Using Fantasy Film

I received a package from Lynn Claridge all the way from the UK recently.  She included a bit of Fantasy Film and some heat bond fibers in the package.  This was the first time I had ever seen, or heard, of this type of product.  The Fantasy Film is made by Art Glitter out of Cottonwood, Arizona.

Below is a YouTube video showing how to use the Fantasy Film and heat embossing powder to make a necklace pendant.

 

Here is a YouTube video that shows how to use the Fantasy Film along with an inked rubber stamp and an iron.

Stampin’ Up! has some “Simply Adorned” charms in various sizes.  5/8″ Square, 1″ x 1″ Square, 1″ x 1-1/4″ Square, 1-1/2″ x 2″ Square.  I’ve held one of these recently and can tell you there is not much room within the inner workings of the locket.  I  think I will have to purchase one of these and give it a try with the Fantasy Film and see if it works or not.

Lynn also sent a link to the precious little box she created for me that held some wonderful treasures within.  Origami Box With Lid tutorial can be found at this link.  There are a couple pages you can print that have photographic instructions along with written instructions for the creation of the boxes.

Now this might be enough information to get you thinking about doing something just a bit different.  It certainly has me thinking about it.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

14 responses to “Using Fantasy Film

  • Nancy

    Very cool! Can’t wait to see what you do with it Leslie! I love Lynn’s little boxes…they’re wonderful! I’m off to my studio to try to get something done today! Not sure how far I’ll get! My Splurge Club kept me up way too late last night…lots of fun though! But today the winds are blowing and it’s -35C. Yes…that is very cold! lol My Mom is having her surgery today, as well! So I have several things pulling my focus away from my progress! I’ll keep you posted! Hope you have a happy day! 🙂

    • Message In A Fold

      -35C?! What is that in Fahrenheit? About 5,000 below zero? :o) My goodness, even if it is not THAT crazy cold, it is still very cold where you live.

      I didn’t know your Mom was in the hospital and going to have surgery. I’ll send prayers out for a very skilled surgeon and nursing staff, and that your Mom does well during and after the surgery.

      I’m so glad you had a good time at your Splurge Club last night and on into the wee hours of the morning :-). I’m looking forward to what you will be creating from your studio. The results, I’m sure, will be seen by all in the next few days. Have fun crafting today and I seriously do hope all news you hear on your Mom’s front is GOOD news.
      Love you – Leslie

      • Nancy

        Good morning!
        Yes, Splurge went to the wee hours of the morning! I got home at 10:30! That’s way past MY bedtime! lol I know it’s very early for most…right Lynn? haha For me it was really late and totally off schedule!
        It warmed up a little bit yesterday but the windchill ended up at -40. Overnight it warmed to -10 or so but now it’s dropping again and should be -27 for a “high” today! lol
        My Mom’s surgery didn’t go as well as expected. It’s so hard not being there! 😦 It turns out the cancer had spread after all. I don’t know any details yet though. I’m hoping to hear more soon.
        I tried to work on my challenge page yesterday but I found myself too distracted to accomplish anything. Just messsed around a bit. I’ll see if I can get it done today.
        I see your note too, Lynn. Thank you for the vibes! lol No worries of me sending the cold your way! The rate things are going around here, nothing will be headed your way ’til it’s warm out! haha No, I’m just kidding! Both of you…I have to get my butt in gear before that…SERIOUSLY!! Aackk!! That’s all I have to say! 🙂 One day at a time and I’ll eventually get it all done!
        Prayers would be much appreciated. I know they work! What are you ladies working on today?
        Nancy 🙂

      • Message In A Fold

        Oh Nancy 😦 I am so sorry to hear about your Mom. You must be pretty close to being a basket case with her so far away and not in on the details of what is going on with her. I don’t think I’d get much of anything done were I in your place, either. Worry and wonder, second guessing where you need to be, wishing you could be near her. I’d brave the minus temperatures were I closer to you and give you a hug and just chat. Well, that is not entirely truthful. While I’m giving you a hug and listening to your heartfelt worry and concern for your Mom my mind would be selfishly trying to figure out HOW to get in your crafty space 🙂

        I’m glad you had a good time at your Splurge and stayed up w-a-a-a-a-a-a-a-y past your bedtime :o)

        Today, shamefully, I’m working on getting myself OUT of the habit of spending the day in my pajamas!! I do take a shower each evening and put on clean jammies. I’ve gotten into such a really bad habit of not getting dressed since I don’t go anywhere but stay inside. Now everyone will be horrified to learn of my slovenly habits 😦

        Craft wise I’m working on a mini album for next month using office supplies as the primary components and Stampin’ Up! papers, rubber stamps, ribbon, brads, and other embellishments as the decorative elements.

