The Package Arrived From The UK

 

Package from the UK

Package from the UK

Tucked between my door and the screen door was this package when Joe and I came back home from running some errands.  A bit squished and battered though, it has finally reached its destination.

Looks like driving on the wrong side of the road is not all the Brits do differently 🙂  Their postage is placed on the wrong side of the box :o)  Good thing it clearly says “Royal Mail” or I would have just tossed the box on the table and left it for later.

Poor Lynn has been fretting over the whereabouts of this package since she mailed it on December 6, 2010.  At least it was not on a “slow boat to China” 😉

 

Goodies from a tiny box

Goodies from a tiny box

Inside the box was another box, wrapped in bubble wrap.  Slightly mushed but not badly.

Within the little box treasures were found.  Bling and more bling….plus a “flying pig” that is the cutest.  The domino has a floral print on the back side and I forgot to turn it over.  The blue and gold flower had my full attention for most of the paw through.  The bright and shiny blue sparkles like it is transparent painted tin or metal.  Stunning it most certainly is.  I love the two little yellow flowers also.  The little bag holds Christmas trees and sleighs which are brads.  They are so darling.  A tassel I have a use for.  My daughter, Carissa, has a birthday tomorrow and I can use it on a thing I am creating for her.  She already knows it will be late.  I think I may have to use some of the blingy pieces too on her gift.  I’ll take pictures of it and post it later.

To view these “Thumbnail” photos, below, in a larger size, click on the thumbnail you want to see enlarged.

 

Beautiful box

Beautiful box

Inside box

Inside box

Spine of box

Spine of box

This is the little box all the treasures came in.  Hand stamped by Lynn?  Seed pearls are adhered at the curly Q’s and are so pretty on the box.  Maybe we can beg, wheedle, plead, and ask nicely for instructions on creating the box?

 

Floral frames

Floral frames

This set of floral frames were included in the package from Lynn.  These are so beautiful.  Gold rims the inner frames with floral bouquets draped around them.  These are almost too pretty to use on something….ALmost.

Visions of a heartfelt sentiment or poem centered within the frame.  If I did counted cross stitch still I might think about whipping something up to go with these, alas my eye sight and patience are both not what they used to be.

 

Beautiful ornate panel #1

Beautiful ornate panel #1

Beautiful ornate panel #2

Beautiful ornate panel #2

Click on either of these two thumbnail photos to view them enlarged.  These are both beautiful.  Frankly, I’ve never seen anything like these before.  Each of these panels are about 5″ x 7″ and the frame area is about 2″ x 3″.  There will be a lot of digging through photos to find appropriate pictures to place in these frames.  Maybe, I’ll just stare at them for a while longer and take in the rich details of each one.

The next items I’ve never seen nor heard of before.  Please let me know what to do with these.

 

Fantasy Film and Hot Fix Angel Hair

Fantasy Film and Hot Fix Angel Hair

There are some instructions with each of these items.  There is a reference to a YouTube video on the Fantasy Film.  The Hot Fix Angel Hair stuff is to be heated with an iron between parchment paper and they bond to each other.  The Fantasy Film has some instructions to be laid atop an inked stamp then a dry iron is to be placed atop the sandwich of stamp and film.  Seems as though I may  have to do some experimenting in the future.  Hmmmm, I wonder if these are available in the US?

 

 

Easle type Christmas Card

Easle type Christmas Card

I really MUST try this technique and soon.  Lynn has created a video showcasing her “Grid Card” on YouTube, click on the link above to watch the two-part series.

This is such a beautiful card using her Christmas themed rubber stamps.   It looks so festive and cheery.  Lynn sent me a “Flag Book” some time back she did using her “Grid Card” technique and I adore it.  Many a day I don’t get much done in my room because I spend quite a bit of time looking at Maureen’s tag and card she made, the mini album made for me by Jann Gray (Saulsberry),  along with Lynn’s Flag Book.  I probably ought to stop that before I rub the papers into fuzzy bits.

Its crazy, I know, but feeling the textures that Maureen did on her tag and card with the stamping and embossing, and the sweep and drag feel of Lynn’s Flag book, the grainy texture of “Soot” Jann did on the outer edges of the mini album.  What can I say, I just love the feel of paper….any paper….and I love to look at the creativity of other people’s work.

 

Maltesers

Maltesers

Last, but not the least, is this bag of Maltesers from Lynn that was tucked into the box.  Lynn had put up a recipe to make a cake of some kind, I don’t remember what it was now.  Two of the ingredients are honey and Maltesers.  I asked about the latter since that is a total unknown to me.

Boy, do I know what to do with these :o)  Maybe I’ll not open them and save them because they come from the UK.  Well…..since they are resealable…..

