10:30 p.m. And All Is Well In Fargo

Way up north in Pembina, North Dakota cell phone coverage is spotty, at best.  When I talked with Joe yesterday morning at 8:00 a.m. he was so riled and worked up about the events unfolding his frustration level was getting higher as we spoke.

Around 4:30 p.m. I called Joe to see how things were going and went directly to his voice mail.  Same with his Coldiron phone.  I got a bit worried since I had not heard from him all day.  Tamping down the worry before it turned into panic I told myself he will call when he can.  He did call at 6:12 p.m. and I heard about every other word then lost him.  So, panic averted because I did get in contact with him.

Joe and Les had a very long and cold day yesterday.  Windy, cold temperatures, but no snow.  Joe called me from a FedEx Kinko’s in Fargo, North Dakota at 10:30 p.m. to assure me that all was well and they had the Dock Receipts in hand and were in the process of making five copies of each of them for the requirements of the Baltimore Port.

There is enough anxiety over getting these trucks moved it has become a “Keystone Cops” comedy of errors that is not very funny.

In yesterday’s post I said there were two drivers on their way to Baltimore already.  In truth, that is not the case.  So here is a run down of what took place in Pembina.

  1. Someone was in Pembina to meet Joe and Les to tell them which trucks they were taking.  There was someone at the truck stop representing Coldiron and being a “traffic controller” of sorts.
  2. The two Two-Way drivers referred to as having already been there and gone…had in fact never shown up.  They committed themselves to the loads, said they were on the way, then later called and said they were not going to take the loads.
  3. The confusion around this fact was the terminology used.  Joe was told the drivers “Left on the load”.  Pressure was being poured on the drivers that did show up because of the two that will not be showing up.
  4. Nine of the 30 trucks still remain in Canada and there is no one that can legally go into Canada and bring the trucks out.  There is some other stuff going on with one of the guys that was doing the work of getting the trucks out of Canada and into Pembina.  He’s been banned from going back in.  The other person(s) going in and out of Canada have been sent on to other things.
  5. The trucks are not new, they are used Volvos.  *groan*  Similar to the ones Joe and I took out of Atlanta, Georgia and going to Compton, California on that “Trip from Hell”.  Here’s hoping they don’t experience any problems with the air dryer on these.
  6. The cold temperatures in Pembina, not freezing yet, had it’s own set of problems.  The trucks did not want to stay running.  Joe and Les had to stay with each truck until it quit sputtering and dying before they could begin their work.  That ate up over three hours and the bulk of the morning.
  7. Once the trucks were moved and positioned for Joe and Les to do the work of getting hooked up, the winds and cold were affecting their fingers making it hard to do their jobs.  Having to stop frequently and get in the running trucks to warm feeling back into aching fingers ate up more time.
  8. Both Joe and Les have some heavy duty winter gloves they were working with.  According to Joe the wind was driving the cold right through the gloves.
  9. By 4:30 p.m. other drivers began showing up, some more will be arriving later today.
  10. 6:00 p.m. Joe and Les were hooked up and waiting for someone to show up and air up low tires on the trucks.
  11. 7:30 p.m. the Dock Receipts arrived, one for each truck, along with some kind of strange document indicating the trucks were legally out of Canada and ready for transport.  The usual documents are copies of Titles belonging to each truck with the necessary paperwork that indicate transfer of ownership.
  12. 8:00 p.m. Joe and Les left Pembina and headed for Fargo.  129 miles away is food (neither of them had eaten anything since leaving the hotel that morning), a Kinko’s to make the full compliment of copies required by the port officials in Baltimore, and a much desired warm room and bed.

After having had some food, gotten warm, fingers moving freely once again, Joe called me from the Kinko’s and related his tale of the days events.  His telling of it jumped around in the time frame so much that I nearly lost track of how his day went.  He was so frustrated I let him vent and get it all out.

Once he was finished venting and calmed down, my poor Joe, realized he has nothing to do with this mess except get these four trucks in his care delivered on Monday.  The rest of the craziness is for someone else to deal with.

