I Took Joe Shopping

He didn’t make a fuss either.  We went to Lowe’s Home Improvement Center, just the kind of store he has fun in…me too.

 

Getting supplies for a project

Getting supplies for a project

He said “I can’t believe you took a picture!”  You can even see it on his face, hahahaha.

One of our sons lives in Salina, Kansas and works for Wilson Engineering as a Mechanical Engineer.  Right now he is working on a huge project that is being built somewhere in New Mexico near the Arizona border.  Curtis has talked with Joe about it so I have it from Joe in pieces.

I think Joe told me Burlington Northern Railways has a big switching station that Curtis is working on to design the fueling system for the engines.  As they come into the designated area and over a huge pit the engines are inspected below ground as they are being fueled.

Now I can’t tell you if the pit is actually already there or if Curtis is designing the pit as well as the pumping system to bring diesel fuel from a holding tank elsewhere on the site up to this pit area where hoses will be attached to allow the fueling process to happen as the engine is being inspected.  Don’t have all the details on that.

Preparing the creation

Preparing the creation

I’ve told Joe of my idea for Curtis’ birthday present and what I want.  Since Joe has knowledge of working with pipes and couplings I figured he was my “Go To Guy” for this project.  Otherwise I’d have to ask someone at the store and then this idea would be shelved because I don’t have any idea how to put this stuff together.  Besides, he’s Curtis’ Dad and thereby is roped into this project :o)

Poor Joe.  He has to work on surfaces that are not meant for tools 😦  Someday I hope to find a way to get him into a place that will have space for a “Man Cave” so he can have a place to play with his tools.  For now, the barbecue grill will have to suffice.

"Sweating" the pipes

"Sweating" the pipes

The grill worked as a good place for him to solder all the parts we picked out to assemble the project.  Watching him make this thing come together was fun.

Since I don’t know if Curtis or Brenda (his wife) read my foolishness and nonsense I can’t take the chance of blowing the surprise so you will only see this in pieces as a work in progress until it has been finished and he has received it.

Alas, it is going to be late in getting to Curtis.  His birthday is the 20th of February and today is the 16th.  Really, it should already be in the mail to him but I could not figure out how to accomplish this by myself.

I’m so excited to be getting back to creating.  That damn paperwork has sucked the life out of me and I’m rebelling now.  Going to take a couple days off from it so I can get my head back on straight.

As I work on Curtis’ birthday present I still have quite a bit of work to do on the present for my granddaughter, Reilee, and her birthday has done long passed 😦  I have only one birthday in March to work on so I’m hoping to get Krasi’s (k-res-a) done on time.  Then four in April to do.  That dreaded paperwork has got to be done long before that so I don’t have to divide up so much of my time.

Joe is on his way to deliver his trucks this morning to Greensboro, North Carolina (he reminded me of where he is going).  Then, as of now, he is deadheading up around Grand Rapids, Michigan to take trucks to Houston, Texas.  He plans on being home for a while after that.  Plans will most likely change a few times between now and then.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “I Took Joe Shopping

  • Maureen Mathis

    What a great project! You and Joe were really meant for each other – your imaginative side is counterbalanced by his handy building skills! Of course, he has his creative side as well, evidenced by his many creative ways of dealing with occasional equipment emergencies on the road! And you’ve created efficient systems that tame the elephant-sized paperwork stemming from your day job! I’d say you two are a match made in heaven, just when you needed it the most. You guys had to be honed (OK, you’d choose a DIFFERENT word, I’m sure…!) before coming together, so that you could truly appreciate one another’s gifts! Tell Joe that I say HI!

    • Message In A Fold

      Maureen, I appreciate you and your very special comment. Thank you. “Honed” would be a very appropriate word. Yep, “honed” is correct.

      Before he left yesterday morning he thanked me for getting him involved in this project. He so enjoyed putting the piece together and is looking forward to getting home by the middle to the end of next week to finish his part in it. It was fun getting him involved and watching him using his equipment. I’m feeling better finding that my creative side did not die from the deleterious effects of the paper work 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

  • Lynn Claridge

    This project for Curtis sounds very intriguing and I’m lookig forward to seeing the result of the work you and Joe put into it.
    Sounds as though your crafty projects are going to keep you busy with all these family birthdays.

    Joe looked well! Hope he can get home for a while.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      You don’t know the half of it all. I’m getting pretty excited about the prospect of having my days spent creating. I hope I can get through most of the summer birthdays before I have to leave 😦 once again. Joe has gotten so excited about creating this piece for Curtis that he is even thinking of shortening the time we spend on the road by having more time at home to create things. THAT would be wonderful.

      Thank you for your message to Joe, he got a kick out of it.
      Love you – Leslie

      • Lynn Claridge

        So Joe is looking forward to creating and crafting too? I can just imagine you two taking a whole load of crafted items on your journeys and at designated places setting up a stall to sell your items 🙂 Now that would be fun!
        You and Joe are both so creative and creatively minded that I bet your items would sell like hotcakes.

        Brilliant stuff

        Love and hugs
        Lynn xx

      • Message In A Fold

        Taking finished creations along and stopping to sell them is not going to happen. Even such an awesome idea like you proposed 😦 My Joe is just as bad with the truck driving as I am with the paperwork and other things I do. We both are a bit of workaholics. To get Joe to stop, other than to eat or sleep, is nearly impossible. I have to put my really nasty whining on to achieve the desired result of stopping 😦 Oh well, I guess if we didn’t have something to do it would be pretty bad.

        Thank you for your sweet comment. I do so appreciate you my dear friend.
        Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