        I will continue to pray for you and your Mom. Let us know of any changes. All of us, I’m sure, have our thoughts on you as you go about your days.
        Love you Girlfriend – Leslie

    • gardenpinks

      Hi Nancy brr that is way too cold please don’t send any our way. I’m whimpering at
      -13C 😦
      Sending good vibes for your mum and hope all goes well there.
      Take care of yourself too

      Love and hugs
      Lynn xxx

  • gardenpinks

    Leslie those youtube links very good. I forgot t mention in my enthusiasm that the fantasy film can be used on it’s own as can the angelina fibres. The fibres, when ironed, make lovely backgrounds and can be stamped on.
    It didn’t take you long to find some links 🙂 Hope you enjoy experimenting with it all.
    The boxes are so easy to make and are lovely for putting little gifts in.
    Looking forward to seeing some that you make.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      You mention that the angelina fibers can be ironed and make a good background. Do you iron them to paper? Asked that before I went to YouTube and found a video on just placing the fibers between a folded teflon craft mat and ironing it on Silk setting. Hmmmm, wonder if my iron still works? It has been hung up for a very long time and has not been used in forever. Ideas are beginning to spin around in my head. Thank you for the fantastically unique gifts you gave me.
      Love you – Leslie

  • Lynn Claridge

    Leslie I put some strands of the fibres between two pieces of baking parchment and then iron but either do the ironing on an ironing board or wooden board. Tease the fibres out well.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

  • Lynn Claridge

    Here is another youtube link for using your fantasy fil and fibres ad then putting the resulting mix through an embossing folder – very pretty 🙂

    Love Lynn xx

  • Nancy

    Good morning! Happy Saturday to you! Do you quilt Leslie? If you don’t you really have to start! The fantasy film is fantastic when used on quilt projects! I just thought I’d throw that in there as an additional option! lol
    Okay…update on my Mom…she’s doing really well! They did take a bunch of lymph nodes that were cancerous but they came out easy. They’re quite certain they got it all. They lump itself also came out easy along with all the surrounding tissue. So the doctors say all went very well. She has a fair bit of pain but the meds are taking care of that. I talked to her last night…or rather she talked, and talked, and talked. lol
    So I did manage to get my challenge page up yesterday, as you already saw. I thought I’d answer some of your questions here, Leslie. I think I’ll redo the picture today as I’m really not happy with it. To make the flowers I used a spiral die, cut it in half so it would be flatter and rolled it all up. It’s supposed to be quite similar to the Sizzix 3D flower die. The border at the top is a Martha Stewart punch and I added little pearls to it. The top & bottom of the lyric paper are one of the Tim Holtz On the Edge dies. The flowers and flourish are another Sizzix die. Yes, you’re right about the butterflies. Our Splurge rep gave us each a sample. I just placed an order for my own. I love the little butterflies! I think that coveres all your questions. I’m glad you liked my page. Oh…I also used my stampin’ up music note wheel to do the background page. I love that thing! Oh dear! I’m writing a whole book here! lol
    Have a happy day! 🙂

    • Message In A Fold

      Quilting 😦 That is a dirty word that conjures up images of off kilter squares, a seam ripper that had been used so often it broke in my hand, and swearing so often that the air around my head was PURPLE instead of blue.

      I’ve sewn for years and years. As a matter of fact I used to make all of Joe’s shirts. For the summer I made him shorts and shirt sets that he wore quite often. Not many of the shirts are still around because he left them behind in hotel rooms when he was in a hurry to get out and back to work. That was before I starting riding with him and later driving with him. Since then I haven’t had my sewing machine and serger out to see daylight. Mostly because I’ve found a different creative outlet that I don’t swear so often and I enjoy it much better.

      Great news about your Mom. I’m real sorry to hear that she is dealing with cancer but it sounds as though she is one Tough Cookie 🙂 You were probably relieved to hear her voice, even though she did all the talking 🙂

      I love your music page. It is so full of things to look at and it is so pretty. You do such a good job with that crazy Stampin’ Around Wheel. No wonky bits. I do it and it looks like I’ve had a drinky poo or five with all the staggers and messed up images. Guess I need to practice with them more often 😦

      Girlfriend, stay warm in your minus degree/Celsius weather. I’ll continue to keep you and your Mom in my prayers.
      Love you – Leslie

  • Nancy

    haha…Okay, never mind the quilting then!

    I LOVE those Stampin’ Up wheels! I even “2nd generation” stamped this one so it would be subtle for the background. I just ordered the Jumbo wheel too. I intend to collect quite a few of them! 🙂

    Things have really changed here! It’s almost 4 a.m. and it’s only -8 headed up to a high of -1 today. Crazy weather! lol

    Thanks very much for the continued prayers! Hope you have a very happy day!
    Love you,
    Nancy 🙂

    • Message In A Fold

      Wow, you are going to have a balmy day :o) I remember when we lived in Colorado. January and February were the worst months for snow and severe cold. 15 below made it so hard to breath with the cold air sending freezing stings down our throats and up our noses. How you deal with temperatures even lower boggles my mind.

      I’m going to practice with those Stampin’ Wheels. They make a guide that helps keep the drunken weevies at bay so I think I’d better order one of those. Get those little gems out of the drawer and use them. What do you do at your Splurge Nights? You said the lady that heads it up game you each some of the butterflies from the embosslet and you bought one. Do you guys make cards and play with the toys and see the new stuff? Get fodder for your new Challenges that you do? I’m so glad you had fun with a group of women 🙂

      Keep me posted on your Mom and how she is doing. I hope she gets to go home soon. Is she going to be going through the dreaded chemo after she is released or is she going to do radiation? Do you even know? Continued prayers for you and your family.
      Love you – Leslie

  • aspot2stamp

    What a lot of stuff I’ve missed this weekend. Lynn sent me a bit of the film too but I hadent searched alot of youtube for it so thanks for sharing your research. I hope you all are doing well I’ve been running my legs off and getting a bit of crafting in while kiddie-less 🙂 Ncncy I’ll add your Mom to my prayer list for speedy healing.Hope you are keeping warm in your very cold weather I am still having problems with posting to your site I will keep trying though. Take care Ladies.
    Hugs,
    Shelly

Leave a Reply