Joe told me that he and Les had planned on getting to Baltimore on Sunday morning, parking the trucks at a nearby truck stop then being tourists.  He was so bummed these plans were now dashed because of the long and grueling day they had.

Joe was feeling pretty bad about Les not getting to be on board a historic Clipper Ship, walking through a World War II submarine, spending time in Baltimore’s Inner Harbor, or tramping the grounds of Fort McHenry.  The more he talked of letting Les down the more determined he became in making it happen.

As it stands right now, Les and Joe will be tourists on Tuesday.  They will be going through the hoops at the port on Monday.  When they have made their delivery and seen the backs of those trucks they are going to a hotel and turning the work world off the remainder of the day.  Tuesday they will get up early and do the tourist thing.

Joe has even gone so far as to make me jealous.  Absolutely green with envy.  He plans on going to Charm City Cakes in Baltimore (we’ve been there and I have photos of the outside of the building).  Joe said he is going to go inside the bakery.  I told him if he makes it through, which I highly doubt, he will HAVE to get me something from Mary Alice.  Don’t get me wrong, I love Duff Goldman – owner of Charm City Cakes – but I’ve been an office manager before (in a different lifetime 20+ years ago) and I appreciate the role she plays in keeping Duff busy with cakes to make and sell.

I guess it is time for me to get off this blog and get cracking at my bookkeeping paperwork.  It won’t get done if I don’t get after it.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

12 responses to “10:30 p.m. And All Is Well In Fargo

  • Maureen Mathis

    Sounds like the boys will have a great day Tuesday, and just the thought of it on the horizon will help them put this trip behind them. Glad to hear you’re sticking with your plan of bookwork MWF. 15 minutes at a time! I had to change a tire this morning while taking Shannon to school – did it in 10 minutes flat! I really like being able to do it myself – I think it sets a great example for the kids. I’m taking Shannon to an orthorpedic surgeon in Austin today; she did something to her knee while running Sunday. The swelling has gone down, but now she has pain, and Basketball season is right around the corner. She’s bummed because she won’t be able to play in her very last (as an 8th grader) volleyball game Monday. But it’s Twin Day at her school, so she and a good friend are dressed alike, topped off in hair ribbons courtesy of my latest ribbon find last week of the cutest, brightest ribbon IN THE WORLD! I’ll have to send you some. Hey, I saw that a You Tuber was selling 50 bottles of stickles – thought about getting them and sending it to you (maybe you wouldn’t get the glitter everywhere if it was in a glue solution!) – but I figured that just the thought would be more useful to you than the 50 bottles. Why am I rambling all this to you, and as a comment on your blog, no less? Sounds like fodder for a blog, or at least some of it! OK, OK, message received! On with your day, now!

    • Message In A Fold

      YOU GO GIRL!!!! Changing your own tire!! That is a powerful thing to pass on to your children, especially your daughter. Self sufficiency is a good gift to give. Woo Hoo, I’m so proud of you!!!

      I’m sorry your daughter has hurt her knee in sports. Painful, I’m sure. I hope your visit with the orthopedic surgeon is a good one, like only a severe sprain and nothing worse than that. Missing out on the last volleyball game, then not even sure she will be able to participate in basketball is tough on that young lady of yours. You will get her through it all, I know that for a fact. Give her a cookie, that should help :o)

      What fun, “Twin Day” at school and a chance to dress different. I bet you had fun listening to the details and helping out with the brightest and cutest ribbon you acquired last week. Matching bows in their hair and dressed alike, so much fun. I remember those days, seems like yesterday?

      Thanks for telling me about the Stickles lot. I’m going to stick with what I’ve got here and figuring out how to get comfortable with the stuff. I’ll conquer it this time 🙂

      Say…when is your blog going to be up and running? As if you don’t already have a thousand things going on at one time 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

  • Heidi Jo

    My poor Daddy! The troubles he had to go threw!
    Ya Mommy I am Green with envy to if they get into Charm City Cakes! I love Duff! Mary Alice is cool but Duff is hot!
    Hope that Daddy and Uncle Les get to be tourists though!
    Oh how I love my Mommy!

