Joe’s Home

Well, for today only.  He will be leaving tomorrow morning early to finish this trip to Alabama or Georgia, I don’t remember which it is.

After he picked up his last truck in Sacramento, California on Thursday and had a final visit with his friend in Reno, Nevada he tried to make his way to Bakersfield, California for the night. Traffic was pretty bad and slowed his progress.  Friday night he spent in Fresno, California.  After leaving Fresno on Saturday morning he was shooting for Kingman, Arizona for the night.  He had to make one stop.  Murray Family Farms.

Buddah's Hand Citron

Buddah's Hand Citron

This fresh fruit and vegetable market is open year round.  He wanted to see what seasonal fruits were available, always hoping for one last bin of cherries – ever hopeful 🙂  Citrus is now in season.  Fresh oranges, grapefruit, lemons, and limes.  As he perused the harvested bounty his eyes came to a spot where two Buddah’s Hand Citron fruit rested.  Now there is only one.  Joe brought home not just the Buddah’s Hand Citron but a bag of fresh California naval oranges.

Smelling the Buddah's Hand

Smelling the Buddah's Hand

The fragrance of this odd citrus fruit is hard to describe.  It has a floral aroma in that it is sweet smelling.  It does not smell like an orange or a grapefruit.  It has a slight citrus smell, but mostly it smells like orange blossoms.  As Joe made his way toward home with the Buddah’s Hand in a plastic bag the fragrance would waft with the bumps that jarred the bag safely stored on the passenger seat.  The poor thing weathered the cold nights in the truck when Joe stopped and greeted him each morning with its special floral and delicate citrus smell having permeated the truck overnight.

Futuristic creature

Futuristic creature

This fruit has a very unsettling appearance.  Like some mutant squid or octopus.  The ends of the “fingers” curl at the tips into sharp looking claws.  Gives me the heebie jeebies just looking at it.  I think I’ve watched way too many Science Fiction movies 😦  Click on any of the photos to see them in larger size.

The outer peel is pitted as an orange is with the bumpy texture.  The “fingers” are firm to the touch and when squeezed the sweet aroma intensifies.  As it lays upon the wooden surface of the cart the fragrance fills our home with the delicate sweet scent.

Compared to a soda/pop can

Compared to a soda/pop can

Further comparison

Further comparison

As a size comparison I’ve used a soda/pop can to demonstrate the length and width of this strange fruit.

Joe has asked me what we are going to do with this Buddah’s Hand.  I don’t have a clue.  The poor thing is going to be admired and repulsed I guess until it withers and rots then is unceremoniously dumped in the trash can.  Oddity that it is, at least I can say that we have actually held one in our hands and had the pleasure of smelling its fragrance for a while.  Even though it looks like an octopus on its side and some kind of terrifying many fanged monster spider while looking at the underside of it.  Heebie Jeebies.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

5 responses to “Joe’s Home

  • Maureen Mathis

    I guess you could rub it in your hands after working with garlic or onions in the kitchen! Or take it to a pre-school for a day, and let them use to to show the kids that not all fruits are the same! The teachers could research it and teach the kids about it!

    • Message In A Fold

      Ooooh, taking it to a school is an excellent idea. I think I know where an elementary school is close to where I live. I’ll have to check on that today. Thanks Maureen for that really great idea! It would be a shame to let this wonder of nature just spoil here at home when it could be used and shared.

  • Lynn Claridge

    I wouldn’t be able to resist tasting it. I would just have to know what it tasted like. It sounds as though it has a perfume not unlike a Quince. This is a fruit although rarely eaten raw but is used in homes tp perfume the air although many people used to make jam and jelly from it. Quince jelly was used to accompany game meats.
    Maureen’s idea is a good one though to enable children to see something different and unusual.
    Oh fresh picked lemons and limes – I bet those smell beautiful 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      I don’t believe I’ve heard of Quince. Getting to learn something new, cool 🙂 As I have been trying to describe the smell of the Buddah’s Hand and the sweetness of the scent it reminds me of the bloom of the Honeysuckle. Very sweet smell.

      As to tasting it? I don’t know that I want to. Gives me the heebie jeebies just thinking about it. I think I will let less inhibited children find out what it tastes like. They will be more apt to find this thing interesting enough to investigate further 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

  • Lynn Claridge

    Hi Joe 🙂
    Safe travels tomorrow

    hugs
    Lynn xx

Leave a Reply

