Beginning Tiffany’s Album

My daughter, Tiffany, has requested a scrapbook album for a particular set of photos she has.  Tiffany is the one with the major tattoo sessions going on with her arm.

She is an embalmer and a Funeral Director at a well established funeral home in Denver.  She earned her “chops” doing the grunt work first.  For quite a few years her Dad (Joe) would tease her about being a “Body Snatcher” since she had the unenviable task of going into people’s homes, arriving at nursing homes, wending the labyrinths of hospitals to pick up the departed and take them to their last worldly stopping place where they would be tended to or surrounded by family and friends.

In her travels she would drive mostly around Colorado and Kansas with her charges.  Either picking them up for their final return to Colorado or taking them from Colorado and home to Kansas.  She has taken photos of the various funeral homes she has been to and her photo album will eventually hold the memories of that time in her life.

Tiffany is not a “Girly Girl” and the reason for the album has its own set of problems.  Her color scheme is Halloween since she loves these colors and I’m trying to stay away from the overtly “Halloween”ey type of graphics to show respect for Tiffany and her profession.

I have been asking her all the questions I would ask my own self…size of album pages, style, colors,  and how many photos to be placed on a page.  Since she is not familiar with this craft it has been a long process but we are getting to the point where I have a pretty good idea of what to do.  I’ve put together two pages for her approval and here they are.

The paper is Die Cuts With A View (DCWV) and the Street Lace pack.  These papers, according to the blurb on their site, is “a little bit Goth inspired”.  The papers have large images, and most of them are what I would term “heat embossed” with the glossy raised patterns.  The colors are strong but not over powering.  I found this set at Whole Lotta Scrap near where I live with the aid of Leslie, the store’s owner.

Well, this weekend I am going to be closeted away in my room with a huge order I’ve placed with Stampin’ Up! and I’m going to figure out a way that I can have “my cake and eat it too”.  I so love the bright colors and the graphics of Tim Holtz, Graphic 45, DCWV, to name a few.  I’m putting the “Pity Party” decorations away that have been up way too long.

I had such a good time creating Tiffany’s two pages and playing with the paper, it is time to get a grip and “Get over myself”.  Get my “mojo” back and my mind back into really loving what I do.  The paperwork is nearly done, another couple days and that monster will be put to sleep – FINALLY.

After this, my posts will be on my other blog which features Stampin’ Up! products and YouTube videos will be posted once again.  Woo Hoo!!!

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

7 responses to “Beginning Tiffany’s Album

  • Lynn Claridge

    So glad to hear that the dreaded paperwork is almost at an end and well within the deadline too 🙂 You go girl!
    One of my (girl)cousins worked at an undertakers/funeral home and helped ‘dress’ the corpse. So many people think this is a macabre way to make a iving but someone has to do it. Not for me the embalming and dressing – I want to be shoved straight into an environmenally friendly -i.e. readily breaks down in the ground -box and buried preferably in a field where a tree can be planted! Or failing that thrown over a cliff and left to feed the wildlife. Our philosophy being that we put back what we have taken out of the ground 🙂 I admire your daughter’s profession and hope she is very pleased with the album you create. I shall go back and take a lok at what you have done.

    Am very much looking forward to seeing you on Youtube again soon.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      I was with you until the bit about being chucked over a cliff. Dealing with death is not something we, as Americans, do very well. Even though we know that is the eventual outcome. Joe won’t really discuss his intentions with me but he knows my wishes to be cremated.

      I’m on pins and needles while I wait for Tiff to answer my email with the video and let me know if I am even close to what her thoughts were. It was really hard to stop at just those first two pages. I was feeling the mojo come back after such a long dry spell and I haven’t had the benefit of meditative immersion in such a long time.

      Thanks Lynn for your cheering me on with the paperwork. Drat and double drat I’m so sick of it.
      Love you – Leslie

  • Lynn Claridge

    Love the layouts and that paper is gorgeous 🙂 Hope Tiffany was happy with it what you have done so far.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

  • Maureen Mathis

    Glad to see that the paperwork is finally coming to a close! do you think there’s any way you could get several months of 2011 under your belt before you head out on the road again? Just think how much easier it would be to NOT have to do the whole year in a couple of months next year?

    That black paper looks really cool with all the holes in it. I like how it shows the pink underneath. I hope she likes it, but if not, you’ll have 2 pages ready to go for yourself or another family member!

    • Message In A Fold

      I plan on doing that very thing….getting the 2011 months done as much as I can before I have to leave. Once 2010 is done I don’t think I will make myself quite so crazy with beginning 2011 and doing some maybe once a week. I really want to get into my craft room and reconnect with my spiritual side once again.

      Those papers from DCWV are so beautiful. I only cut around the outer part of the floral images. The pink insides to the flowers are there already which made this combination look so darn good. Yes, if Tiff doesn’t like these two pages then I will most definitely find a different use for them…..probably sit and stare at them until I go cross eyed 🙂

Leave a Reply

