Special Halloween Request

I received a text message from one of our Denver daughters.  “Clark and I like reading ur blogs, inquiring minds wanna know-can u do a halloween special?”

I was not sure how I was going to do this one.  Not so many truck drivers decorate the fronts and dashboards of their trucks any more for the holidays.  Trying to find one or more of them was going to be a challenge.  What to do, what to do?

We had to get off the highway in Nephi (pronounced nee-fy), Utah for a potty break and get refills on coffee and water.  Joe, on a whim, decided to drive through town to get back on the highway.  I’m so glad he did because NOW I can fill that special request.

The businesses in Nephi have taken up the challenge to decorate their store fronts, and there is a lot of creativity going on.

You’ll have to make your own scary sound track for this one.  I have a few favorites in this bunch.  You will see that the local scrapbook store even got in on festivities. The last few photos are from the Port of Entry in Evanston, Wyoming where we had to buy our trip permits to cross the state.   So, Tiffany, here you go.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

10 responses to “Special Halloween Request

  • Maureen Mathis

    I think you had more fun with those captions than they did with the decorating! What a fun place to live!

    • Message In A Fold

      We had a local constable following us for a while as Joe slowly drove the streets, making U-Turns when I missed a shot. He didn’t stop us and ask what we were doing.

      This was a fun little 20 minutes spent from our daily grind. The businesses did a fine job with their decorating, and being off the interstate system I’m glad Joe made the detour!
      Love you Big Sis

      • Maureen Mathis

        I would have been creeped out being followed by the constable…..maybe it’s one of those towns that you visit only once and NEVER RETURN…..perhaps those creepy creatures were actually previous VISITORS WHO NEVER WENT HOME! OOOOOOOHHHHHHHH…….

      • Message In A Fold

        Joe was growing concerned also. I told him to just tell the guy about my blog and their town would be featured. Thank goodness we didn’t have to find out if we would be the next “display” on the Halloween tour 🙂

  • gardenpinks

    What fun and loved the captions but don’t think I’d want to stumble around there after dark!! Spooky man 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    • Message In A Fold

      I’m glad you enjoyed the trip through Nephi, Utah. Makes you wonder about the state of their minds when you see some of the gruesome things they have come up with 🙂 Looks to be budding horror movie moguls in the making.
      Love you – Leslie

  • Tiffany Adams

    How awesome that the whole town joined in the festivities! I figured that with your job, you and Dad see great Halloween decor everywhere in the U.S. and the more pics you take, the more ideas I have. 😉 I especially like the monster on the snowmobile!

    • Message In A Fold

      Hey Sweet Girl Of Mine!!! I’m glad you enjoyed Nephi’s tribute to Halloween.

      I thought you would like that one, or the lawn mower one. I got a kick out of the “Construction” one. The toilet plunger stuck in the tree trunk.

      Truly, your front yard on Benton (?) with the head stones with all your family member names on them and the verses. That is by far the BEST of any I’ve seen ever. Course, it could just be a mother’s Pride too. Speaking of Mothers, how is your Mom doing? Bet she is in total heaven with Simon. Flaming jealous I am 🙂 She gets to hold him and watch him grow. He’s got a fantastic Gramma there and you are lucky to have her.
      Love you Precious

  • Nancy

    Did truck drivers really decorate their trucks at one time? That would have been very interesting! Did they do it for all different occasions?
    I really enjoyed the captions as well Leslie! Then I saw the Mexican Restaurant. Mexican’s my favorite, remember? Guess what?…I wasn’t even hungry! lol Something about all those creepy decorations took care of my appetite! That’s a first for this blog! 🙂

    • Message In A Fold

      Several years ago I used to see trucks with Halloween lights, witches on brooms, skeletons, and ghosts attached to the front grills. Some trucks had a skull or a spider on the dashboard. Christmas time there are strings of lights, wreaths, or a Santa face stuck to the grills of the trucks. One time I saw a man had a lighted village on his dashboard. We don’t see this much anymore. Maybe the DOT has decided such decorations are an impediment to viewing out the windows are a distraction to other drivers. Or it is just too costly to have all the festive lights. Don’t know why, just we don’t see it as much any more, if at all.

      I had to laugh about your comment of losing your appetite for the first time with my blog :o)
      Love you Girlfriend

Leave a Reply

