of the Pity Party music I have going at full volume. And all over seven file folders. Any bodily lacerations here would be from paper cuts while moving the file folders from one position to another as I curse at them.

      Now, please the above was meant to be funny and sarcasm aimed at myself and not at you. Good for you getting those nasty patches cleared and having your neighbors and others tell you how great the area is looking. That is one heck of a great “Atta-Girl”!!
      Love to you and Rod – Leslie

Leave a Reply

