Nancy – Get A Snack

I’m trying my best to get Maureen to get her blog up and going.  Until then I’m going to taunt you all with more goodness from her oven.

 

Gift of food from Maureen

We picked up trucks – wait I don’t have a frog in my pocket – Joe and Les picked up trucks in Indianapolis, Indiana going to San Antonio, Texas.

I let Maureen know we were coming through and would have dinner with her and her family if things clicked.

Well….usual story, things didn’t click.  The guys had trucks out of San Antonio going to Oklahoma City also.  It should be really easy to get the four new (to us) trucks checked out and deliver the four we brought down.

The man in charge of the trucks to San Antonio didn’t have releases on them.  Until he had papers stating we could take them the trucks stayed on his lot.  That was about 15 minutes of phone calls and nonsense.

Switching trucks out with someone new to this business is a bit of a challenge.  When a person is used to doing things one way, and is getting comfortable with that, then a monkey wrench is tossed into the whole mess, Les did his best to keep up with what was going on.  It only took a little longer than it would have with Joe and I since we work so well together and know what to do in our sleep.

I have to tell you all.  The town of Tribune, Kansas has lost a man that is smart and has a head on his shoulders.  Les catches on quickly when we toss something new to him and he rocks along and goes with the flow.  There are times things need to be explained but, by and large, he is one sharp cookie.  Tribune’s loss is our gain.  I won’t go into any detail about his previous job except to say that he had been continually misused in his job with the city.  He had been kept on a very short leash and by all accounts had been talked to in ways that a good boss would not do.

I’m not a spiteful person but…..when the town council of Tribune, Kansas finally wake up and see what a mess they have on their hands they will be wishing Les was back and taking over.  Politics as usual.

 

San Marcos, Texas

Get back on track Leslie.

We did get all the trucks delivered in San Antonio to their proper place and the next batch picked up.  We left San Antonio and headed for San Marcos and breakfast with Maureen.

She took us to this really delightful place in the downtown area of San Marcos.  The food is wonderful.  Both of my camera batteries died on me and I got one more shot of a town feature before we had to leave.  The Root Cellar Cafe in San Marcos, Texas is a real gem – in my opinion.  There were oil paintings hung on the walls in the dining area.  If you click on the link above, go to the gallery tab and look at the paintings, the second one you see is what was before my eyes during breakfast.  Quite a nice and pleasant viewing.

The buildings support columns were boxed in and don’t look like support beams, tables were worked around in all the open areas.  In another room there were tables next to the windows you see in the photo.  Not a cookie cutter floor plan as most restaurants are.  This place is a real treat.  I would highly recommend stopping there if you are on I-35 traveling between Austin and San Antonio, Texas.

In the ladies bathroom is a piece of furniture that is used for a baby changing table.  Looks to be an antique piece.  Heavy and sturdily made, not the fluff for sale today.  It had drawers and doors with the really old porcelain knobs.  How they got that huge piece of furniture down the narrow hallway, through the bathroom door and up the odd steps is beyond me.  Still…..I was thinking of a way that Joe and Les could get all the patrons and staff out the door of the restaurant while I had them get that beautiful piece out of the bathroom, loaded into Maureen’s pickup and take it to the truck stop and load it in one of the trucks.  I gave up on that idea when I considered all the trouble the cafe owners had to have had getting that piece in that little room.  Still, doesn’t hurt to think of things now and again 🙂

Maureen met us at a truck stop near the highway.  She came bearing gifts of Pumpkin Bread.  One for Joe and I to share and one for Les.

We spent a couple hours with Maureen and had a really great time.  Food, friends, and laughter.  Nothing better in the world.

 

Home and Joe can't wait to open the package...me either

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Soft and moist, not dense and heavy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wish YOU could smell it too. YUM!!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It smells so good. Looks scrumptious too

 

 

 

 

 

The spices are aromatic

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

M-m-m-m-m-m Soooo good

 

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

8 responses to “Nancy – Get A Snack

  • Maureen Mathis

    Too funny! Did your picture of the falls at the river come out?

  • Maureen Mathis

    I’m surprised it didn’t get “sampled” on the long way home!

    • Message In A Fold

      Experience! Most of it would have hit the floor. Trying to pass food to Joe as he is driving is tricky. Bumps and bounces in the road, curves in the roadway, and just holding the Pumpkin Bread in my lap with all the up/down/sway movement is enough to launch the whole thing to the floor. CAN’T let that happen. No, No, No. Must enjoy this yummy goodness in a stable environment 🙂
      Love you

  • Shelly

    MMM it does look Yummy 🙂 I’m happy that all turned out well in the end and that you all got to have a fun visit.
    Hope you have a nice rest while at home.

    Love and Hugs,
    Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      We did have a good visit. Short as it was, it still was a good visit. We will have to figure out how to meet you next. This was such an odd year. Not much traveling through your neck of the woods this year.

      Love your photos on your blog 🙂 You’ve finally figured it out and did a fantastic job! Way to go Girlfriend!
      Love you – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    Great to see your post Leslie. I thought you had been abducted by aliens 🙂
    That pumpkin bread looks rather tasty, something else I have never tasted. Wonder how close to banana bread it is? It looks similar to gingerbread in consistency. Certainly had me salivating 🙂

    So glad you had a good visit with Maureen even if it was short and sweet. Pleased for you all that the trucks were delivered finally and you on your way home.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    • Message In A Fold

      I was abducted by an alien…Slave Driver Joe. We’ve been up just before daylight and get to a hotel just after dark. By the time we get to the room I’m too tired to open the computer and see what is going on in the world.

      The Pumpkin Bread is almost like Gingerbread. Doesn’t taste like Pumpkin Pie or Gingerbread. I don’t like Banana Nut Bread, at all. I’ll have to eat 🙂 one more piece of it to tell you what it tastes like.

      Now it is up to Joe and Les to deal with the “problem children” while I stay home and get my head screwed back on straight and mellow out. This last month has been a trial, I tell you. Our visit with Maureen was much better this time. She was a bit more relaxed and not so nervous. What fun she is and such a gracious hostess.

      Hope you and Rod are staying warm, from the sound of it you are preparing for winter…brr brr brr
      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

