A Bit Of Bragging

My Rissa (Carissa) is a budding Party Planner.  Somewhere in my house I have photos of a Bride’s Shower she did for a friend some years back.  Most recently she put together a huge “Retro” party, working with other people, for her church at a Dave and Busters (or is it Dave and Barry’s – I never can remember 😦 ) in Arizona.

For the Bride’s Shower she did an “Amazing RaceHawaii” theme.  She picked up six wood pieces from a local craft/hobby store.  They are like small unfinished plaques.  She painted them in bright colors and had the island names put on each plaque.  Each plaque was placed in different areas of a backyard as “stations” for the participants to go to.  I really need to find those photos to do this bragging justice!!!

At a pool in the backyard, empty liquor bottles (she begged and wheedled them from friends) floated on the water.  The contestants were supposed to pick out the correct bottles that would be used in creating the Bride’s favorite “toddy for the body”, a Margarita.  That was fun watching the women use a pool skimmer to get the bottles they thought would be correct without falling in the water themselves.

By a set of playground equipment she had a grass skirt, coconut bra, ukulele, Hawaiian print shirt, and something else.  The contestants had to don the wardrobe, over their clothing, and create a song and dance.  It was timed for about a minute.  That was a riot watching the nervous contestants get with the program and really begin to shake their booties.

In the garage of the home Carissa had a “station” to create a lei.  She had fresh flowers, needles, and thread for the creation of beautiful neck wear.  That was really fun for me to watch one young girl and her grandmother sit at a table and create a lei to wear.

 

Gift box

Inside box

Proudly use mine

Carissa and her husband, Jaime, made these boxes.  She filled them with flip flops, a small candle, a small tube of sun screen, and I don’t remember what else.  These were placed atop the tables where the guests would be having something to eat later on.  I proudly use my hand created box in my craft room.  It is so handy to store my “tools” in!!

Her most recent party was a “Retro – Back To The 80’s” and it is her first “Open To The Public” party.  She shopped around at a local used book store for vinyl records she hung on the walls, used on tables, and bought a couple bowls that had been made from vinyl records.  She found candy from the 80’s and had different kinds of holders place on tables and throughout the room for the guests to enjoy.

She spent a couple weeks with a small group of friends to work out the “Thriller” dance and do it in front of everyone.  She had the audience participate in the Thriller dance by having them come up and dance along with the people that had practiced forever (she says it seemed).  She also had an “Air Guitar” contest.

This is the only thing I am able to get hold of from the Retro Party and I just love it.  It is a 31 second video of the “Thriller Dance”.  My Rissa is in front with the blonde hair and dressed in black.  I’M SO PROUD OF HER!!!!!!!

Anyone that has photos or video of the Retro Party, please – please – please, let me know how to get copies of them.  I’ll pay you for them!!!!

 

 

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

10 responses to “A Bit Of Bragging

  • Lynn Claridge

    Cor wish I had been at that party it looks as though it was a great one. Long time since I’ve been to a ‘knees up’ like that – oh to be young again 🙂
    I am not at all surprised that you are so proud of your ‘litle’ girl Leslie. I love the box she and her hubby made, what a great gift but why haven’t you ‘altered’ it or decorated it? I’m surprised you haven’t yet.

    Could you and Shelly send some of your warm weather across please, it is perishing cold here.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    • Message In A Fold

      Brrrr brrrr brrrr that sounds like a kind of cold to set me to shivering. No wonder you want to high tail it to the Isles of Scilly, and the soonest the best 🙂

      Carissa had so much fun on the actual party day. The time she spent in getting it all put together was kind of tough on her. She had quite a few obstacles to clear and a couple times she was not sure she could pull it off. I had faith in her though and she did a fantastic job.

      The box…this is the crazy part. I don’t want to change it. She and Jaime made it so it is kind of “sacred”. Isn’t that crazy?!! If I had found it at a thrift store, or any other store for that matter, I would not hesitate to paint it, Mod Podge papers on it, or do something else to alter it. I love the box just as it is. Whack job I am at times 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

  • Lynn Claridge

    The reason why you aren’t getting into your stride with the paperwork Leslie is because of all of us! You didn’t have us to keep you away from your work with your blogs, websites and videos:)
    You know what they say? All work makes Jack (or Jill) a dull person 🙂

    Where is Joe and Les at the moment? Are they both okay?

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    • Message In A Fold

      No, you guys have nothing to do with it. Early in the morning, about 5:00 a.m., I get up to work on the blogs, check out your blog and the others I regularly visit, check and answer emails then I get about my paper work.

      I’m making headway now in getting things to begin working. There are so many files to work through. The bank reconciliations take the longest time to do and I have to do them last. I’ve found that this is not one of those tasks you get out of the way first. I spend even more time hunting down the item that has not been put in the register but is on the statements and then I have to back track a whole lot to make sure it gets the correct load number entered in the “Memo” area.

      Once I get the kinks finally worked out then it goes a whole lot smoother. I seem to be getting quite a bit done in this piece meal way, and I’m getting my crafting done also and don’t feel guilty about taking time away from the book work to play around in my room. That is my reward for slogging away at the book work all day long 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

      • Lynn Claridge

        Weather here has turned milder again but very wet and extremely windy 🙂 We do need the rain as we had a very dry and windy spell during the summer and the ground hasn’t yet absorbed enough water. No white, fluffy, cold stuff yet and hope we dont get any either – please not this year! Two very cold winters was bad enough.
        Poor Scotland and Ireland have been hit petty badly by the high winds and rain of late.

        Love and hugs
        Lynn xx

      • Message In A Fold

        Brrrr, brrrr, brrrr, brrr! Cold, windy, rain. That weather is so much colder than the days it snows. At least with the snow you don’t get totally drenched right away and have the bones chilled from the winds. Sorry to hear about your grandchild being in pain with an ear infection. That has got to be miserable for everyone, especially the little one 😦 I remember when my Rissa had ear infections when she was bitty. Poor baby, she hurt and there was nothing I could do to help. It finally stopped when she had tubes put in both of her ears but until then it was pretty tough on my little sweetie. I’ll keep your little granddaughter in my prayers, along with you and your whole family, for restoration of good health.
        Love you – Leslie

  • Shelly

    Oh how neat I’m an 80’s girl 🙂 That is what first drew me to youtube I love music videos 🙂 Carissa has an awesome talent putting together events like her parties. Not something that comes easily to alot of us 🙂 I have been too busy to check stuff good til tonight Long story I’ll post over at my blog if you’re interested.
    If I were a Genie, Lynn I’d blink you some warn wind and lots of warm sunrays 🙂 but alas you’re stuck with plain ole me 😉 so I’ll have to wish you warmth and second Leslies solution of a nice snuggle with Rod 🙂
    Hope you are all well,
    Love,
    Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      My daughter is the “social” one in my family. She loves to throw parties or get in and help with one. She gets so many ideas on parties that it amazes me. She is now in the midst of a birthday bash for her husband, including the cake! Hopefully I’ll get pictures of the event :o)

      I’ll check your blog to see what new is going on in your life.
      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

