Briefly Out Of The Tunnel

Being home with no distractions, have a couple projects to do, I get “Tunnel Vision” and everything outside the sphere is totally  neglected.  Everything falls to the wayside during these stints.  Everything and everyone.  Flylady‘s mantra of “You can do anything in 15 minutes” gets totally ignored.

Paper work has come to a dead stand still and nothing has been done with it since I began the online course of Creating A Website on November 10th.  Progression has been from maddeningly slow to full speed ahead.  I’m nearly done with my website.  The end is in sight.

I have my Sister with me for a few days while Les and Joe are out being “Road Warriors”.  Pati and Tweety will be here with me to keep me company.  I have plans (rubbing hands together) bwahahahahaha.  Tweety will be sprinkled with glitter and probably have a piece of foam dot paper or two on her.  Christmas card creations will be happening at our kitchen table for Pati’s family and friends.  I get to be a teacher with an actual person to teach.  Rubber stamping, using the paper trimmer, the Big Shot.  Oh, half of my craft room will be out at the kitchen table.  What fun!!!

I have a few things to share with you.  Joe and Les were at a Waffle House in Van Buren, Arkansas.  A server that had put in 28 years of service had suffered a massive heart attack and was rushed to the hospital.  Having no insurance to take care of her hospital stay, her co-workers began searching for some way of helping out in her time of need.   The solution has been items sold from Willie MakeIt  that are sold at the Waffle House.  All proceeds from the sale of these items go directly to the server.

 

Stick out tongue fan

Crying face fan

Ever have one of those days you’d like to stick your tongue out at someone and NOT really do it?  Or let someone know you are having a bad moment?  Cover your mouth with these fans and display your emotions.

 

Hillbilly cell phone

Caller ID

Phil Baker, aka Willie MakeIt is a comedian at one of the show places in Branson, Missouri.  He created this “Hillbilly Cell Phone” with “Caller ID” and the two fans above.  These items are sold at the Waffle House for the woman that has served hot coffee and waffles with a smile and excellent service to customers for 28 years.  Waffle House employees contacted Mr. Baker and asked if they could sell his items to raise money for  the woman and he stepped right up and shipped boxes of product to the store.

I love America and the open and loving hearts of our people.  Willing to help someone out that is in a bind and get them through their tough spot in life.

Sorry this post is so short, but I’m off to begin my duties as a “Stampin’ Up! Demonstrator”.  The results will be shared over the next few days.

Everyone, try to stay warm and dry.  Safe passage on all roadways you travel.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

4 responses to “Briefly Out Of The Tunnel

  • Shelly

    Nice to hear that you are doing Well Leslie 🙂 Also will be awaiting your website How exciting. Can’t wait to see what Patti and you come up with Sure to be lovely and What fun to get to actually share your love of papercrafting with someone you love Great memories will be made. OOOO when Tweetie gets all sparkly be sure to share 🙂 lol It is a rich blessing to live in our great country isen’t it, we are all so blessed even in these hard economic times. I will pray for the waffle house server. Take care and have fun Both you and Patti.
    Much love and many Christmas wishes for you all,
    Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      Shelly, you are such a dear, sweet, person. Thank you for thinking of the Waffle House server in your prayers. Yes, the prayers are all being sent by many it seems. Joe bought a bunch of the “Hillbilly Cell Phones” and the fans. His way of lending support. I hope you and your family are seeing the last of the flu bug in your household. You all remain in my prayers.

      Pati and I had a blast yesterday and I have PICTURES! 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    Hello Leslie, such a joy to see you blogging again 🙂 You have been sorely missed by all of us.
    Say hi to Pati from me and enjoy your crafting together and hope Tweety doesn’t mind being glittered and sparkled.
    By the way did you find a refrigerator to fit in your space?

    What a bunch of warm hearted and generous co workers that lady has, hope she appreciates all they are doing and also hope she mends well and quickly.

    Much love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Lynn, thank you for your concern and missing me. I appreciate your sweet friendship.

      Joe bought quite a few of the “Hillbilly Cell Phones” and the fans to lend his support. He was so impressed by the woman’s co-workers he had to do a “show and tell” and he also told me I had to put it up on my blog for others to see and go buy them. He has such a big heart and I love him for that.

      Pati and I had a great time and I have PICTURES 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