    • Message In A Fold

      He was in better spirits last night. The hotel they are staying at has a HOT TUB!!!! He can soak his poor arthritic bones.

      I like Duff, too. He’s always laughing. When he gets a chance to put fireworks in his cakes he’s all over it!! As far as bosses go, he seems to be a pretty cool one. Course it is television, and a reality show, but I don’t think I’ve seen him have a “melt down”, not like the “Cake Boss”.

      I hope the guys do get to be tourists, too. It would do them both good to just wander the Inner Harbor. I’ve got a video of Dad being in a demonstration on firing a canon (it wasn’t fired) on the old sailing ship in the harbor. I volunteered him for it :o)

      I love you too, daughty. You having troubles with your migraines now that your world is mostly overcast all the time? Winter in California, lots of gray days.
      Love you Sweetie.

  • Lynn Claridge

    Poor Joe and Les, what a long old day they had but glad to hear most problems sorted and they are now on their way and they will need that day off to do the tourist thing. Now that is the up side of being self employed 🙂
    This Charm City Cakes sounds a great place.
    How is the paperwork coming along? Are you making a dent in that pile yet?

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    • Message In A Fold

      You bet, the upside of being self employed in this job is the sight seeing and the tourist stuff. Here’s hoping the weather will be good, maybe a bit chilly but no snow or cold rains when they do go out and tramp around Baltimore’s Inner Harbor.

      Lynn, I’ve got piles on top of my piles right now!!!!!! I’m now into the “data entry” phase of the process and I might have to rethink my MWF approach. I’ll stick with it another week and see what kind of progress I can make.
      Love you – Leslie

  • Shelly

    Oh my Goodness,
    You know; you could write a great book Leslie 🙂 Always some kind of adventure going on, not that Joe or Les think of it as that right now I’m sure. But you are so descriotive (which is great) Makes one feel like they can be right along for the ride.I have a reasonably routine life,so your adventures are not Fodder to me. I even make sure to keep Brian updated on your happenings. Hope Both Joe and Les have a fantastic tourist day on Tuesday seems they both deserve it after all the hard work. Hope you are getting along well with all your paperwork. Take care and get some rest too 🙂

    Love and hugs,
    Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      I’d be in such hot water if I wrote a book about this job. The circulation of my words would far outreach the 31 or so that is currently reading my “Drama Queen” episodes.

      I’m hoping the guys do get to take the time off and see the sights. Get some down time and get their minds off work for a day before they have to get “back on their heads”.

      Paperwork is moving forward. Data entry phase began yesterday. Slow slog through that process but that is when the numbers begin to fall into place and file folders get put away in a bin. The “Tax Man” will be pleased when all he has to deal with are single sheets of paper with the numbers neatly placed on appropriate lines and he doesn’t have to be subjected to a box full of receipts and stuff. :o)

      Hey, there is much to be said for a household with a reasonably routine life. Now that I’m home and not out there slinging chains and stuff I don’t have bruises all over me. Joe gets weirded out when he sees my bruises and is sure people think he is beating me.
      Love you – Leslie

  • Shelly

    Poor you 🙂 All bruised up, but I am sure your job is very physically demanding;I’d look like I had been in the ring with Rocky for sure 🙂 I’m a very accident prone kinda girl lol Brian is forever daying I’m my own worst ememy. Poor Joe…. He’s a real slave driver huh?

    I’m off to get some sleep Morning comes to early for me 🙂

    Goodnight
    Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      You want to talk about “accident prone”. I think my Joe has a “love” thing going on with our First Aid kit!!! His most recent event of throwing himself at people’s feet was at a truck stop on his way up to Pembina, North Dakota. He didn’t raise his foot high enough to clear the curb from pavement to sidewalk. By his account, he launched himself forward – face first – onto the sidewalk and bunged up his arm. He’s walked right off the deck plates of trucks and fallen from the three plus feet height to the ground, and of course you know about his propensity to make attempts to amputate his toes.

      Have a good rest, tomorrow comes fast.
      Love you – Leslie

  • Shelly

    Maybe Joe are Long distant related lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