Oh crapazoid.  I guess I can always make a scrapbook page with the empty bag 🙂

Thank you Lynn for your very generous box of goodies.  How have you been able to part with most of these items?  I think I would have trouble letting go of some of them, wondering if they were going to a good home or not 😦  Yes, I’m totally insane.  The men in the white coats just might come knocking on my door any minute.  Better open the bag of Maltesers before they do arrive.

 

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

11 responses to “The Package Arrived From The UK

  • Carissa

    You are so funny, Mom! When you were talking about the blue and gold flower (which is gorgeous, Lynn!!!) and how it kept your attention, it made me think of an Ostrich distracted from everything because of shiny objects…That’s funny!!! Love you, Mom!!! Lynn, your care package looks wonderful!!! I am so glad my Mom has friends near and far that share her passion, and provide her with such great friendships!!!! It is very special to me to see her loving all of this, and how much all of her friends love it, fueling her passion even that much more!!!! Thank you!

    • Message In A Fold

      Sweetie, so good to see you here and posting a comment. It is so funny that you made the “Ostrich” reference because I feel like one most of the time. Oooh shiny stuff, oooh over there more shiny stuff :o) I so love you, my dear. Once again, were it not for you I would not be doing this at all…..or be married to the most wonderful man in the world. As with everything good in my life it has been possible mostly because of you. How lucky can a Mom be?! ~yucky…mushy stuff~
      I love you my Rissa.
      Mom

  • shar

    lol on the Malteasers
    yu always crack me up

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you Shar. It is so good to hear from you. Where you live, are you any where near where the flooding has been going on? Geography was not one of my best subjects in school. I hope you and your family are doing well.
      Love you – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    Oh at last!! Where the hell did that parcel go to before arriving battered and bashed on your doorstep??
    In fact I was in the process of making up another parcel because I felt soooo bad that your Christmas present hadn’t arrived.

    The angelina fibres and fantasy film are gorgeous. Cut two small pieces of the film and sandwich a small amount of teased out angelina fibre and place on an inked stamp (stamp rubber side up on a flat work surface), cover with a couple of pieces of baking parchment (not waxed paper) and heat with a warm iron all over -don’t let anything slide over the stamp otherwise the image will smudge – until you can see the stamped image. Remove from stamp. If the film hasn’t bonded then iron over again – a hot iron will change the colour of the film. Cut around the stamped image. Beautiful for butterflies and dragonflies and some people make several layers and then adhere a brooch fastening to the backside of the image. It is so pretty. But do look for some youtube videos on them.

    The blue and silver flower is made from stickers – I stuck them to cardstock and cut around the outlines and then stuck them on top of each other. Very effective.

    Thank you Rissa for your lovely comments. Never thought of your mom as an ostrich before 🙂 Over here she would be called a Magpie – another bird that is famous for collecting bright, shiny objects 🙂 The magpie is a handsome black and white fellow but has some bad habits.

    I will find the tutorial for the box and send you the link as it is so easy to make. I made 30 of those boxes for the children of the craft club just before Christmas!

    Enjoy the maltesers Leslie and so glad you like the box of delights including the flying pig 🙂
    I enjoyed putting this together for you my Girlfriend.

    Much love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

  • gardenpinks

    PS we don’t normally put the postage on the left side of the box – it usually goes on the right hand side. Our daughter took this to the post office and perhaps the teller couldn’t fit it properly on the right side 🙂
    Who knows!

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      I hope that I did not offend you with my comments on driving on the wrong side of the road and putting the postage on the wrong side of the package 😦 There was no ill intent in the comments I made. It got here anyway and I do appreciate your thoughtful gift.
      Love you – Leslie

      • gardenpinks

        Of course I didn’t take offence – what is there to take offence at? It is just leg pulling and I can stand that 🙂
        Love and hugs
        Lynn xx

      • Message In A Fold

        I bet you guys make remarks about us over here driving on the wrong side of the road also 🙂 How is your weather? Shelly is getting hit with the snow continuously and Nancy is so far below freezing that it is mind boggling to me. We got about 1/2 inch of snow yesterday – woke up to mostly ice.

        So glad you knew I was just teasing you :o)
        Love you – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    Here is the link for the origami box
    http://magic-boxes.blogspot.com/search?updated-min=2009-01-01T00%3A00%3A00Z&updated-max=2010-01-01T00%3A00%3A00Z&max-results=23

    You will need to scroll down the page for the tutorial. You can use any size square of cardstock to vary the size of the finished box but in this case she uses 21 x 21 cm (roughly 8 1/4 x 8 1/4 inches). I then cut a square of cardstock to go into the bottom of the box.
    All the stamping is mine 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

Leave a Reply

