Keep Going

To watch this video, click on the link in the window for it to play in YouTube.  In my search for my next personal motivator I found this video.  This is about a football team that has a bit of a challenge with confidence.  The team they are facing is a winning team.  What do these boys have to face?  The challenge is to overcome themselves!

In my life, I am at a point that I want to quit after I’ve had such a good start.  The box of Trip Envelopes on the table yet to be dealt with is enormous.  The box on the floor with more papers in it is just as large.  I’m going to go “One more piece of paper and one more trip envelope”.  I’m going to give this my best.  Everything in me.  I will succeed in getting this horrid project finally done by the deadline I have set for myself.

The above bit was done last night before I finally called it a day and went to bed.

Today – February 7, 2010 – I finished all of the bank reconciliation deeds I needed to do, labeled all the folders for April so they are ready for tomorrows challenge, AND I even got the household data entry done for April and the associated bank statements reconciled.  I set my timer for 4 hours and FINISHED with 4 minutes and 36 seconds to go yet on the timer.  Woo Hoo.  I’m on fire!

I have some errands to run today.  Indira, your Stampin’ Up! box came on Friday afternoon so I’m off to the post office to send it on to you.  I’ve got some Mojo going so laundry is going to be dealt with, and I’ll even get the house vacuumed and swept.  Heck, I might even get the kitchen and bathroom floors washed too.

Household receipt box

Household receipt box

It feels so good to actually see the progress I’m making in this monster of a task.

This is the box below the table.  Each month whatever mail comes in is stuffed into a file folder for the month.

As I weed through the monthly folder and separate out the business documents (Settlement Sheets, Corporate Lodging receipts, bank statements) the folder gets smaller and smaller.  What is left in the folder in the box under the table is only household stuff.  The business stuff gets worked at and put under my computer table in the plastic bin.  Eventually I will have to purchase two plastic bins to store the 2010 documents in, but that will be later.

Load and Settlement labels

Load and Settlement labels

Dymo Labeler

Dymo Labeler

Did I tell you that I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE my Dymo Labeler?  I think i have, but it is worth repeating.

This one has the ability to print postage but I haven’t figure out how to use the online postage program that prints the postage labels.  That is what postage stamps are for anyway.  If I really need to have something shipped I use the Post Office Click-n-Ship feature.  That I can do.

Tomorrow's work

Tomorrow's work

This is my work for tomorrow.  The April loads and Settlement Sheets.  This will be longer than 4 hours to do.  It will be another long day to slog through each one of the envelopes with tons of receipts.

The box with the Trip Envelopes yet to do is leaning forward now instead of standing straight.

Progress, it feels so good 🙂

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

7 responses to “Keep Going

  • joannapingky

    Hi message, your keep going post is really one particular of the most beneficial substance that :-bd.
    Dont forget to visit back my blog (http://downloadmp3indonesia.net/), glad to meet you… Thanks…,Best!!! 🙂

  • Maureen Mathis

    Wow, great job! I’ll be working on mine tonight! Wish me luck!

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you Maureen. I gather, from what you said in your text, you have donation documents to go through for your Non-Profit and the fund raising event you held. Ugh, that sounds like “Data Base” entries. One box for each thing like a first name, last name, address, amount pledged. That sounds like tedious work indeed.

      You Go Girl!!! I’m with you and cheering you on. Once you figure out your sequence then your “Mojo” will kick in. I know you will knock this out in no time flat. What is your deadline? Keep me posted on your progress 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

  • Lynn Claridge

    You beat the timer 🙂 Woohoo! That is great. Keep yourself motivated and we will help you get through this.
    The problem with these types of jobs is that they are so isolating, think that is what makes them worse. But you are doing great and I am soooo proud of you for kicking the butt of this personal monster.

    Don’t forget to eat though! You need to keep the brain power and blood sugar at optimum levels 🙂

    Hugs and love
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Yes, and I even got my laundry done and the appliances cleared off! Amazing.

      It is not just this job that is isolating, it is because I’m home here by myself all the time with no one to keep me from burning out, and if I follow my usual pattern I will in about two weeks. It will get done by the deadline but there will be much grumbling accompanying it.

      Hey, do chocolate covered donuts count as brain power and blood sugar foods? Just wondering 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

  • Lynn Claridge

    Trouble with chocolate covered doughnuts is that they also go on the bum 😦 And that makes us even more crabby! They may be tasty but don’t fll your tummy up for long so a bowl of soup or a good hearty sandwich is so much better but I’d end up with the chocolate covered doughnuts 🙂

    Hugs and love
    Lynn xx

Leave a Reply

